We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unrealized potential and bad execution”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Somerville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unrealized potential and bad execution”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

In town for a friend's wedding. The experience started with a reservations "department" that was clueless. In fact, they screwed up every element of our reservation: first name, last name, email, street address, etc. - the gal at the front desk had to really wade through that mess to figure things out (kudos to her).

Buckle up, folks:

The lobby was hot and humid, and very dimly lit.

Valet parking our car for the night was $20 plus tip to stick it in a vacant sandlot across the street. Are you ****ing me?

Our room's door lock battery was dead, so maintenance had to replaced it. We lucked out as a maintenance guy was walking past as we were trying to get in; he returned in about ten minutes with a battery after letting us in the room.

A leather strap on the dresser was broken (it served as the handle). Weird room decor - chic '50s??

The hot water had so much air in the system when we showered in the morning we had to wait several minutes for the water to actually start coming out, and when it did, the pressure varied from nothing to meager.

The toilet paper was so far from the toilet it required either VERY long arms or getting off the can while puckering up. Fortunately, after the first time, we learned to load up on TP before unloading. Idiotic design/layout that extended to the location of the light switch - behind the door.

Peeling paint in the dimly-lit hallways. Creaky-as-hell elevators. Maybe the zombies like it (annual zombie parade in October - really), but very unimpressive.

The wedding itself went really well - all on the mezzanine floor and catered by a 3rd party (i.e., not the hotel). Hrmmm....do the math.

Post-nuptial celebration was at the in-house bar (Dauphin Grille) and featured one of the worst bands we had ever heard, and it was so hot the lead singer was in a red banana hammock. I'm dead serious.

The ONLY reasons it gets two "stars" instead of one are: (1) good location, and (2) friendly staff. Considering the rate ($225 with all the taxes, parking, etc.), the value just isn't there. I think it's owned by a large company, and perhaps therein lies the problem. If I did it again, I'd find a nice B&B in the area or just go home, an hour away. Boo-hiss!

Room Tip: Some rooms have an ocean view - ask for one and hope their outsourced reservations gets it right. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJmuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    490
    457
    378
    373
See reviews for
601
725
89
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Berkeley must have really been a gem at some point in its history. The ball rooms on the mezzanine level are beautiful, and one can imagine the Asbury Park gliteratti throwing a good party here in the past. A trip to Asbury Park is in many ways like going back in time - the pavilion, the boardwalk, the Empress - it's classic Americana. It's unfortunate that the management of the Berkeley is not just a bit more on its toes and more skilled at providing customer service commensurate with the rates that guests pay to stay.

To be clear, choices in Asbury Park are limited, and the Berkeley is ideally situated for access to the beach and the Boardwalk. It's also a stone's thrown to bars like The Stone Pony. The hotel's location is its best feature.

The hotel's decor is fairly up-to-date and even interesting. For a beach hotel - not much is required, but as other reviewers have noted, the rooms lack a few necessities. The hotel needs either hooks or towel racks in the bathrooms. The safes in the room need to be updated - there is apparently some key system, but we were unable to find the key to the safe. There were only 3 hangers in the closet. There is a shortage of electrical outlets in the room. The wi-fi is non-existent - or if it exists, there is nothing in the room to tell you the password or how to log on.

The hotel is fairly well-kept. I have certainly been in dirtier hotels, but there are a few simply unacceptable practices. For example, the housekeeping staff throws dirty linens into the hallway outside the door rather than depositing into a hamper. The hotel needs more housekeeping staff. By 6:00 P.M., our room had not been serviced for the day. That would have been fine accept that the housekeeper in the hallway also had no additional shower products on her cart. When we told the housekeeper that we would be going out at 6:45 PM and that she could return at that time, she informed us that she would be off by then. We registered a complaint with the front desk only to hear an excuse that the hotel was busy.

On both check in and check out, there were customer complaints by other guests at the front desk. In actual fact, the hotel was probably in the right on both occasions, but the staff is inept at how to diffuse a customer complaint. The hotel management should consider ways in which it can empower desk staff to address a customer complaint - e.g. "Since your room is not ready for check in just yet, have a drink at the bar on the hotel while we finish".

Would I stay at the Berkely again? Probably. I would certainly look for a good deal and I would temper my expectations. It's well-situated and that's about it. I spend most of day on the beach and most of my night out, so the Berkeley is adequate for sleeping. If you are expecting anything more, you might want to look further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

If "Boutique Hotel" excites you, this is a Grade 4 place. But, if Boutique means decorated with left over psychedelic era furnishings at a premium price, you'll feel as I do that a full four is overrating the lodging.
In fairness, the room we had was large, comfortable and close to the boardwalk and beach. The hotel earned its rating there. But the amenities were doled out, and the bath towels as though the staff got a bonus for blocking their use by guests. (We arrived to find a shower gel almost used up by the former tenants. It was not replenished even after empty. Bath towels were removed and only one replaced. In fact when house did arrive - another guest swooped in taking ours to fill her need.)
I also subtract points for a lack of concern for other guest conveniences: parking is valet only at a fee, the free breakfast is simply coffee, wi-fi is charged, and the only on-site breakfast available is a Continental of borderline value.
Add other points for a very friendly staff and a beautiful location just across the street from the boardwalk and beach and a block from the landmark Convention Hall with its delightful shops and eateries.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GettinOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my first time in Asbury Park. Paid over $300 for one night at this hotel. It was OK. It is a block behind the oceanfront, so that was confusing and took us a few minutes to find it. Clean rooms, nice views. Dodgy water pressure. The staff were nice but seemed stressed. Most of the customers seemed annoyed about something! There always seemed to be a line at reception of people ready to complain about something. Anyway, it was OK but not worth $300...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Overall, we had a nice stay. The large, old hotel has been completely updated with a beautifully appointed lobby, restaurant and rooms. Our Ocean View double queen was spacious and clean with a nice ocean view. The bathroom was a bit small, with no place to hang wet bathing suits or towels...rather impractical for a beach front hotel. Our biggest complaints were the lack of information provided on the hotel services...there was absolutely no info in the room about check-out time, breakfast hours, where the pool and fitness room were or anything for that matter. The pool was also way too small for the size of the hotel and it was impossible to get a chair. There was also very little shade--only a few cabanas which of course we taken. By midday the pool area looked like Daytona Beach during Spring break (this was July 4th weekend, but still....we expected more for this class of hotel). The fitness center needs updating as the equipment is very old and not all of it functional. It would also be nice if the center had towels and water available.
Our first night it was very hard to get a table at the Dauphin Grill--we waited an hour at the bar....but the food was excellent as was the table service. We dined again the next night out on the terrace and enjoyed another wonderful meal.
The hotel really has great potential. If a little more attention would given to the above details, it would be an amazing experience. The beach and boardwalk are right across the street, the dining is excellent and the rooms are clean, modern and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View Room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cymarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We love everything about Asbury Park and the Berkeley Hotel is where we like to stay. Has some of the shortcomings of most beach front hotels, but we've enjoyed it several times over four years now. Tried the restaurant for the first time this stay and found the food and service very good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbydarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

i checked into the Berkeley Hotel for the holiday , arriving on 7/3. What a great sense of arrival; i was greeted by the doorman with a big smile and welcome ; and promply had my car attended to ; staff at the desk were extremely polite ; with smiles and eye contact ; and this made for a start of a great stay; room clean and neat ; and pool side r&r 'holiday b-b -q was most pleasurable; and what a holiday delight!!!!!!! Beach ; restaurants ; and infamous Stone Pony is a are steps away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.2 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
10.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing