We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View of the Air Conditioner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I live locally and have always wanted to stay at the Berkeley because I love hanging out in Asbury Park. I made a last minute reservation for a wedding and unfortunately we were probably given the last room in the hotel. It overlooked a parking lot and the air conditioner for the whole hotel which hummed all night. It was not relaxing at all. For $170 a night in the fall, my sister payed the same price and had an ocean view.

Also, there was no hot water in the middle of the night and the front desk was very rude when I asked about getting hot water. Just wanted to take a shower, but the front desk seemed appalled that I would suggest that.

It is probably a great hotel, but if you are imagining waking up in a quiet room to a beautiful ocean view just make sure you know what room you are getting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,379 - 2,385 of 2,725 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

I understand they renovated an old buildnig, but finish work is lacking, its like they slapped up some paint, cool furniture, nice wallpaper but once they got to a certain point they stopped.
For the qulaity of the rooms, I feel the room rates are high considering what you get!
Not to mention the worst part is the walls are paper thin and when people were talking in the hallway we felt like they were in the room with us. Glass shower door is odd? 1 out of 3 elevators was not working during our stay which was a bit annoying. No customer service "warm and fuzzy welcome to our hotel" script was said at check in at all. I'm big on customer service so this irked me.
They are one of the only hotels in town so they do have the market cornered in that aspect. You can't beat the location. Walking distance to the beach and boardwalk.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view without aying for the 20.00 upgrade. Also ( and obviously) away from elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed there for three nights and £200 Oakley sunglasses disappeared from the room whilst we were out- made for an expensive few nights. Might have been okay if not for the theft- location is right by the ocean and boardwalk- would not choose it by choice had been booked in as a larger group.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingsley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked one king room off season and it was very reasonably priced and conveniently located. Our room an excellent ocean view. One problem - the hallway and our room reaked of cigarette smoke (this is a non-smoking hotel), but the front desk changed us to the same room on a different floor no problem. This a boutique hotel with mid-century decor, and it is very "Jersey Shore" in a good way. There is valet parking for $20/night, but we used the muni meter in front. It is close to the boardwalk with bars and restaurants, and the hotel restaurant has a very nice bar. (We had an after dinner drink only, so not sure about the food/service.) My only complaint would be that the plumbing was very sloooow in both the sink and shower, and the water took forever to go down. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmmrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The best way to describe this property is just as the title suggests. If you HAVE to stay in Asbury Park as we did it's not an awful choice but it is "Lipstick on a Pig". Looks pretty at first but not when you look close. No breakfast available M-F, only a hot weekend buffet that's cold for $15. We drove to Frank's for breakfast every day. There was no hot water for 24 hrs one day with no explanation. We had a bargain price because of a connection and it was worth exactly what we paid. Lots of things wrong with the room and updated features were strange and not well thought out. Heat lamp in bathroom was just an ordinary bulb. Shallow modern sink splashes water on everything around it. Bathroom had mildew and was not clean. Doors to rooms are hollow and hallways are narrow and noisy, so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.
BY THE WAY - Do not leave anything of value out in the room. Keep your luggage locked as we were TWICE let into our rooms when our key didn't work by staff who never confirmed that we were guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metalligal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It appears as though the intentions were good to update the decor but as a friend of mine who consults on customer service... " you dont come out a hotel raving about the countertops and carpeting - it's the service, stupid!" The beds are so hard I felt like sleeping on the floor for comfort. No information in the room whatsoever about amenities. No parking without paying by the hour, or the day. At these prices parking needs to be available without a valet or paying by the hour. It seemed like there was total indifference as to service or any contact with the guests. The only thing that keeps them going is that there is no competition, except the Empress which we will try next time. How does an upscale hotel run out of hot water in the middle of the afternoon? They need to maintain and update what they have, as it seems since they rehabed the facility no one has picked up a paint brush. Mildew in the grout in the shower. Need I say more?

Room Tip: If you are going to stay there book through a travel website or negotiate down to around $100 for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is attempting to be high class based on the price and 'decor' and they are failing miserably. To start--the decor is cheap, UN-unified, and impractical. The colors are a major eye sore and the decorations of the room make little sense, ie a mirror hung 4 feet taller than the average person.

The hotel staff was extremely rude. At check in, they were not helpful nor did they even great me when I approached them. When I asked for a receipt, they told me to come back later. They did not apologize. No one helped with bags or even held a door open.

The rooms themselves were not enjoyable. The beds are rock hard, the sink overflows and they don't come to make your bed or change your towels if you are staying more than one night.

Breakfast the next morning was preposterous. It was overpriced, cold and lacking variety.

To sum up: this hotel is extremely overpriced. I'd rather stay in a Days's Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillianp P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.1 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
235 reviews
5.4 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
428 reviews
4.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Eatontown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Address: 1401 Ocean Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-5612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range: $140 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the Jersey Shore, just a few steps from the famous Asbury Park boardwalk, the Atlantic Ocean provides gorgeous panoramic views and the ultimate setting for your relaxing getaway. The Berkeley’s coveted beachfront location has convenient proximity to an array of local hotspots, the most notable is The Stone Pony. Our oceanfront hotel is only an hour away from Philadelphia and New York City, making it easily accessible. Head to the Tiki Bar and enjoy a cocktail poolside under the private cabanas for the ultimate relaxation experience. Or you can soak up the sun on the beach and then head across the street to the legendary Stone Pony. If you are one of lucky ones you may catch a surprise appearance by “The Boss”, Bruce Springsteen. The nightlife is diverse and when you stroll along the boardwalk, you will discover great beaches, great shopping, and delicious dining options. The boutique NJ hotel and the historic seaside community is the ideal venue for your wedding featuring magnificent ballrooms and an expansive rooftop perfect for your ceremony or a sunset cocktail party. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing