We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall, but a bit disappointing”
Review of Cabanas El Recreo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas El Recreo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at El Recreo the week of Christmas 2011. The cabin we were in was very simple, but fairly clean (at least, clean if you ignore the wood shavings from an obvious termite infestation). The best feature was the porch facing the ocean. The bed was hard and the pillows were completely flat, but we generally slept decently. They left the bath towels for several days until we finally threw them on the bathroom floor in the hopes they would get changed. They took away the old ones, but didn't bring new ones until we asked. We also ran out of toilet paper more than once when we were left with just a little and no extra.

The beach was nice, but the amenities were disappointing. There were no beach chairs available at all from the hotel. You could rent chairs from the dive shop next door, but none were provided. The porch of our cabin had some chairs, so we dragged those across the street and onto the beach a couple of times. The hotel also did not provide beach towels unless you paid to rent them. We paid one day (5000 pesos per person), but the ones provided were old, worn, and very musty. We got a better deal by buying them from the tienda in the Hotel Pirate Morgan.

Our room also had a "mini-bar", basically a fridge with a couple bottles of Coke and a couple of water. They charged 2500 pesos for each drink, but never replenished the supply during the week we were there.

All this being said, it seemed like a fairly decent place for the island. Many of the hotels did not have a beach and had only tiny pools. We did not see rooms anywhere else, but all of the properties seemed equal to ours. The Miss Elma next door did seem a little nicer and is also on the beach. They also supplied beach chairs and there was also a little bar right on the beach at that hotel. We also had lunch one day at the Miss Mary on Southwest Bay, which also seemed like a nice property. I would try and book one of those before returning to El Recreo.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank land_shark77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 67 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2008

El Recreo is a simple place in the Agua Dulce part of Providencia also known as the "tourist zone" -- but really just where most of the hotels are located. It is clean, the management is friendly and if you don't expect to much you will be fine. We were happy with our choice. It is associated with the Decameron group and from what I saw all of the hotels associate with that group were ok as another reviewer noted. The Sol Caribe also looked nice, though friends complained about the food there.

Pluses

1) It is the only hotel in the Agua Dulce area with a sand beach directly in front (if you stay at the Miss Elma it is a very short walk to the beach). Apparently the northern swells have wiped out a lot of the beach.

2) The beach is very nice for swimming with a sandy bottom and almost no wave action. The SouthWest beach, about 1/2 hour walk to the south is prettier with good beach side restaurants (Divino Nino was the best deal on the Island) and a bar, but not as nice for swimming/relaxing. The Decameron Miss Mary is located on that beach.

3) The beach was raked every morning.

4) Felipe Diving is right there (show up at 8.44a, all dives are no more than 25 minutes away).

5) The rooms are good sized and clean, with good maid service and friendly management/people. TV and refrig.


Minuses

1) No hot water -- which would have been ok as it is a hot humid island, except we had a baby with us who wasn't thrilled about that!

2) As it rained for some part of the day, some of the grounds had a very earthy (in a not pleasant way) smell. Although not in the room.

3) Dinner can be pre-arranged but I would eat elsewhere (though they are sweet there). There is a reasonable (for where you are) pizza place, but it is very slow. 30m further north on the right (away from the beach) is (I think) the Caribbean Place, the best place we ate. Pirate Morgan restaurant is ok, but I would not stay here. The Decameron hotels restaurants were all ok in a pinch, but I wouldnt recommend.

4) This is a simple place so don't expect much. There is no pool.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pasqualinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Sin dudas las habitaciones que dan a la playa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Wilsonuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Valenglima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tratar de conseguir la cama más cercana a la playa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guari118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Letizia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Providencia Island
59.4 mi away
Deep Blue
Deep Blue
#1 of 8 in Providencia Island
326 reviews
56.7 mi away
Cabanas Agua Dulce
Cabanas Agua Dulce
#5 of 8 in Providencia Island
120 reviews
56.5 mi away
Hotel El Pirata Morgan
Hotel El Pirata Morgan
#3 of 8 in Providencia Island
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56.4 mi away
Sol Caribe Providencia
Sol Caribe Providencia
#7 of 8 in Providencia Island
148 reviews
0 mi away
Posada Villa De Santa Catalina
Posada Villa De Santa Catalina
#8 of 8 in Providencia Island
2 reviews
7 mi away
Hosteria Mar y Sol
Hosteria Mar y Sol
#2 of 43 in San Andres Island
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas El Recreo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas El Recreo

Address: Bahia de Agua Dulce, Providencia Island 880020, Colombia
Location: Colombia > San Andres and Providencia Department > Providencia Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Providencia Island
Price Range: $68 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas El Recreo 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cabanas El Recreo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas El Recreo Hotel Providencia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing