We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach. Great restaurants.”

Asbury Park Boardwalk
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach. Great restaurants.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Asbury is back! Safe, friendly, clean and fun! Great music and places to eat . Clean beach for families and singles.
Sit on the boardwalk and hear the bands playing at the Stone Pony summer stage for free.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Bes9002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    256
    92
    20
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Welcome Back Asbury!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was here last night since last May when we stopped by. I'm an old timer that's been to Asbury back in the 50's & 60's. I continued going even into the 70's, but that's when things went downhill and I haven't been there in years. It is depressing to know what it was like then and what I see now, even after the fix-up of Sandy. I love the boardwalk, to walk and sit and watch people go by. I see some trendy restaurants there now, and been to Stella Marina and a few on Cookman Ave. I hope things continue at a fast pace to clean up Asbury as I prefer it to some of the other shores. The thing I'm disappointed in is the central metered parking everywhere. Good way to attract tourist! I also didn't like some of the slum areas getting from the parkway to the beach. Could be a little unsafe, but the low life seem to stay away from the boardwalk and Cookman Ave where some good eateries are.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank taurus430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Clean and non-crowded boardwalk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I preferred the boardwalk here than any where else off the shore. It is cleaned, well maintained and not overly crowded. There's not many vendors off the boardwalk like other places, and I like it that way. Parking isn't too expensive ($10 a day in the Lot or by the hours on the street) or hard to find.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PADOVA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Terrible!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The place shows the relic of some old style place but now all the feeling and charme is gone. To get there you go through a line of low income houses streets that is not a sin but you expect a little better from such a famous place. Once there the boardwalk you see is lined only by utterly cheap places selling real rubbish. The beach is quite large but really poorly populated by a mix of common people just enjoying the sun and dropouts of all kinds. The buildings show the look of an old lady who was once a beauty but now is ready for retirement. This must have been a very fascinating place maybe 50/60 years ago, now nothing is left of the old greatness. I wonder what was really meaning Bruce Springsteen in his old LP...
New Jersey has a lot more to offer than this gloomy place, a few miles south you find a line of nice beaches such as Avon by the sea, Bradley beach and so on...Turn on the engine and head south!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KITER57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Renovated Boardwalk and Clean Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very fun boardwalk, not as crowded and built up as Point Pleasant but I prefer it much better. There are many great options for food on the boardwalk and there is miniature golf. The beach was very clean and not overcrowded like other beaches. Plenty of parking for all. Asbury Park is on its way to being great again!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brown_Eyes1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asbury Park Boardwalk also viewed

 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Asbury Park Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing