We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Asbury Park, NJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2008

We went to the Mayor's ball at the Berkeley and decided to check in rather than drive home. The hotel has been totally remodeled. We didn't have any reservations and it was late, but the front desk was polite and helpful. We were given a very nice room for only $100. The room was decorated nicely in a minimalist style. The bed was very comfortable. I love the new style of the bathrooms. We live nearby, but would probably choose to stay again if we are at another event there. I definitely have been recommending it to friends coming to visit. It's right across from the beach and walking distance to some great restaurants. A definite value and very pretty too.

  • Liked — Close to the beach, comfortable room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APJrzGrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    490
    457
    378
    373
See reviews for
601
725
89
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2008

The room i was put didn't have Water in the sink (No Pipe!!) the heater was broken, AND the window was stuck open. I only realized this when i returned to my freezing room late at night, and my kids wouldn't be able to handle the room change i was offered. I know the hotel was just redone and the room was nice but never expected a problem like this. The desk was ready to help but was very unapologizing about it, And the night manager didn't really seem to know what was going on.

  • Liked — New Rooms Big Beds Fold out Couches
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Asbury Park hotels

Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

I was in NYC from Vermont for work , and decided to get away to the Jersey shore after meetings on Friday.Friday night I stayed at a motel in Asbury Park which was not quite up to my expectations, so when a local suggested that I try the newly renovated Berkeley, I drove over. I had stayed there before the renovation, in 2004, and although the location on the ocean was fabulous, it was a bit frayed around the edges at that time, and lacking in some basic amenities, so I looked forward to the improvements.
I was greeted at the front door by a gentleman who inquired if I was checking in. I told him that I would like to check the rates with the front desk, and also eat breakfast in the restaurant , and he frowned. I was taken off guard when I was told in a rather abrupt manner, that if I did not already have a reservation "You cannot be on the premises , because we are renovating."( I recently stayed in an Omni which was undergoing major renovations - nail guns reporting, and tarps everywhere - and they bent over backwards to make up for it.) If the hotel was booked up, I might expect " I'm sorry sir, we're full, however , please feel free to dine with us," or if not, perhaps " You are welcome to check with the front desk on room availability and rates," etc. But why would one act unwelcoming towards potential guests because they were renovating? Or for ANY reason?
To top it off, when I walked over to the front desk, he called out " Hey, where are you going ? " I found this treatment to be unprofessional, unsophisticated, and just a bit rude - and a bit odd for a hotel which was obviously spending a lot of money to attract guests.I was even more disappointed when informed by the desk staff that the gentleman manning the door was the general manager.
The rate quoted from the front desk was a very reasonable $99 ( off season) , the location great ,and the new decor was attractive. However, I decided to walk after this encounter, as I don't spend money where I'm not treated courteously.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank rick33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2008

Having a weekend commitment in nearby Long Branch led me to this newly refurbished hotel.

All I knew about Asbury was that Sprinsteen was from there.

The hotel sits right on the boardwalk with great views of the Atlantic Ocean.

All I knew was the information I found online, and was pleasantly surprised by the "Beachy" feel of the lobby.

Apparently there are new owners who undertook a renovation of every room and common area of the hotel, and I believe they did a great job.

The staff was excellent as they helped at check-in and any room requests.

The room I was given faced the ocean and had one of the most comfortable King-Size beds I have had in a hotel in a long time. The room colors are great and give the hotel and even more open airy 'Beachy' feel.

Apparently there is an outdoor pool with cabanas, and a restaurant that is opening soon.

I would definately reccommend this hotel to anyone for the summer or just a weekend getaway.

PS. I took a look at the ballrooms they have and WOW. I'm sure they have had some parties there.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYNY-Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2008

I found The Berkely Hotel was everything I wanted for my stay. The decor is trendy and clean, the room was huge and the furniture and art work I was impresed with. The staff were friendly and the location is amazing. Close to everywhere I needed to be and I imagine its even nicer when the hotel is full, so I plan on being back in the summer. A good place to stay.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank 49ersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.2 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
10.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel

Property: Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Address: 1401 Ocean Avenue, Asbury Park, NJ 07712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As historic Asbury Park's premier boutique hotel, The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel enjoys a prime location along the New Jersey shoreline just steps from the famed boardwalk. Designed by noted Beaux Arts architect Warren Whitney of New York, the hotel recently underwent a renovation of historic proportions and is poised to experience the renaissance of this nineteenth-century seaside destination. Modern luxuries complement the classic grandeur of this 238-room famous hotel, with a nod to the Victorian architecture and oceanfront glamour of Asbury Park's storied past. The Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel embodies everything that is the revitalization of the famed Jersey Shore and itself represents the rebirth of this cultural icon. The Berkeley offers a bar and restaurant during the summer season only. Parking is available in our lot at an additional cost. Parking is provided on a first come, first serve basis as it is limited. The Berkeley prides itself on being a pet friendly hotel. Pet friendly rooms are offered on a designated floor at an additional cost. A complimentary coffee service is available daily from 7 AM to 11 AM for all overnight guests. For questions or concerns, please reach out to the email provided on our general information page. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Asbury Park
Berkeley Carteret Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing