We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was ok”
Review of Hotel Casablanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casablanca
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in San Andres Island
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“it was ok”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at the Casablanca with my family for 4 nights. The hotel was ok - a bit expensive. It has one small pool, no gym or spa and the rooms are big and clean. They were doing some renovation work so there was a lot of banging coming from above all day long. The hotels is in a good location right next to a beautiful beach however I was a little disappointed with the downtown area surrounding the hotel. It is dirty and very commercial are with rows of stores selling cheap tat. It is best to go all inclusive as there are no decent restaurants in San Andres and the hotel restaurant has no breakfast menu. I guess it was low season as a lot of places appeared to be closed however there are a couple of local places where you can get fresh fish and rice for around $10.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlosmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    459
    159
    57
    50
See reviews for
331
571
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I showed up at very short notice, the clerk at the desk was very helpfull and even upgraded my room because my WIFI wouldnt wouldnt work. Friendly staff and very clean rooms:) Best part of the trip was the scooter ride around the island, bring your camera some water and enjoy the views!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanehanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I was on San Andres for 2 weeks started off at the Hotel Decameron Aquarium, which was horrible. Ended up finding this hotel. This is by far the best spot on the Island. Located right in the heart of everything and steps from the beach. Rooms are average but for the price compared to the other options on San Andres this is the spot. Ask about the apartment you can rent if you can book the apartment associated with Casablanca DO IT and you won't regret it. But overall you wont go wrong with location of this hotel.

Room Tip: before booking ask about the apartment they offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bryant L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

I have stayed in three different hotels in San Andres, Colombia, and Casa Blanca was the best. Great relaxing caribbean atmosphere with the personal touch that big resorts cannot provide.Great caribbean experience. Handy hotel. Pristine rooms. The best.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TravelSavvy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We had a great experience at the Casablanca hotel, we stayed at the Casablanca hotel from june 30, 2009 until july 4th in one of the "cabañas" (a two story suite with two entirely independent rooms, two full bathrooms, a little living room and a table with four chairs) right by the pool. Since I am a MAJOR germaphobe, cleanliness was my number one priority. Fortunately, the hotel and the rooms are very clean. The pool gets cleaned up twice a day, all day long there are people going around with mops and brooms cleaning up. In terms of location, the hotel is right on the beach, but it's not the best area to swim. However, the best beach to swim is just a five minute walk away and everything else is very close by, very centrally located.
We had a plan that included breakfast, which if buffet style and very standard. It varies from day to day, but there are some permanent fixtures. Everyday they had a table with an array of bread (white, wheat, croissants...), different kinds of juice (with and without sugar), milk, coffee, tea, fruit (papaya, cantaloupe, watermelon), eggs (with the option of ordering your own omelette), bacon, ham, cheese and four or five kinds of cereal. As I said, a very standard buffet but nonetheless pretty good.
In term of service, everytime we called the lobby to ask for something they had it at our door within five minutes. Perhaps my only qualm would be with the girls in the omelette station, who seemed to be forced to be there and a waiter at the sea watch cafe (part of the hotel) who yelled at us because he brought to our table something we absolutely did not order but he insisted we had.
Another thing was with the t.v.'s remote control, which we had to replace twice and still did not work, but it was not really an issue.
I forgot to mention the hotel also provides for some nightly entertainment a few times a week. It adds a nice chance to dance the night away.
Lastly, if you decide to stay here I'll recommend you go up the stairs that are next to the bar in the afternoon and sit in one of the couches to watch the sunset. Wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Massiosare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Venezuela
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2009

An excellent hotel, great staff, very large rooms, excellent restaurants. I really have no complaints for this hotel. I plan to go back next year, and i will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Qtchinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

The hotel is located in an excellent area, near stores, restaurants and to the BEACH!!. The service was great, the food was incredible, I had the opportunity to speak with the chef who was a friendly person and a good listener. I like the activities and programs for adults and children. The company in charge of the programs and activities for the guests did a great job.!!.one of the activities for adults was disco night, nice discotec and close to the hotel, you can walk from the hotel to the disco, they also celebrate the novena to NINO DIOS, and the kids were the guests to the novena. After the novera we had some snacks served before dinner time... They treat you like a family. All meals were excellent, you had everything available to eat, including WINE for dinner, all kind of juice, meats, soups, salads, desserts etc.. .
I stayed with my mother in a huge room with an excellent view to the beach! Also the rooms were cleaned every day. If you report a problem with the TV or in the bathroom, a maintenance is sent immediately to take care of the problem. Even if you get sick and need a Tylenol, the employees offer to get it for you at the drugstore locted on the corner of the hotel.
The only inconvenience we had with the hotel was on the first day we had to wait too long for the room, you have to speak for yourself and remind them that you are still waiting for the room.. they should have a better system to clean the rooms on time so the guests don't have to wait hours. ... even though, I will go back to San Andres and will stay in the same hotel - Casablanca-. The customer service at the counter was very good, if you need directions to get to a certain place, they give you word by word how to get there. One thing we like most, it was the quitness at night, regardless how close the hotel is to downtown, still you sleep great and don't hear the noise from the cars or the motorcycles. .During the stay other hotels tried to offer you better deals and easier ways to reserve with them, they even invited us to stay there for a day so we can compare with Casablanca, but we didn't want to waist our time going to other hotels and check it out, our plan was to enjoy San Andres, besides why to bother.. if you are staying in a hotel that provides everything and more than you will like to have.
Next time that I will go back will be with my family, I heard the deals are much better as a group...
If you are planning to go to San Andres, please do so, and do not hesitate to ask for Casablanca Hotel .. AH! best times to go there... December, January, Easter week and June before the rain season starts. Don't go in February or March, the beach is not promising as the other months of the year. Have Fun and Enjoy It.. San Andres is Beautiful...

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tampena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
0.3 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 28 in San Andres
1,502 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 28 in San Andres
228 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
#7 of 42 in San Andres Island
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 42 in San Andres Island
431 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#3 of 42 in San Andres Island
311 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casablanca

Property: Hotel Casablanca
Address: Avenida Colombia, No. 3-59, San Andres Island 880060, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casablanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Tourism Registration No. 3436. The Casablanca Hotel of the Island of San Andres, Colombia, is pleased to announce the opening of its new swimming pool. Hotel Casablanca, your right choice in the Island of San Andres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel San Andres Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing