We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect kindness from restaurant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cocoplum Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in San Andres Island
Reviewed May 28, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 937 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and were totally satisfied; the rooms are huge with a nice little balcony. Everything was clean and the beach is right in front of you; they serve the breakfast close to the beach - you start in the day with a great view;
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I forgot a dress by accident and when I came back after 5 days from another trip I returned to the hotel and asked about my dress - they handed me the dress immediately ; I was really impressed!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This is a nice hotel in front of the best slice of beach in San Andres. There's no one trying to sell you crap on this beach -- unlike the beaches in the center. It's calm, tranquil, and you can walk out at least a quarter mile into the ocean with the water at your waist. Cocoplum is also a great option if you want to avoid the terrible Decameron resorts, which feed you crap food and booze for a ridiculously high price. Cocoplum has a tiny pool (though an enormous ocean), a decent restaurant, good cocktails, nice rooms, and a selection of toys such as a sunfish sailboat or kayaks for rent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venturellama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank nlrio
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Very nice family room with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Good standard. Fine restaurant. Ok service. Fantastic beach and location.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linnthk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We went to San Andres on Honeymoon, the Hotel is old, full of character, and the Staff very friendly and helpful. Having read the reviews before I went I was a little worried, however, if you bear in mind that it is a relatively small family run Hotel, you will have a good time.
No it is not on a par with the well known Caribean islands, but you are not paying their prices either.

The room was clean, yes there were a few bits that required more than the retained Maintenance man who appeared to have been with the Hotel for years, but any problems were quickly resolved. There was plenty of food, and of excellent quality, the choice was not of international cuisine, but local dishes, that were well presented and delicious, if there was something you did not like, the Kitchen would try to find something to please you (did not apply in our case).

The beach is a stones throw from the Hotel, there was a problem with seaweed but this could in no way be attributed to the Hotel, who had men cleaning the beach all day, however adjoining sites, were not quite so particular. If they all clubbed together to buy a tractor, and rake the beach it would make all the difference.

We found all the Staff, from Reception to Catering to Cleaning all very pleasant and helpful. If there was one thing that let it down, it was the daily visit by 'Captain Mauriceo' who comes at breakfast touting for trips, my advice would be to forget him, you pay over the odds, and still have to make your own way down to town, where you can get the same trip cheaper, and when you arrive, there is no sign of Captain Mauriceo, so he is probably just the salesman!! and he doesn't inform you of the extras you have to pay on the trip... be warned!

Transport, other than the days we hired a Golf Buggy and a scooter, we used the local bus service, very quick and efficient, 1500pesos where ever you want to go, forget comfort, but you are not on for long, so it doesn't really matter.

Room Tip: 207 and 208 nice Suites overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilBello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

On the positive side, you're right on the beach, the bed's comfortable, and the location is more relaxed than San Andres town (if that's important to you). However, the room I was given faced the reception area and could be noisy if I didn't keep the air conditioner on all the time. I was told I could change, but opted to stay since I was only there 3 nights. The breakfast was fine for me; I only ate dinner once (a la carte) and it was good, if a bit pricey. There was a cockroach in my room but I realize this is the tropics and in general things were clean. The staff were very nice.

In general all of San Andres was a let down after spending almost a week on Providencia, which I found to be much more appealing.

Room Tip: Try to get a room closer to the beach, which can be difficult in high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polka party
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel MS San Luis Village
Hotel MS San Luis Village
#22 of 29 in San Andres
244 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#4 of 43 in San Andres Island
1,330 reviews
2.7 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#4 of 29 in San Andres
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Le castel blanc
4.1 mi away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 43 in San Andres Island
459 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocoplum Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoplum Beach Hotel

Address: Road to San Luis 43-39, San Andres Island 102, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Andres Island
Price Range: $101 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cocoplum Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cocoplum Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoplum Beach Hotel San Andres Island
Hotel Cocoplum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing