We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great anniversary dinner”
Review of Goldie's - CLOSED

Goldie's
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great anniversary dinner”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

First off, I am a meat and potatoes guy, so when my bride suggested a vegan restaurant, all I could think of was a plate of steamed vegetables, described to me by someone who eats four grains of rice and is full. Wow was I surprised. We sat at the bar, enjoyed a cocktail, and ordered 2 Small plates. One was the stuffed peppers with almond paste, and the wood of the hen mushrooms. Both were awesome. Then we split the roasted Brussels sprouts with apple butter, lemon and a bunch of other good things. I had to shake the hand of the chef who made that dish. After another drink we shared the stuffed cabbage also very good. We are planning on returning in a few weeks on the way home from a broadway show in a few weeks.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jvleeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rutherford
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The service was fantastic. We had a great server. They will make virgin drinks for your child, the food was delicious. It wasn't that overly fried vegetarian/vegan food so many places serve these days. Everything tasted delicious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Will likely make it to 5 stars”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Carefully planned and executed vegan dishes. We have only had apps, but watched the preparation of some of their mains, and they look to be fabulous. Their "good hour" deal is just stupendous. Really interesting and well crafted cocktails and a good selection of small plates for $5 each. We had two rounds of drinks and two apps and walked out having spent $30. Fried cauliflower is delicious. Décor is very cool. A fun evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank entrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Neat place, excellent food”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited twice on a recent weekend at the shore. Bar scene shows great promise - I'll bet it is going to be crazy if they keep the early/late happy hour specials into the summer. Cocktails are inventive and really good. They make their own everything. Particularly loved the Manhattan. Appetizers are really wonderful - the "buffalo" cauliflower was awesome, salads are vegan delights, and they coax flavors out of brussel sprouts that were phenomenal. Several plates of food and all real good. I am not a big fan of the wines - okay, but not up to the level set by the other drinks. The vegan limitation there is a real consideration, although what they pour is adequate. We loved the decor, and while sitting at the bar, we were struck with the real intent of the chef to deliver consistent, perfect plates. Could be very special.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdpinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unexciting vegan food”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was great to see that there is an upscale vegan restaurant in Asbury Park. We went there enthusiastically, having seen their online menu that looked really yummy.
First impressions were good - a really nice decor, friendly staff.
But all of that faltered when it came to food. We were a party of four and order four starters to share. Every single one of them was a disappointment. Deep fried mushrooms were heavy and greasy, more like a meal you would expect at KFC. Pickled vegetables were bland, and that was the overall impression that applies to the rest of the meal.
I ordered polenta that was weak and runny and just really poor. My friend had a hotpot that was also disappointing.
So. all in all, this place is trying to be something that it is not. They would like to be an upscale vegan restaurant, but the food they serve is rather mediocre and, for what it is, heavily overpriced.
Go somewhere else instead.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Principessa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldie's also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing