We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Decent Accomodations”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

After a 4 day stay at Empress, I was surprised how good the service was. The front desk staff was very attentive and seemed very customer service oriented. My room was very clean and comfortable and the ocean view was acceptable given the hotels location.

While the room could use some upgrades, such as a more modern TV, fridge, and stronger Wi-Fi, to pool was wonderful, the restaurant food good, and the nightclub lots of fun.

So for being feet from the ocean, a clean fresh comfy room, a great pool and wonderful service, the Empress was a great bargain for the price.

I ll definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 327 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spent the weekend here recently as a very last minute thing to spend some time with great friends. Turned out to be the best summer weekend we've had this year so far!!! In just a hop over you can have delicious kimchi tacos while enjoying a beautiful view of the ocean. The food at the nearby restaurants is really good as well as the cocktails.

Room Tip: book your room in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empres101, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Valued Guest,

We always love to hear that you had a great time during your stay. Our staff here at The Empress strive to make every guest happy anyway we can. We all enjoy tacos from MOGO. They are great addition to the boardwalk. The pork are my favorite, they have a nice bite to them. Thank you for the feedback about your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I’ve stayed here with a large group of friends each of the last four summers and have always had a fabulous experience. Kris, the manager, Doug and the rest of the staff are friendly and always attentive to all of our needs. The rooms have balconies and are clean, comfortable and big enough for two couples to share. The location is great, just across from the beach, the boardwalk and many restaurants (don’t miss the Korean tacos right across the street!). We love hanging out at the large pool (always full of cute boys) and having a packed dance club right in the hotel. When you add in the free wi-fi and continental breakfast, the Empress is a great value for the money. The hotel has a friendly social vibe, so if you are looking for a fun weekend of swimming, dancing and meeting new people this is the place to stay. Everyone in our group had a terrific time and we will all be back next summer!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the poolside are more fun but also noiser
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcovenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for Sand Blast and aside from people on room next to us who had a girl drunk and screaming to the top of her lungs, it was nice. You gotta come to this hotel with a party mentality. This hotel isn't for those seeking peace and quiet. There seems to be a structural noise caused by the heavy bass music in club. Continental breakfast sucks big time but there are good choices around to go have breakfast. I wish they had a Starbucks. Overall we would go back anytime. Just have a few drinks and you will tolerate anything!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the other side of pool unless you really like noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuiRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Spent two nights here. 25 years ago we would have loved this place. Funky mid century modern space, updated a while back except for the tiny 1950s bathrooms. Room was very clean. Hallways smelled pretty stale. The place was really jumping with young people. The night club off the lobby stayed open until 2AM Friday night and 3AM on Saturday. You could hear the base thumping loud and clear in our room so an early bedtime was not option. Room next to us housed four young drag queens. They were pretty loud all weekend and partied in their room after the club closed. Advertised as a non smoking Hotel, but the please wreaked of cigarettes and our neighbors were smoking openly in the common spaces. The place had a great vibe and the room itself was clean and big enough for two people to be comfortable. If we were in our twenties we'd have had a great time, bit our early to bed, early to rise mentality did not work here.

Room Tip: don't stay poolside if you want to get to sleep before 3AM in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had a last minute business trip scheduled for Tuesday and Wednesday in Long Branch. The management at the Empress was more than happy to accommodate me and get me a room and make sure everything was set for my stay. Check-in was flawless. The room was spotless. Beautiful view of the ocean and boardwalk. I went right down for Happy Hour, then even got to sit and relax by the pool and watch 9 to 5. Great camaraderie. John Fig is the best! Bartender Joey on Tuesday was a joy to chat with. I pretty much sat and talked with him all night. I strongly recommend The Empress for your next stay at the Jersey Shore. PS: The Tabu Club is the best!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frankie_D518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empres101, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Valued Guest,

We always love to hear that you had a great time during your stay. Our staff here at The Empress and Paradise strive to make every guest happy anyway we can. Its great that you were able to come and relax during your trip. Our pool area will be closing but the tiki bars will stay open for a few more weeks at night on the weekends. Thank you for the feedback about your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,

Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Just steps away from the beach. The rooms are not very clean and the Wifi was very poor. There is a club in the hotel and it is very noisy late into the night and our room was on the 4th Fl. The staff was very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empres101, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It concerns me that our guest rooms were not up to the standards that we set for our hotel. We strive on maintaining cleanliness throughout our building. We are addressing the Wifi issues in the building, although I am surprised you had an issue being there is an access point directly below you. If you decide to stay in Asbury Park again, please do not hesitate contacting me direct.

Kind regards,
Kristin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.4 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
677 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
225 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Neptune/Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: 101 Asbury Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-6207
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range: $101 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Empress Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting the standard for Asbury Park, the Empress Hotel has 101 rooms. Across the street from the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent to historic Ocean Grove, our hotel offers breathtaking views of the beach, Wesley Lake, and our oversized pool. Sunbathing or jogging, shopping or swimming, the Empress is the perfect access point for the boardwalk, beach, revitalized shopping district, and dozens of area attractions. Our poolside Tiki huts, world-class dance club, and customized professional service offer everything for a relaxing getaway or the perfect party. At the Empress Asbury Park, the royal treatment is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing