We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Meal We Had on Providencia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caribbean Place Donde Martin

Caribbean Place Donde Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, South American, Colombian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Meal We Had on Providencia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

It can be hard to find a meal on Providencia that doesn't just consist of rice, fried fish, and fried plantains, so we were excited to try out the more interesting menu here. We had dinner here twice, and pretty much every dish was very tasty. One of our favorites was the dessert of "crepes arequipe," which were deliciously caramel-y! Good service, and they accept credit cards, which is nice if you realize you don't have enough Colombian pesos!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    106
    16
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“The best meal I had on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I ate there twice and couldn't complain about either occasion the service was excellent very friendly staff

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornishjjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Went twice as a lovely restaurant with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Fabulous restaurant for crab and fish. First time I went for lunch and had a delicious crab sandwich. Then went back for dinner and had amazing fish covered in crab and prawns. Good service, lovely setting - perfect!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abby_1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great service, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived early (they open at 7:00pm) but that was no problem. We had a drink and enjoyed the scenery. The waitress lit all the candle things to stop the mosquitos so we had an insect-free dining experience. The chef wand staff were very friendly and helpful. Both my wife and I had crab which was absolutely delicious. We went back - and we recommend this as a must visit place when you're in Providencia.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishGuinness1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The best crab pasta I've ever had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Incredibly surprised at how amazing the food was, went back twice because the crab pasta was so amazing! Very chilled and unassuming spot - the entire island is unassuming. Wine list wasn't extensive but the quality of food and service totally overrides the lack of wine selection. Highly rate it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NickyEspinoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Place Donde Martin also viewed

Providencia Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
Providencia Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
 
Providencia Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
Providencia Island, San Andres and Providencia Department
 

Been to Caribbean Place Donde Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing