We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always A Pleasure to stay at the Empress”
Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Met up with a bunch of the girls for the evening to go to the Stone Pony for a Christmas Show. Many stay down the street at another hotel but we love to stay at the Empress. It is a short block to the Pony, across from the Boardwalk, close to the Wonder Bar and the Paramount. All a short stroll down the street. The rooms are always clean, bright and airy. Nice linens too; not scratchy! We had a room facing the ocean with a small balcony. Too bad the weather was bad the next day but the view was still really nice. The bagels the next morning were a welcome plus and the coffee is delicious! We love to stay at The Empress when we visit Asbury Park. You should too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NASCARbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 326 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Fun and lovely boutique-ish hotel one block from The Stone Pony and the beach. In my opinion, BETTER than a boutique hotel, as it didn't have that overly precious aura that some have.

For us, it is the perfect place to stumble to after a hard night at the Stone Pony music club.

It also features it's own bar and disco. We were concerned about noise, but didn't hear a peep, just the sound of the ocean waves from our balcony.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: East side is ocean view. Fall asleep to the sound of the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYLifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My second visit to the Empress this year and like last time it was terrific! Went to asbury for the zombie feast and decided to stay last minute. Went to check in where Doug took excellent care of us. Gave us an ocean view and were able to check in immediately room was immaculately clean as well as all the common areas as well. Doug and Kristen at the front desk we're terrific friendly people. They also have coffee, tea, bagels, etc in the lobby for breakfast which is an added perk and convenience. Please do not hesitate to stay here as you will not be disappointed. Clean clean clean and Doug is so helpful as well as friendly. Balcony overlooks the ocean which is also key you get a great view of the beach area.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank stinkymonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I spent a weekend in Asbury Park and stayed in the Empress for two nights. The hotel has a great location close to the boardwalk (You just cross the road and you are on the boardwalk) and some excellent restaurants. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are reasonably sized and clean. It was also great to have a balcony overlooking the ocean. The hotel also has a nice pool area.

The building is fairly old and some may say that it is a bit dated. Also, the Paradise bar is downstairs and it can get very noisy until 2 or 3AM, especially over weekends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

28 rooms were booked at the Empress for our daughters wedding....not one issue. Friends and family from at least 4 states are making plans to revisit Asbury Park and can't wait to stay at the Empress again. In organizing flights, I called many times and changed arrival and departure dates and everytime this was done with pleasure by the staff. They were more than accomodating in every way. The rooms were perfect, big and clean, and we loved looking at the views in all directions. The location was ideal for us with the many wedding events taking place within walking distance. I truely felt as though Kristin and her team were looking after my crowd the entire time. Everyone had a great experience at the Empress. I cannot wait to go back and enjoy it again.

Room Tip: We were told that the 4th floor would be less noise from the club and we listened. The far corners...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We needed a weekend away from NYC, so my husband and I with a couple friends decided to spend the weekend here. Overall, the accommodations are just average, but when you add the value of getting into the pool and club for free and how CHEAP the drinks are, and free breakfast, it is well worth it. We also split a room (2 night min stay) which helped with the slightly overpriced room.
All in all, a great quick getaway, close to the NJ transit stop, close to the boardwalk, Korean taco stand, etc...
Would recommend! Bring your own booze and mixers, no liquor store nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms right above the club, and don't spend more for the 'suite;' not worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pradadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Once again The Empress Hotel has shown their true colors of professionalism, hospitality and courtesy to me and my guests. Kristin, Milton, and Josh tended to our every need, no matter how petty it may have seemed, always at our service with a smile and never having to ask them twice. I wouldnt stay anywhere else when i visit Asbury Park. Stayed there July AND August. No Room Service but a nice breakfast spread was in the lobby for the taking ...yes i was designated room service person to bring up to the room lol. No prob. Its all good ;)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivaDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,692 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
339 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
225 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Address: 101 Asbury Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-6207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range: $101 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Empress Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting the standard for Asbury Park, the Empress Hotel has 101 rooms. Across the street from the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent to historic Ocean Grove, our hotel offers breathtaking views of the beach, Wesley Lake, and our oversized pool. Sunbathing or jogging, shopping or swimming, the Empress is the perfect access point for the boardwalk, beach, revitalized shopping district, and dozens of area attractions. Our poolside Tiki huts, world-class dance club, and customized professional service offer everything for a relaxing getaway or the perfect party. At the Empress Asbury Park, the royal treatment is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing