We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great octopus!”
Review of Porta

Porta
Ranked #5 of 122 Restaurants in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great octopus!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Definitely get the Octopus! It is superb! Grilled in olive oil and served with a fennel vinegrette salad. Get it! Warehouse type atmosphere, full bar, sit on long tables and chat with your neighbors!

Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    128
    45
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, PA
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were there on a Monday night and the place was packed. 45 minute wait which we spend outside sitting at a picnic table. Pizza was great and we got a large salad to share. One of the best meals we had in Asbury. I see they are opening on in Jersey City where my daughter lives.....excited to have one close to her.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kely53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Terrific all around!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We love Porta's warehouse chic ambiance, fun outdoor bocce court and table games, and tasty menu! Bibb salad was delicious as were the pizzas, meatballs, clams, and octopus appetizer. Service was solid and it was easy to dine here with our children. We'll definitely go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveladdict0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Porta - Love!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have been coming to Porta since they opened and it has never been a disapointment. The negative reviews that you read are from people that are not "locals" and not familiar with the area. This is a popular place and it gets very crowded, especially in the summer and weekends so you need to know when to come. Love the "industrial chic" decor - simple and it works. Pizza is always good (Marguerita, Meatballs, etc.) along with the Bib salad and other items. Dessert menu changes but it is always wonderful. Wine selection is very nice and beer is always cold. They have music on weekends and outdoor sitting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, lousy service and long wait time!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We made reservations for 9 and a baby and still had to wait well over a half hour/40 mins. What is the point of a reservation, Anyway we ordered appetizers and she never asked us for drinks..we never saw her until we actually got our apps and finished them. Salads delicious and generously portioned for sharing. Finally ordered our drinks with our main entrees and that took forever also for just pizzas and pasta. Oh yeah and god forbid you want to add a topping "they dont do special pizzas" .. Ok fine then why would it take so damn long if nothing is special and you have maybe a total of 25/30 choices on the menu total?? Food was good not necessarily worth the wait. Had heard great things about the place, so maybe it was just the server and overall service. I would try and go back again to see.. But why bother.. They are Not even on the beach/boardwalk and not very baby friendly. I guess they don't care about giving good service when tip was already included. Too bad

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porta also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing