We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”
Review of Decameron Aquarium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Decameron Aquarium
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in San Andres Island
california
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Overall the hotel is decent. There are other hotels on the island that seemed to be more high end facilities but the Royal Aquarium is located in a beautiful spot. Since the hotel is located on the water, the activities, boat excursions, jet ski etc is located right there which was very convenient since you do not have to leave the property. Coral Adventures (boat tours) did a fantastic job and was reasonably priced. The jet ski guys are all around, just remember to talk them down on price. Remember, taking a jet ski out for 30-60 mins will not make or break your vacation so remind the jet ski guys that when you talk price. The hotel itself is a little worn but being on the water front does beat the hell out of any property. The restaurant staff was very nice, housekeeping was so-so and several of the other staff (pool attendants) were lazy and down right rude, but take it for what it is worth, go to the beach, forget the pool and have fun.
The Decameron is a chain of all inclusive hotels so if you stay at one you have access to the other hotels and properties. They don't really lay out the other properties for you as to where they are and what each property's strengths are. I feel they should cover this with each guest to enhance the experience but with a little looking into it, you can find the other hotels to visit. I am not sure what this hotels rating is but I would say a 3 star at best. If you are looking for 4 or 5 star then you will need to look elsewhere. But if you are laid back and can overlook an apathetic staff, then this is a fun place to stay. The food was good with a good variety of choices each day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MI6007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    1,315
    579
    170
    125
See reviews for
758
1,449
50
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just stayed at the Royal Decameron Aquarium from September 22nd-24th, and overall my experience was great. The hotel is located near the airport and close to a boardwalk where all the stores are located. The rooms are located on several 3 story towers some facing the ocean, others facing the resort. The view from the ocean rooms is amazing and the hotel distribution is very accessible. The natural pool and water activities are great, there's another pool that has a bar and theatre where they have shows and different live entertainment every night. The great benefit from staying at one of the Decameron hotels in San Andres, is that you can spend the day in any of the other 5 hotels in the island, where you can have drinks and snacks and eat at their restaurants.You also have access to the Rocky Cay Beach Club, where you'll be able to enjoy drinks & snacks at the beach club with your Decameron bracelet and swim from the shore to the small island of Rocky Cay. Highly recommended for families, friends and couples. They have a tower designated exclusively for adults, ideal for honeymooners. Inside the hotel, you can book special tours, with a superb service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcarrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoho National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

this hotel is top in its class, buildings are right in the water , service is great , people are so frendly , safe to walk all over , tours are cheep and good .............island is 15 miles long .....fish are amazing to see right out side your room .

Room Tip: always stay as high up as possible ..ocean view , less likly to have bugs go under doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank walmart_gal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I heavily relied on the reviews on tripadvisor to book our vacation place, hotel, restaurants, and activities so we wanted to share our feedback in hopes to inform others in their decision making!! Needless to say... we are going to have a hard time finding a vacation for our honeymoon that will top this one. San Andres is the most beautiful, authentic place to be.... it is just starting to become commercialized but still has the island feel with the beautiful untouched beaches that have white, soft, clean, sand (public beach was amazing, locals are there which adds to the experience, 10 minute walk max from our hotel.. and very BIG) the water was the clearest, warmest water comparing it to Bahamas and Aruba. You can snorkel right off the public beach or off the pier in our hotel.. lots of colourful fish around. The walk to the city was 5 minutes and it was completely safe! Bring pesos, do not bring US money though it’s inconvenient and although they were good about the exchange i think we lost money in the exchange. The Aquarium hotel is beautiful, not brand new or fancy but authentic and very very very well kept workers were always painting, trimming trees, washing the side walks, etc.Our room was old and so was the bathroom but that was fine, we were just there to sleep. All the restaurants were amazing Italian, steak house, Thai and the buffet beside the steak house always had delicious breakfast and lunches available… we weren’t sure about the food but were soooo impressed! We did go to the Aquao island sooo worth it and Johnny Cay was okay not as nice, water was rougher and it was really packed but worth a day trip. We walked around the island a lot… didn’t do the tour on a motorbike because we heard 3 people die a week there because there are NO rules on the road and people drive sooo fast there its dangerous with regards to crossing the street. The locals were all very nice and when you said ‘no’ to what they were selling they didn’t ask twice which was great! The stray dogs were probably the worst part about going down to the public beach but they were friendly you just don’t want to touch them lol. It was such a relaxing, vacation and we would totally go back if we didn’t have a million other places we want to go first!!! Aquarium really is the best place to stay if you go! If your looking for a pleasant, authentic, relaxing and beautiful place go here!!!! The weather was beautiful too always warm no rain with a lil warm breeze at night... ahhh i want to go back right now thinking about it!

Room Tip: 1. Bring pesos not US money! 2. The buffet by the snack bar is better then the one in the new towe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ashleee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The rooms are clean, the window adorned with california style shutters which let the air in nice at night. I had a sea view room and let me just say that it is amazing to wake up to that view. It's like paradise! The staff is so sweet and everyone seems to be in a great mood. The buffet is always different, the variety is good. They even have a snack area when the main buffet is not open. I ate at the Italian, Thai & Steak house à la carte restaurants. All three were really good. As for the activities during the day, their are non motorized water sports, but what was the most fun were the excursions. I went on a tour of the island on the first day. Then three islands surrouding, Johnny Cay, Haynes Cay & Acuario where I did some snorkeling:) I saw a bunch of new things and took some beautiful pictures. I also did Chiva Loca party bus. We were 15 people in a bus, lit up with sparkling lights. The music was good and we got to see the city by night and the mega waves south of the island. The sun was very hot and it was humid during the day, so a dip in the pool happened on more than one occasion. Don't trust the weather reports online where it says that it's always cloudy with rain! It said that all week back home and we were having the best sun ever! All in all, it was an amazing week, spent with friends, strangers and the occasional coco fresa. All inclusive is the way to go:)

Room Tip: Rooms near the Barracuda buffet are more quiet and get to see the sun set. Rooms near the pool won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babygal_kiwi88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at this hotel last month and it was absoultely fantastic. Definately the best located hotel on the island, right on the sea. The 2 buffet restaurants serve lovely food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There are 4 a la carte restaurant serving thai, seafood, italian, and steak - I can highly recommend the steak house however all 4 are very good. All in all a really great hotel with great facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsG31189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I spent 1 week at this hotel as we since early know Decamerom Royal resort in Panama and know that this is a great 3 1/2 star resort. so this 4 star realy should be something very extra we thought. What a suprise.... if we rate Decameron to 10 points Decameron Aquarium will only get 1 point sorry. First a very strange welcome, then the first room at the groundfloor backyard facing the street and as we came all the way from sweden we ofcause liked a room facing the see, we asked for a change and got another but still facing the backyard, another change 3 days later we got the watherfront room. We had booked 6 month in advace and are very suprice of the behavior of the staff at the front desk as are the face out to the costumer. We will not recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berikaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#6 of 42 in San Andres Island
1,183 reviews
0.4 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 28 in San Andres
1,496 reviews
0.2 mi away
Decameron Los Delfines
Decameron Los Delfines
#11 of 42 in San Andres Island
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 28 in San Andres
228 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sunset Hotel
Sunset Hotel
#4 of 42 in San Andres Island
310 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in San Andres Island
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Decameron Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Decameron Aquarium

Property: Decameron Aquarium
Address: Avenida Colombia 1-19, San Andres Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Andres Island
#3 Spa Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Decameron Aquarium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of an Antillean environment, this resort has an exceptional architecture with circular towers overlooking the sea at ‘Punta Hansa’ – at the northern end of the Island of San Andres – which allow for wonderful panoramic views of the Caribbean Sea. These buildings are alongside a long wooden dock that leads to a natural pool in the sea and with an aquatic platform ideal for snorkeling and other water sports. The Decameron Aquarium is located approximately 10 minutes from the airport and is a well sought out location for tourists since the longest and most beautiful beach of the island is located only a few blocks away, surrounded by a boardwalk, parallel to a commercial area with restaurants, discos and the most exclusive bars. You will enjoy an enchanting paradise that can be explored completely on foot and where a cultural mixture of English, Spanish, Pirates and Corsairs can be explored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Decameron Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Decameron Aquarium Hotel San Andres Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing