We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, hip, regal, cool & friendly”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Stylish, hip, regal, cool & friendly”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent one night at the perfectly located Empress Hotel. The Empress is across the street from the Asbury Park board, and a stone's throw from the legendary Stone Pony. From the moment you check in, the warm hospitality is apparent. The entire staff is helpful and accommodating. Rooms are clean, and freshly renovated (renovation in progress). We had a fourth floor, ocean view room, which could not have been better. There is a rocking nightclub with an excellent lobby bar, a hip pool scene,and an onsite restaurant that we didn't have time to try. Continental breakfast is straightforward (full sized fresh bagels, mini danishes, hand fruit, juice, coffee, tea), but exactly what you need the morning after a full day of sea, sun, music and fun. We will definitely return to the Empress.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for 3rd or 4th floor, as the nightclub is open until 4 a.m. on weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayemgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empres101, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback from your great experience here at the Empress. Asbury Park is a great town that has a lot to offer. All of our staff here strive to make every guests stay memorable, And it is great to hear when they do. We hope to see you again very soon.

Kristin Chesney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    95
    33
    17
    12
See reviews for
29
106
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bridgwater nj
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed over the 2013 Memorial Day weekend and all I can say is that the hospitality was by far second to none. The customer service while booking my stay as well the service received upon arrival and through the duration of my stay exceeded my expectation. I would highly recommend the Empress Hotel to anyone looking for a beach stay with a worry free process.

Room Tip: Book a ocean view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empres101, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We are a small staff that take pride in customer service and enjoy having happy travelers stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Empress. Your positive review is appreciated and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards.

Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This years Memorial Day weekend stay was perfect- hotel staff, bartenders, waiters, deskman Tom and manager Kristen, the best. Thank you again for making us all feel like family. Always my number one choice at the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creativesoul8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
empres101, General Manager at Empress Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We are a small staff that take pride in customer service and enjoy having happy travelers stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Empress. Your positive review is appreciated and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards.

Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The staff were really friendly and the seafront location is excellent.

We booked online and the only option was for a room with 2 double beds. When we arrived at the hotel we had the option to take a king room.

The room was clean and we had a great view of the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isobeleast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have stayed at the Empress on 3 different occasions. We love the super quick walk to the Stone Pony (which is the usual reason we are in AP) and to wander along the boardwalk that is there.

The rooms are clean and have plenty of room along with a deck which I love when we get home at 2:00am and need some refreshing air!

There is a nightclub in the hotel that will go on until about 2:30am. You do hear the boom boom of club music but in my opinion it helps me sleep - odd I know. Ask for a room on a higher floor further away from the end where the club is.

In the morning there is a very basic continental breakfast that hits the spot for the road trip home - bagels, mini danish, fruit, coffee and tea.

You also get a free admission pass to the club. We love that because after the Pony we still want to dance so we go there before heading back to our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Empress embodies Asbury...colorful, unpretentious, friendly and lively. I've been coming to the Stone Pony for years and always end up staying here. The staff is friendly and accommodating; professional yet warm.

It's in the process of being renovated and we stayed in one of the newer rooms facing the ocean with a small balcony. There's a club downstairs that goes on until 3 on weekends but we didn't hear a thing. If you're a light sleeper, ask for one of the rooms on the opposite side of the building away from the pool.

Although the rooms are being updated, I hope the lobby keeps it's funky vibe. It's all part of what makes the Empress a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hasta_el_cielo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in March of 2012 while attending a Brit Floyd [Pink Floyd tribute band} show at the Paramount theater on the boardwalk. This hotel had a great location,near the beach and only about 3 blocks from the paramount theater which has been restored and is on the national historic list of properties.It is an Excellent place to see a show.The hotel was clean ,the room basic but reasonably priced . The staff very friendly and accomodating.The bedding could definitely use an upgrade though.The hotel is near everything of interest in Asbury park . This was my first return to Asbury park in about 40 years ,I was last there at about the age of 10 so I don't remember much about it back then, but I am glad to see and know they are restoring it after letting it decay for years. It was neat seeing the Old casino building[filmed in the Robert Deniro movie.. 'city by the sea. ,and the old carousel building and the Wonder Bar " etc.,It makes me think back to what Asbury Park must have been like in it's heyday.We would return to this hotel due to it's price,cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deanroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.4 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
5.9 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 101 Asbury Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-6207
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Empress Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting the standard for Asbury Park, the Empress Hotel has 101 rooms. Across the street from the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent to historic Ocean Grove, our hotel offers breathtaking views of the beach, Wesley Lake, and our oversized pool. Sunbathing or jogging, shopping or swimming, the Empress is the perfect access point for the boardwalk, beach, revitalized shopping district, and dozens of area attractions. Our poolside Tiki huts, world-class dance club, and customized professional service offer everything for a relaxing getaway or the perfect party. At the Empress Asbury Park, the royal treatment is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing