We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel if a little disorganised.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sirius Hotel & Dive Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sirius Hotel & Dive Center
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charming hotel if a little disorganised.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Things didn't get off to a great start when they didn't have a room for us despite an email from them confirming that we did - however they quickly organised a room next door in Miss Mary's for us for one night and we came back the next day. We had one night in a very average standard room (not a patch on Miss Mary's and was the same price) but then moved to a suite for our last four nights which was lovely. It had a sea view, large terrace, enormous bed and was surprisingly quiet. It also had a fridge - ideally they would fill it with a few bottles of water at least as in other hotels - instead you have to buy it elsewhere and carry it back.
At the time of our stay, they didn't do PayPal and the credit machine had been down for a while so we had to make a couple of trips to the north of the island to get enough cash out - they are frequently out of order so suggest you bring cash with you from the mainland (it's a really safe island so having a lot of cash with you shouldn't prove a problem).
The beach is wonderful and there are some lovely cafes for lunch - particularly il niño.
We got the impression that the wifi was turned off when the manager left in the evening and it was often very patchy but wifi is rare on the island anyway.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra and for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RLivesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    60
    13
    12
    6
See reviews for
18
79
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is probably the most beautiful beach for winding down for a couple of days. The island is quiet, friendly and the location the best there is. Just stroll down the beach, grab a drink at one of the huts and chill. Seafood is excellent. Go snorkeling, rent a golf car, forget about time. Oh yes, and Sirius hotel just does the job. A quiet and clean place, with friendly personnel maybe except for the manager. We are still not sure if the manager Paulino went through a rough time when we were there or if he really doesn't care about his guests. We didn't get one word of help (and honestly speaking, not even welcome) from him. And paying the bill was painful and cost us half a day of our holidays because the credit card connection didn't work and he was too lazy to think of going to the next village with us where we could have paid easily. So bring some cash, never mind the management style and just enjoy this unique spot on earth.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveller11234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

A brilliant place to stay - Paulino and all that work at Sirius were consistently extremely helpful. The hotel is in one of the best spots on the island, next to the best beaches on the southern side. Our room (one of the suites) was massive, with air-conditioning and hot water. The diving is some of the best I've done - fantastic waters, great reefs and sunken statues to explore. One of the reviews I read mentioned old equipment which concerned me, but I am not sure what they were basing this on as all the equipment we used seemed new, and a huge thank you has to go to Anderson and David, who were fantastic dive guides.
Provedencia is spectacularly beautiful, and the fact that tourism is under-developed means that it truly feels remote, allowing you to completely switch off on picture perfect beaches.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for one of the suites at the front of the hotel - this is one of the best s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DalliaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I arrived to the Sirius Hotel because of their off shore excursions and the Scuba Diving experiences they had to offer. I found a very charming family that runs the hotel and makes you feel at home.
They help you get around and give you good ideas on what to do in the Island and with who. Scuba Diving with Carolina and the Sharks was a real adventure!
The included breakfast was delicious, and it was right in front of the main beach of Providencia.

Room Tip: They offer big family rooms and smaller ones for solo travelers like me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidHenao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pros:
- Very nice manager (Paulino) who is very chatty and explained to us what to see and how to get around the island
- AC was working properly
- Large but basic rooms
- Located on one of the nicest beaches on the island

Cons:
- A bit expensive for the basic accomodation offered
- Low pressure of shower (no hot water)
- Somehow limited breakfast (but undertandable given remote location)
- Diving center nearby is in urgent need for an upgrade (old/rotten equipment). They claim to be PADI but to me this was clearly a sub-standard diving center. They didn't even ask for a diving license and the initiation course offered to some of my friends had certainly room for improvement.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nameover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in the Sirius hotel for 10 days and enjoyed every day of it.

The hotel is situated right next to the best beach on the island. Prices are fair considering everything is a bit more expensive on small islands (since everything needs to be imported).

The rooms are clean, rather big and very comfortable. The balconies are fantastic and we had a great view on the water.

The TV and air conditioning seemed new and worked very well. There is also Wi-Fi one can use for free. Paulino, the hotel manager, and the ladies who prepare the breakfast are just the nicest people and will help you with whatever you need.

I was very surprised to see that this hotel had some negative comments in the past. Maybe people don’t appreciate that in this hotel you get more than just a room. We felt at home during the entire time we stayed here. We even got to know some of the other guests and went on a hiking tour with them one day. And not only once we just stayed in the lobby talking to Paulino about the island and its culture.

We want to go back to Providencia next year and we are definitely going to stay in the Sirius hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pate11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel or should I say guest house had the best location on the island in terms of being close to a few restaurants and a great hiking spot and corner stores close by. The beach was beautiful, clean and sandy. Most beaches were small or rocky or didn't exist outside other places. The rooms were big with huge beds! They had fridges which was perfect for snacks and AC helped since it was 46 when we were there.
The hotel owner was so nice, he organized a scooter for us, a boat trip, told us about the island, all the potential great places to eat, fun hikes. Amazing experience.
Breakfast was basic but that is the standard everywhere in Colombia (toast and eggs, juice and coffee).
Sadly the whole island is in some need of TLC with maintenance, paint and clean up.
During our stay tried to stay away from the Decameron places as they are an all inclusive chain that takes away business from the locals. There are many restaurants to eat at that are amazing (Cafe Studio!), corner stores to shop at and get a scooter to beach hop.
There are alot of places that say they are on the water but there doesn't mean there is a beach close by.
There is a school close by but we never heard any noise. There was free internet.
This place had everything we needed and more. This is a quaint and quiet island that was fun to explore.
Make sure you bring cash to the island. When we were there the bank machines were broken and they were going to charge us 8.5% to charge our credit card (that was standard everywhere on the island). Also bring bug spray!
We stayed for 5 days and wish we had longer!

Room Tip: If you stay for multiple days make sure you bargain here for a price and be specific on the room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providencia Island hotels
12.6 mi away
Cabanas Agua Dulce
Cabanas Agua Dulce
#3 of 9 in Providencia Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
4.0 mi away
Deep Blue
Deep Blue
#1 of 9 in Providencia Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Pirata Morgan
Hotel El Pirata Morgan
#5 of 9 in Providencia Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sol Caribe Providencia
Sol Caribe Providencia
#6 of 9 in Providencia Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas El Recreo
Cabanas El Recreo
#7 of 9 in Providencia Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Enilda
Hotel Posada Enilda
#1 of 2 in Aguamansa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirius Hotel & Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirius Hotel & Dive Center

Property: Sirius Hotel & Dive Center
Address: South West Bay | South West Bay Beach, Providencia Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > Providencia Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Providencia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sirius Hotel & Dive Center is located in the South West Bay on the largest and one of the most beautiful beaches of the island. From the hotel which is surrounded by palm trees you will have a perfect view of the crystal clear sea from where a gentle sea breeze always blows, so your head will remain cool during hot weather. The hotel consists of the main building with five spacious rooms. The suites, as we call them, have names of different stars and are furnished comfortably and each in different colors. Every room has air conditioning, a ventilator, a refrigerator, a mini-bar, a safe and cable TV. Additionally, all rooms have a balcony with a hammock and chairs, from where a great view of the ocean opens. The bathroom consists of a toilet, a washbasin and a large shower. There is a wooden corridor from the main building to the restaurant which is shaded by mango trees and palm trees. Close to the hotel kitchen there is also an open style kitchen which can be used by all the guests. Situated next to the main building are the standard rooms that are also equipped with air conditioning, a ventilator, a refrigerator, a minibar, a safe, cable TV and a balcony with a hammock at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sirius Hotel & Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirius Hotel Providencia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing