We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifull Family and Great place to stay.”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in San Andres Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautifull Family and Great place to stay.”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We would like to thank Linsay, Claudia, their beautifull daughter Mariana and Marlyn Lindsay's Mom for making us feel at home during our 9 day stay at the hotel. Everything about the hotel and all the staff was excellent and we would not stay anywhere else in the Island. The location, hospitality and all the time they spent with you will make your vacation feel like your are in paradise. You guys are amazing and really thank you for an unforgetable vacation and great times. We hope to see you soon in Miami and we'll be back there for sure.
Miguel and Pilar

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, reservations at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We already miss your wonderful company and hope to see you very soon. It is always great to meet special people, such as you. Thanks very much for your comments and they mean a lot to us.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    82
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
57
137
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We loved so much about this place! I will start with the family that runs the hotel, they are amazing! One of the things I loved before I even got there was how quickly my emails were returned. They made the trip super easy to plan. Once there the hospitality continued, day or night if we had a question Lindsay (the owner) was there with an answer. He sat with us on our first morning after breakfast (delicious btw) and showed us a map of the island, all of the things to do and how to get there. The hotel is located on the quite west side of the island a bit of a distance from downtown, but the most amazing sunset I have every seen. They have bicycles and scooters on site to rent or there is a bus that comes by every 15 minutes or so. The dive shop is onsite, which was super convenient. We were picked up every day at 9 and driven to the boat for that days dive, each day was different but always spectacular. One day we did a shore dive right across the street which was also great.

I can not say enough good things about this hotel and staff. Our entire experience in San Andres was truly amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMH1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, reservations at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay at the hotel and we really enjoyed our conversations. Wish you the best and hope you can come back very soon.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a family-run place that will allow you to really escape for a bit. The breakfast and food were good and the views were great. There were diving lessons that I didn't take advantage of because my girlfriend didn't want to do it, but I still think it's pretty cool they have it right there.

The owners are incredibly nice and I talked for a while with them. It wasn't a Marriott or Hilton experience, but that's not what I was looking for. It was a nice place on a nice island with nice people. Exactly what I needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krol1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, reservations at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your nice words! It was a pleasure having you at the hotel and hope you can come visit us very soon. Next time you can take diving lessons.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pereira, Colombia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I decided to stay here for my daugther`s first diving lesson, Well from the beginning everyone makes you feel at home, from the food, the room and everyone who made this trip a wonderful time. My daugther could not be treated better..she had a great time diving for her first time in open water. Charlie made an amazing job

Don't need a luxurious place to have a good time, they provide what you need with kindness, with great sunsets and a quiet enviroment

Don't think it twice if you want a relaxing time around great people in really nice place. I want to come back soon
Thanks to all Marly, Lindsay, Claudia, Mariana also to Charlie and Roger

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franarme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, Reservations at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We really enjoyed having you and your daughter at the hotel and hope you can come back soon. It is great to know you had a wonderful time at the hotel and with the diving.

From the most beautiful sunsets,


Sunset Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, Ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The location here is amazing. In a quiet part of the island, right next to the sea and a great snorkeling spot right in the back. Great bike ride to San Luis beach etc.. The folks at the hotel itself go way above and beyond their duty to provide exceptional service and a great experience. I sadly was quite sick during a lot of my stay and so had to stick around the room, but everybody was so incredibly friendly, kind and helpful especially during those circumstances. The meals every night were also delicious. Really this is the best way to do San Andres, skip the center and come straight here. (great pool too) Beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zachw945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, Reservations at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hope you are feeling better! Thanks very much for your words. It was a pleasure having you at the hotel and hope you can come back.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Location is isolated, no beach, access to water for swimming is difficult due to sharp coral shoreline and the surge makes the climb up and down a ladder dangerous. Nothing much to do there except watch the sunset once a day. Rooms are dark inside and very simply furnished.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place was great! A friend and I stayed there for 4 nights in February 2013. The rooms are super clean and very basic but spacious with a mini fridge and air conditioning. They offer hot water in the showers which seems rare for the island. There is a pool with a separate shallower kiddie pool and a swim-up bar that wasn't staffed while we were there. The breakfasts were great- typical Colombian with local fruit, coffee, juice, eggs or an egg dish (one day we got french toast!) usually with toast. The hotel has a dive shop attached which is super convenient if you're going to dive at all while you're there. New divers practice with the instructors in the pool, but were never a nuisance.

The best parts of staying here:
1. The owners: Lindsay (spa?) and Claudia are the sweetest couple you will ever meet. They are so nice and accommodating and they speak perfect English if your spanish isn't very good.

2. The west side of the island is the better, calmer side of the island both people-wise and ocean current-wise. If you want a mellow (as opposed to one jam-packed with people, loud music and tiny beaches) vacation, the west side is the way to go and this hotel was PERFECT as far as ocean access- it's just across the road from rocky cliffs and a ladder down to the sea that was a million times better than a beach- snorkeling/diving, cliff jumping and swimming in perfect turquoise water made up our very best days here! This, in our minds was far better than a beach. It was simply perfect.

The only downside- and I'm scraping here- was that the WiFi didn't work in the rooms/areas farther from the office. Oh, and there were only about 5 channels (all spanish) on the tv... but who needs tv in this amazing place?

The main downtown (also bustling with chaos) is a 15-minute taxi ride (about COL 20,000-25,000) or a 20 minute bus ride (COL1600 per person)... downtown is mostly duty free shops overflowing with stuff you can get in the US. You are definitely not in the middle of things at Sunset Hotel, but why do you need to be? Take it easy and enjoy your vacation!

I should add that my friend and I stayed at a different hotel for the first night in San Andres and it was horrible (filthy and unmaintained) and was more money per night.

Room Tip: If you book early enough, request an ocean view room- there are only two of them at the end next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supernicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindsay m, reservations at Sunset Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comprehensive description of our hotel. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back to visit us.

From the most beautiful sunsets,

Sunset Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Andres Island hotels
6.4 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#6 of 42 in San Andres Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 42 in San Andres Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
6.3 mi away
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
San Andres Noblehouse Hotel
#2 of 28 in San Andres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa las Palmas Hotel Boutique
6.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Sardina
Hotel Bahia Sardina
#1 of 42 in San Andres Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
6.1 mi away
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
GHL Relax Hotel Sunrise
#5 of 28 in San Andres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Property: Sunset Hotel
Address: Carretera Circunvalar Km. 13, San Andres Island 880001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > San Andres Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in San Andres Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the southwest coast of the beautiful island of San Andres, Sunset Hotel has 16 comfortable rooms fully equipped and specially designed to offer its guests a personalized service in a natural and romantic environment. Due to its location, SunSet is the ideal place to relax away from the city and enjoy the underwater world just a step from the hotel. Here are some of our services: -"Bon Astre" Restaurant-Adults and children swimming pool-Air conditioning-TV-Diving equipment rental-Own water and power plant. San Andres Islands for Divers: The magical island of San Andres is located in the Southwest of the Caribbean Sea, forming a beautiful archipelago with the islands of Old Providence and Santa Catalina. Due to its privileged location, San Andres has a pleasant tropical climate throughout the year and a water temperature of approximately 26 Celsius. The island is surrounded by coral reefs on the east coast and the west coast; where the SunSet hotel is located, and the sea is rich in corals and sponges. SunSet Hotel offers all you need for a successful diving experience; excellent location in front of the best dive sites and a full list of diving services including diving courses, equipment rentals and guided tours in our boats. Divers can see many of the characteristic species in the Caribbean Sea as the island is recognized for its high underwater biodiversity and includes marine protected areas as part of the Seaflower Biosphere Reserve. The dive sites of the island offer steep walls, shipwrecks, caves and tunnels filled with marine life and the sea is calm with an underwater visibility between 50 and 60 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing