We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try the specials of the day”
Review of Moonstruck

Moonstruck
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
New City, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“try the specials of the day”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

on the way home from cape may (to NY) and wanted to avoid traffic checked out tripadvisor for a nice place on the way came across this restaurant glad we did. we both had one of the specials of the day and was not disappointed from the fresh beefsteak tomatoes to the curried (in a lite coconut milk sauce) seafood (did not over power the taste) this place was worth going out of the way for.
p.s. missed all the traffic on the garden state heading north

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 116AMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    118
    40
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The service ,atmosphere and price were good But for a number one rating with trip advisory I was very disappointed with the quality and taste of the food Portuguese clams for an appetizer with the onions do not work well and The pork shank was a little dry

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PecsNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RP
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
“NIce atomsphere and surroundings great food”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Sat outside nice breeze over looking the Lake. We were lucky with no wait. I had the skirt steak which can be missed if you don't turn over the menu to see the other side. They moved from Ocean Grove to Asbury for the liquior license.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Located along the lake separating Asbury Park from Ocean Grove a couple of blocks from the boardwalk, this restaurant is a real find. On the main level, live jazz was being played near the bar. Upstairs offered either indoor or outdoor dining. We ate indoors as the evening had become quite chilly. Large varied menu with something for everyone- meat eaters, seafood lovers, pasta and several vegetarian entrees. We had a steak dish, seafood special and a pasta dish. All were tasty. Portions were ample and prices reasonable. Vegetables were actually a portion instead of a garnish. Will definitely return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank iove2travel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I'm stretching it with Very Good”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

While the service and atmosphere is very good, the food doesn't quite make it. Although the food was prepared well it just misses the mark, in my opinion. Reading all the reviews written on this establishment that say the food is very good to excellent... I just don't get it. In my mind excellent means one on of the best, it's not. Give it a shot, it's still a nice place for an evening out, but lower your expectations on the food and menu selections.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstruck also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Moonstruck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing