We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential”
Review of Deep Blue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deep Blue
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great potential”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nice hotel with good rooms and great views in a good location. It's away from the main tourist area and quieter than other parts of an already quite island, great for R&R.
Restaurant menu was a little limited and every night we ate there there was something on the menu that they didn't have (and these were locally produced items, coconut and lobster....something not in short supply in other restaurants on the island).
Service was ok but very "Caribbean" in the timeliness of the delivery.

Room Tip: Most basic rooms don't have a good view. More you pay the higher up you are and the better the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_H_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C H, Owner at Deep Blue, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found the hotel to be a great place for a relaxing, quiet vacation.

I am sorry that you found the restaurant menu a little limited. Almost all of our food has to be imported from the mainland, being shipped first to San Andres Island, from where it is shipped onwards to Providencia. This limits the amount of choice that we can offer our guests. Our menu currently offers 7 starters and 18 main course dishes. I am sorry that certain dishes weren’t always available – I am aware that there were certain problems with our supplies during your stay in early January. We are trying to find the best solution.

Thank you for your well advised room tip. Our Deluxe rooms have a partially obstructed sea view – the sea views are significantly better in the Ocean View Deluxe Rooms and the other higher category rooms, many of which cost only a little more.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your opinions with us. Such guest feedback helps us to improve our hotel.

Kind regards,

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    71
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
37
205
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. It's the only boutique or I would say the most luxurious hotel in the island. The hotel is only 6 months old so everything feels very clean and new. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very spacious. There is no beach but you can swim in the ocean from the small pontoon. You do have to cross the road to access this and the restaurant but the road is not busy at all. The food and drinks available from the restaurant were very good. The only negative about this hotel is the service. Some of The staff appeared not very attentive and kept forgetting things we had asked for, however this was the same through out the island. Also you can only access Internet in the reception area and not in you room, but this did not matter to us. But staff do need to be trained on customer service. But overall a lovely hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millibilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C H, Owner at Deep Blue, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed the rooms, the food & drink and our seaside location. There is no beach at our hotel, however we do provide a complimentary daily shuttle service that offers our guests a once daily round trip to the beach of their choice. The shuttle departs at 10am, picking guests up around 4pm.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed by the service. Your comments have been shared with the staff. All of our staff are new in their jobs (the hotel has been open 6 months) however we are committed to providing ongoing staff training to improve our customer service.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your opinions, we will strive to make them help us to improve.

Kind regards,

Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I am backpacking for 6 months but decided I needed to treat myself for a few days on this stunning Caribbean island. This is not a b&b but a newly renovated boutique hotel with stunning rooms with balconies overlooking the beautiful aquamarine sea. The rooms are beautifully done with the most comfortable beds with amazing duvets, pillows and linen and the shower with the l'occitane smellies was wonderful. It's run by chris who is English and his Colombian wife who were very helpful with all our travel arrangements and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. There's a stunning infinity pool and also a decked pontoon which you can easily swim or kayak out to the national park coral reef and do some stunning snorkelling. They also have a pumped up golf cart that you can hire to explore the island which takes about 1.5 hrs to drive around.
Breakfast was included and was superb and I also ate supper there twice and again it was delicious, but portions are massive so starter and main was way too much.
Only thing I found hard as a traveller was that all the extras, food and drinks, trips and transportation was very expensive, but I guess that's true of all high end hotels.
Also they can't pick up or drop you off from airport as the taxis have a monopoly over this which is a shame when you have to pay 20usd to go 3 mins down the road.
Also there is no beach here but it is easy to use golf buggy to visit the beaches - but again price quite high to rent for whole day. But I really loved sunbathing by the pool and swimming off the pontoon and I'd already stayed by the beach for a few days before. Wifi difficult on the island as a whole but you can get it from reception even if very slow.
But I would defiantly highly recommend this hotel as I had a lovely 4 nights there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abby_1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Much more than a B&B! The hotel is staffed with friendly, responsive people who earnestly want to cater to you. The food is worthy of being on the cover of gourmet magazines. The views from the various terraces offer breathtaking moments as you lounge on your balcony in a plush robe with your coffee. Our room was very tastefully furnished. Every corner holds added value to the eye including low lighting or top level lighting to suit your needs. Showers even have a waterfall mode if you wish. High end amenities and bedding. Accessible to you are golf carts to tour the island, bikes, kayaks, snorkeling in some of the most amazing reefs in the world. Definitely worth the bit of extra effort getting to the island...it is insanely beautiful.

Room Tip: Topmost rooms have a personal and tasteful Jacuzzi off the balcony with a disappearing edge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BnoelColombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Providencia Island hotels
3.2 mi away
Cabanas Agua Dulce
Cabanas Agua Dulce
#5 of 8 in Providencia Island
113 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel El Pirata Morgan
Hotel El Pirata Morgan
#3 of 8 in Providencia Island
109 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sol Caribe Providencia
Sol Caribe Providencia
#6 of 8 in Providencia Island
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.4 mi away
Cabanas El Recreo
Cabanas El Recreo
#7 of 8 in Providencia Island
64 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Posada Enilda
Hotel Posada Enilda
#1 of 2 in Aguamansa
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
South West Bay Cabanas
South West Bay Cabanas
#3 of 26 in Providencia Island
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deep Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deep Blue

Property: Deep Blue
Address: Bahia Maracaibo, Providencia Island, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > Providencia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Providencia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deep Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique luxury hotel found on the edge of the McBean Lagoon National Park on Providencia Island in Colombia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Deep Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing