We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charging too much for their product”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
NJ
1 review
“Charging too much for their product”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I understand they renovated an old buildnig, but finish work is lacking, its like they slapped up some paint, cool furniture, nice wallpaper but once they got to a certain point they stopped.
For the qulaity of the rooms, I feel the room rates are high considering what you get!
Not to mention the worst part is the walls are paper thin and when people were talking in the hallway we felt like they were in the room with us. Glass shower door is odd? 1 out of 3 elevators was not working during our stay which was a bit annoying. No customer service "warm and fuzzy welcome to our hotel" script was said at check in at all. I'm big on customer service so this irked me.
They are one of the only hotels in town so they do have the market cornered in that aspect. You can't beat the location. Walking distance to the beach and boardwalk.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view without aying for the 20.00 upgrade. Also ( and obviously) away from elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    507
    470
    385
    380
See reviews for
621
744
95
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weaverham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed there for three nights and £200 Oakley sunglasses disappeared from the room whilst we were out- made for an expensive few nights. Might have been okay if not for the theft- location is right by the ocean and boardwalk- would not choose it by choice had been booked in as a larger group.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Asbury Park hotels

NJ
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked one king room off season and it was very reasonably priced and conveniently located. Our room an excellent ocean view. One problem - the hallway and our room reaked of cigarette smoke (this is a non-smoking hotel), but the front desk changed us to the same room on a different floor no problem. This a boutique hotel with mid-century decor, and it is very "Jersey Shore" in a good way. There is valet parking for $20/night, but we used the muni meter in front. It is close to the boardwalk with bars and restaurants, and the hotel restaurant has a very nice bar. (We had an after dinner drink only, so not sure about the food/service.) My only complaint would be that the plumbing was very sloooow in both the sink and shower, and the water took forever to go down. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmmrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The best way to describe this property is just as the title suggests. If you HAVE to stay in Asbury Park as we did it's not an awful choice but it is "Lipstick on a Pig". Looks pretty at first but not when you look close. No breakfast available M-F, only a hot weekend buffet that's cold for $15. We drove to Frank's for breakfast every day. There was no hot water for 24 hrs one day with no explanation. We had a bargain price because of a connection and it was worth exactly what we paid. Lots of things wrong with the room and updated features were strange and not well thought out. Heat lamp in bathroom was just an ordinary bulb. Shallow modern sink splashes water on everything around it. Bathroom had mildew and was not clean. Doors to rooms are hollow and hallways are narrow and noisy, so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.
BY THE WAY - Do not leave anything of value out in the room. Keep your luggage locked as we were TWICE let into our rooms when our key didn't work by staff who never confirmed that we were guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metalligal007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It appears as though the intentions were good to update the decor but as a friend of mine who consults on customer service... " you dont come out a hotel raving about the countertops and carpeting - it's the service, stupid!" The beds are so hard I felt like sleeping on the floor for comfort. No information in the room whatsoever about amenities. No parking without paying by the hour, or the day. At these prices parking needs to be available without a valet or paying by the hour. It seemed like there was total indifference as to service or any contact with the guests. The only thing that keeps them going is that there is no competition, except the Empress which we will try next time. How does an upscale hotel run out of hot water in the middle of the afternoon? They need to maintain and update what they have, as it seems since they rehabed the facility no one has picked up a paint brush. Mildew in the grout in the shower. Need I say more?

Room Tip: If you are going to stay there book through a travel website or negotiate down to around $100 for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is attempting to be high class based on the price and 'decor' and they are failing miserably. To start--the decor is cheap, UN-unified, and impractical. The colors are a major eye sore and the decorations of the room make little sense, ie a mirror hung 4 feet taller than the average person.

The hotel staff was extremely rude. At check in, they were not helpful nor did they even great me when I approached them. When I asked for a receipt, they told me to come back later. They did not apologize. No one helped with bags or even held a door open.

The rooms themselves were not enjoyable. The beds are rock hard, the sink overflows and they don't come to make your bed or change your towels if you are staying more than one night.

Breakfast the next morning was preposterous. It was overpriced, cold and lacking variety.

To sum up: this hotel is extremely overpriced. I'd rather stay in a Days's Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillianp P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The person at check in was very rude for some reason so not a good start. The room was clean at first but upon inspection there were hairs in the bathroom and the some items from the last visitor in the main bedroom so house cleaning needs to improve. There was noise in the hallways at night but can't blame the rude drunken guests (2 wedding parties when I stayed there) on the hotel. If you want to be right near the beach and the boardwalk then the location can't be beat otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copperdesk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.2 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
10.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1401 Ocean Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-5612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing