We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay.....but overpriced”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Forest Hills, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Okay.....but overpriced”
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Spent Labor Day weekend at the Empress. Paid $279 per night which is definately overpriced, but this is peak time afterall.

Pool area is nice, and Sunday tea dance was awesome.

Rooms have very thin walls and we definatly heard our neighbors talking until 5:00AM; this is not good. Rooms are clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    95
    33
    17
    12
See reviews for
29
106
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

My partner and I have been staying at the Empress for over 4 years now. No it is no luxury hotel but the location and vibe are the best. This is the place to come if your looking for fun and sun. It's location cannot be beat right across the street from the beach. The rooms either have a pool or ocean view and depending on our mood both ar great. The nightclub attached rocks and the Sunday Tea dances are a blast.

The staff is so nice with a special shout out to Kris Doug and Don. Housekeeping does an amazing job with the way this place rocks on the weekends. For the Jersey Shore the value also cannot be beat. Yes the bathroom is old and small but very clean.

Treat yourself to a weekend at the Empress> Asbury is such a cool beach town and the growth of the town has also been amazing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2010

From the looks of the outside of the building and the fabulous lobby I was impressed. that didnt last long. The AC in my room never cooled the room. When I checked in it wasnt even on. The phone didnt work so I had to walk down to the front desk to tell them. The clerk told me he would send someone up to fix it. I asked for a fan at least. The fan nor the help never came. I gave up and opened the window for some air which was cooler than the inside room temp. The dance club downstairs is loud and the drunks outside my windowns were annoying. I think the hotel needs to spend some more time and energy on the rooms instead of the fancing neon lighting outside.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limorobtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

You can't beat the bang for your buck- great location, location, location. You're at the end of the boardwalk right by great shops a nd clean beach, just a block away from adjoining Ocean Grove boardwalk!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

It's basically an expensive Motel 6 with a gay club and pool down below. The staff are nice and it can be fun to be in the middle of it all but keep your expectations real low. Also, don't expect a quite night sleep if the disco is still open.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2010

They decided to let area free loaders use the pool, which was unfair to the paying guest.

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JoeD_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

uncomfortable bed, old and dirty bathroom, the carpet is full of stains. too noisey with people hanging out on the sidewalk just outside your windows. would not recommend. the fact that it was the number one gay hotel and nightclub three years in a row, should have been told to me before we checked in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank romo721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.4 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
5.9 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 101 Asbury Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-6207
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Empress Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting the standard for Asbury Park, the Empress Hotel has 101 rooms. Across the street from the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent to historic Ocean Grove, our hotel offers breathtaking views of the beach, Wesley Lake, and our oversized pool. Sunbathing or jogging, shopping or swimming, the Empress is the perfect access point for the boardwalk, beach, revitalized shopping district, and dozens of area attractions. Our poolside Tiki huts, world-class dance club, and customized professional service offer everything for a relaxing getaway or the perfect party. At the Empress Asbury Park, the royal treatment is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing