We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will likely make it to 5 stars”
Review of Goldie's - CLOSED

Goldie's
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Will likely make it to 5 stars”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Carefully planned and executed vegan dishes. We have only had apps, but watched the preparation of some of their mains, and they look to be fabulous. Their "good hour" deal is just stupendous. Really interesting and well crafted cocktails and a good selection of small plates for $5 each. We had two rounds of drinks and two apps and walked out having spent $30. Fried cauliflower is delicious. Décor is very cool. A fun evening.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank entrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Neat place, excellent food”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We visited twice on a recent weekend at the shore. Bar scene shows great promise - I'll bet it is going to be crazy if they keep the early/late happy hour specials into the summer. Cocktails are inventive and really good. They make their own everything. Particularly loved the Manhattan. Appetizers are really wonderful - the "buffalo" cauliflower was awesome, salads are vegan delights, and they coax flavors out of brussel sprouts that were phenomenal. Several plates of food and all real good. I am not a big fan of the wines - okay, but not up to the level set by the other drinks. The vegan limitation there is a real consideration, although what they pour is adequate. We loved the decor, and while sitting at the bar, we were struck with the real intent of the chef to deliver consistent, perfect plates. Could be very special.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdpinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unexciting vegan food”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

It was great to see that there is an upscale vegan restaurant in Asbury Park. We went there enthusiastically, having seen their online menu that looked really yummy.
First impressions were good - a really nice decor, friendly staff.
But all of that faltered when it came to food. We were a party of four and order four starters to share. Every single one of them was a disappointment. Deep fried mushrooms were heavy and greasy, more like a meal you would expect at KFC. Pickled vegetables were bland, and that was the overall impression that applies to the rest of the meal.
I ordered polenta that was weak and runny and just really poor. My friend had a hotpot that was also disappointing.
So. all in all, this place is trying to be something that it is not. They would like to be an upscale vegan restaurant, but the food they serve is rather mediocre and, for what it is, heavily overpriced.
Go somewhere else instead.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Principessa18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
1 review
“trying to be something but not”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The only 2 things I liked about this place was the waitress she was very sweet and was trying to please, and the back wall in a graphite finish with the silver stainless steel kitchen. The seats were very uncomfortable. Let's start with the $5.00 wine special it was a terrible pour and it was definitely a cheap wine. vinegar and could be used for cooking. The prix fix was 35.00 too much. The soup was nothing special. The fried mushrooms were burnt and they took them back and gave us fresh which were very greasy. The leeks were under cooked like chewing straw. I had the mushroom with asparsgus that was ok. My friend had a veggie medley.mostly cauliflower and broccoli it was just ok. The dessert was a berry cobbler which wasn't bad. The prices are too much for food they are trying to make different to apply with the decor. The place was not busy so that tells me it is not going to make it. Well maybe Porta or the Brick Wall will be paying their rents and salaries since they are the same company. My friend and I spoke today and we both had a bad night of sleep and we will not be referring anyone else or will go back .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“UPSCALE VEGAN, COOL DECOR, DELISH FOOD”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Recently dined at this new vegan spot with a party of 6. Only one vegan in the group and we all loved our food. We all shared and tried various dishes and desserts. Unique cocktails. Bartender Kristin was very knowledgeable, friendly and efficient, as well as our waitress Mary. This place is really cool, cozy and comfortable. Was surprised at other dining reviews regarding portion size and price. We all felt that the portions were substantial and the food, presentation, and freshness of the ingredients were superb. We will dine there again. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshineredbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goldie's also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing