We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YIKES!”
Review of Oceanic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oceanic Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
skruuhippie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YIKES!”
Reviewed December 12, 2009

BED BUGS! May be cheap but totally nasty. Close to the beach and concert hall but I would bring an air mattress not sure if that would help cause bugs can crawl from the floor.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skruuhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    12
    4
    12
See reviews for
4
15
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This was the Bates Motel. There were roaches and bed bugs. If I had not been afraid, I would have slept in my car. We have already called the City to ask for an inspection because this place is definitely up to code. There were bugs on the bedside table and in my friends' room they woke up to bug bites. This place was horrible and I am still cringing as I share the story.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lamk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Asbury Park hotels

Erie, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2008

I was visiting Jersey, my original home state, from Erie, PA recently, and one day, while checking out the progress of Asbury Park, I came across this motel. Asbury used to have so many motels, but this is the only one remaining now (as far as I know). I encountered no problems, the beds were comfortable, and they offer cable TV, something some more expensive motels in Monmouth County don't even have. I recommend this motel for anyone visiting the Jersey Shore.

  • Liked — People were friendly, the staff, the other tennants, etc.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnfenner1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for three days. I had to call over 5 times to make a reservation. The first time I was told I called too early (it was a little over a month in advance) and the second time I made the reservation and was told to call back a week before to confirm. I called back a week before and after being on hold for 5 minutes she told me she didn't know how to handle anything about reservation and I left a message. No one called me back and I had to call three more times just to make sure they didn't give up my room. I was told over the phone they had a pool, when I got there they told me they had a pool.. but it would not be open until next year. They just had a hole inthe ground. The hotel smelled like death when I walked in and needed to be aired out for most of the day. There was only one small light in the enitre room and it came from a small lamp. If I needed anything I had to ask for it several times. I got caught in a rain storm and asked for extra towels and he initially refused and said he would bring them later. I was soaked from head to toe and had to argue for my towel. This was a huge mistake and I would never stay there again or ever recomend it to anyone. There were more roach traps than ammenities. The only decent thing was they had a small fridge.

  • Liked — The fridge was nice
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JJF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanicInn, Owner at Oceanic Inn, responded to this review, April 12, 2009
Our motel is a family owned and operated. I am disappointed to hear about this customer’s experience making a reservation; we recently implemented a process for taking customer reservations are continuously working to streamline it.

The main issue the customer had was with the service receiving towels after being caught in inclement weather. I distinctly remember this customer and we informed her that we would send the extra towels up to her room and did exactly that. This customer took issue with our refund/checkout policies because of bad weather on her last day she wanted to leave late in the evening. As much as we wish it were possible, we cannot control the weather and cannot bend our policies every time it rains.

I would like to remind our future guests that we have been operating this motel for 25+ years and understand that customer service is paramount to a good stay. To that end we do our absolute best to meet your realistic expectations. Please remember it is impossible to get beach side accommodations at our rates. We hope you will consider us for your next visit to the Jersey Shore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2005

Oceanic Inn, 201 6th Avenue, Asbury Park (732-988-0300)
Small Motel that was built in the 1950s. It has a pool, and it opened all year. Typical NJ Shore Motel, good if your seeing a concert in the area or at the Stone Pony or Paradise.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.6 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Asbury Park
Super 8 Asbury Park
#6 of 6 in Asbury Park
2.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanic Inn

Property: Oceanic Inn
Address: 201 6th Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-5597
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceanic Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceanic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanic Hotel Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing