We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Divine”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is lovely. The staff were very courteous and pleasant. The bellman Alex took such great care of us while we were checking in and checking out. I had even brought something that needed to be refrigerated and he out it in the refirigerstor until our room was ready. Our room was ocean view and what could be better.
Even though the weather was a little rainy we still walked on the board walk and the beach. The waves were very rough so we were not even thinking about swimming. But I have been on this beach before and the water is very clean and fun. Lots of shells too. The hotel also has a large pool area with cabanas and there is also a koi pond on the grounds. My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at the Berkeley and we will definitely do it again next year.

Room Tip: We were at the end of the hall and didn't notice any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhiladelphiaLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Hello PhiladelphiaLola,

Thank you for your rewiew on trip advisor following your stay with us.
We appreciate you mentioning our staff and positive comments all around.

Look forward to your return to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Cem Erenler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    516
    490
    395
    389
See reviews for
641
765
96
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Refurbished hotel very nice. In ideal location. Short walk to ocean beach.
On location restaurants but also short walk to variety of restaurants on the boardwalk. Pool was clean. Breakfast was on expensive side.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dahour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Hello dahour,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We appeciate your comments and feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Cem Erenler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Water repeatedly cut off in the middle of shower. Few to no amenities in room. Had to chase down housekeeper for plastic cups. People got stuck in the elevator, and heard numerous horror stories from other guests. You are charged an additional 20 dollars a nite for parking, than have to wait an hour for your car. All in all it seems as if no one is in charge, nor does anyone seem to know what to do. This hotel is grossly underequipped tp handle having a full house.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Hello Philip L,

Thank you sharing review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. We appologize for the water cut off in the shower and for the disappointing experience during your stay. Thank you for comments and we will have addressed the concerns and staffing for the new season.

Sincerely,

Cem Erenler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Asbury Park hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The Berkeley is an extremely convenient hotel if you want to enjoy the beach and boardwalk. The entire staff is extremely friendly and responsive to guest needs. The front desk staff is particularly helpful and courteous. The hotel is pet friendly, however there can be some noise related to pets in adjoining rooms. This may or may not be a deal breaker for some guests. The guest rooms are clean and attractive. If you select a room with ocean view, you will not be disappointed! (Ask for a higher floor, at least the fourth, to be able to enjoy the ocean view.) I would definitely return to the Berkeley for my next stay at Asbury Park.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hugh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello "Hugh H"! Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us. We are so happy that you found your stay with us to be great! Here at the Berkeley we always strive to provide our guests with the best and we're happy to hear you liked the room accommodations and our friendly, responsive staff! We are glad you will be returning to stay with us; should you encounter a noisy pet on your next visit, please let the front desk staff know and we'd be happy to promptly address it. Until next time! Sincerely, Cem Erenler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2014

this hotel is extremely interesting. you can tell at one time it was the bomb. i cant tell if the place is on the up swing or down swing. the inside is very retro, the outside could use some TLC, the rooms were clean, housekeeping was very accommodating. most of the staff was very friendly. There is a "creepy" factor to it, but once we survived the first night, we were fine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Hello Mary J,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us. Yes we have definitately come a long way at our hotel. We are very unique in the style and decor as a boutique hotel. "Creepy", I am not sure but different and unique yes. Appreciate your feedback.

Sincerly, Cem Erenler, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Love the location of this property. Be aware that parking and internet access cost extra.
********************************************************************************************************************

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 127Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Hello 127Kim,

Thank you for your sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback on our hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Cem Erenler, General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Hotel was lovely, rooms still need some work, our dresser had no handles or broken ones, The bathrooms are renovated and quite lovely. There is a pool bar and restaurant , however, be aware they are closed midweek, we had no idea. The beach which costs $5 daily is lovely, however, no one told us there are no beach chairs, you need to bring your own , or pay for them on the crowded public beach, chair $10, beach access $5 , umbrella $5 a day...and bring your own beach towel...would have been very helpful to have been fully informed...staff was nice and attentive...lobby is very nice...Hope this review will help you ...wish I had it prior to my stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susan797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cem E, General Manager at Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Hello Susan 797,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor following your stay with us.
We appreciate your feed back and we have worked on the dresser handles in all rooms. Sorry about not informing about some of the local fees and facilty needs. It would have been helpful to prepare for your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely, Cem Erenler, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.2 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
286 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
66 reviews
10.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1401 Ocean Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-5612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing