We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Empress Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Empress Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Empress Hotel is very clean, comfortable amd a few steps above the rest in quality. It's quiet ( if you want it to be) or join the parties poolside or in the bar. The staff is sensational, always kind, patient and ready to help. We needed a referidgerator for medications and they supplied it for us.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franibaby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    95
    32
    17
    12
See reviews for
29
105
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed this past Saturday night at the Empress. This was my second visit. I just love love love this hotel. I had a spectacular room with a view. The staff is beyond helpful. And I sampled the coffee at the complimentary continental breakfast...delicious. I checked out the pool also. Very clean and larger than I had expected.

I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband & I Just drove to the shore & said we were going to Asbury Park this year. We went from the start of the boardwalk to what we called the end & the Empress was the only Hotel there. We were so impressed we just booked our stay. We found out later that is was mostly gay, and it was great. Everyone was so accomadating. I have never felt so at ease on a vacation before. They have everything you need all u have to do is ask for it. We realized that when we left. I would suggest this Hotel to anyone going to Asbury Park. We will be returning next summer. Thanks Guys for a Good Time!!! U really know how to PARTY!!!!!!

Room Tip: we were on the 4th floor, and had a great view of the pool area. I would want the same room when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kitten0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

When I started looking around for hotel accommodations in Asbury Park, my expectations were not high.
What I found however really grabbed my attention.
I found the Empress Hotel quite by accident and the rates were really reasonable so I booked it. I figured that we wouldn't be in the hotel that much since there is so much to do on the Jersey Shore. In short, I was expecting very medioce accommodations and figured I would just have to deal with it.
We were pleasantly surprised to find a very well located property with VERY clean rooms, super comfortable beds and a helpful and friendly staff...We even had a room with an ocean view!!!
Kristen, at the front desk, couldn't have been more outgoing and helpful. She truly possesses what any hotel property looks for in a customer service professional.
Even the lifeguard working at the pool was so very friendly and fun. The staff really helped to make our stay a complete pleasure.
So.... for going above and beyond the expectations of these travelers, I give the Empress Hotel high scores.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I debated with myself between 3 & 4 stars but the overall experience made me lean toward the better. Decided I needed a NJ Shore excursion before the summer is over and am happy I chose midweek here. Arrived early on Tuesday for four days and was accommodated with a very nice room at the internet rate. Very clean, luscious bedding, a balcony overlooking the "strip" and beach.

Initially taken back by the quirky lobby area (scattered sofas, chrome & leather seating, pinball machines, neon string lighting and a makeshift lounge) I asked to see a room and subsequently decided to stay. I later learned this is a rockin place on the weekends with the Tabu Restaurant and Club Paradise.

Regardless, I was not disappointed with my stay. The pool was crystal clear and there is food & beverage service available poolside. Service staff across the board was spot on.

I should mention the hotel and Asbury Park in general is very gay friendly. While I'm not gay, it doesn't bother me, but it may be offensive to some.

Downsides... the carpets throughout are dirty. dirty. Did I say dirty? But that was the only thing.. I'd wear slippers or flip flops anyway.

The hotel offers a nice perk for its guests...you can stay and enjoy the pool on day of checkout for a nominal fee. My only other comments are...parking can be tough, plan accordingly. Beach entry is $5-6

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebonAir42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mifflinville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here with my mother for a few days away at the beach. She had been here before, I had not. It was pretty much what I expected. The staff was very nice and very accommodating. When we got to our room and I realized it was not an ocean side, I went to ask if we could switch and they did it in minutes! They were awesome about it! We didn't have any trouble with noise or crowds, as we stayed through the week. Everyone was nice, the room was clean and the balcony perfect. The bathroom was a little small, but who cares? Also, we did not have a fridge, but I knew this ahead of time and brought a cooler for a few things! I will definitely stay here again and would recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean side if you don't want to stare at the pool scene!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myshels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here for a week and it was perfect. Reasonable rates, even during a peak season, and lots of perks. We had some questionable weather a couple days where we didn't feel like wasting our money for a beach pass only to stay for an hour, so we went to the pool. There is a ton of seating for relaxing by the pool, and there's a bar right there on the deck so we could enjoy some drinks. They allow people who aren't staying to use the pool, but it costs $10 a day, so including it with our stay was great. We also visited the night club which also has a cover charge unless you are a hotel guest.
The rooms are basic, but very clean and spacious. Our balcony had a beautiful view overlooking the beach. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. They have off-street parking but it fills up very quickly, so I would recommend keeping your car there and walking or biking around. The Empress is right across the street from the boardwalk, but also within walking distance to the downtown area with many restaurants, bars and shops.
All in all, our stay at The Empress was flawless. I would absolutely recommend it.

Room Tip: Fourth floor on the beach side is quiet and has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.4 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,084 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
307 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
5.9 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empress Hotel

Property: Empress Hotel
Address: 101 Asbury Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-6207
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Empress Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Setting the standard for Asbury Park, the Empress Hotel has 101 rooms. Across the street from the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent to historic Ocean Grove, our hotel offers breathtaking views of the beach, Wesley Lake, and our oversized pool. Sunbathing or jogging, shopping or swimming, the Empress is the perfect access point for the boardwalk, beach, revitalized shopping district, and dozens of area attractions. Our poolside Tiki huts, world-class dance club, and customized professional service offer everything for a relaxing getaway or the perfect party. At the Empress Asbury Park, the royal treatment is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing