We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely evening”

Caribbean Place Donde Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely evening”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited several restaurants in the Aguadulce area and Caribbean Place was by far our favorite. The coconut rice with seafood was excellent and portions are plentiful. The coconut pie was an outstanding choice for dessert. We found that the service here was the fastest of any of the restaurants we visited, and it was the only place with more than one server working. They were not open for lunch during the week, and closed for lunch on the weekend for a private function, so plan ahead. Highly recommended for at least one meal while on Providencia.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    116
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radium Hot Springs, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“quiet”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

good experience service slow but who really cares...food good just enough to satisfy...beach is
awesome...buddy is a character but friendly and pleasant...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elliott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Black Crab on the island”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place was so good, we ate here 2 our of the 4 nights we were in Providencia. The Black Crab with Garlic Butter is amazing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank turtle_diver_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Martin Knows Best”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I ate here several times during my stay in Providencia and was always pleased with my meal and the service! The shrimp ceviche is delightful, as well as all of the fish dishes that I tried. And you MUST get a piece of the coconut pie- heaven!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jridolp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manizales, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gourmet Food without the attitude”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you didn't know it, you' miss it. It looks like any other joint with plastic chairs and tables, waitresses wearing baseball caps and poloshirts, but this restaurant makes up in taste what it misses in looks.

The 5 star chef prepares some of the most delicious food we had on the island and it was well priced.

Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Place Donde Martin also viewed

Providencia Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
Providencia Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
 
Providencia Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
Providencia Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
 
Providencia Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
Providencia Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
 

Been to Caribbean Place Donde Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing