We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around great experience”
Review of Porta

Porta
Ranked #4 of 121 Restaurants in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All around great experience”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This is what a Jersey bar/restaurant should be . I recommend getting there early because it fills up quick. As far as the food goes it is amazing. From the Bibb salad to the 14 1/2 pizza cooked on a wood fire you will not be disappointed. The service was great. Craig was our bartender the first time we went there, he was very attentive and personable. We went back a second time and he wasn't working the inside bar so we made sure to go outside and get a drink. He is one of the best bartenders there!! Ask him for the lemon drink and you will be very satisfied. We will be going back its worth the trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jozeppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    126
    42
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't always believe what you read!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

So the NY Times gave this an excellent rating - can't get much higher and we were excited to try it out. We knew it was a pizza and pasta place but did not know that the large restaurant room would be very cold, very dark and very, very loud. No ambiance whatsoever - It was like eating in a windowless basement so, we went outside to "sit wherever we wanted" according to the 2 hostesses. The picnic benches are low, low, low and people were bringing their own pillows because they were also very hard wood. The flies were enjoying themselves as they gathered on the long picnic tables and people were swatting away. We choose two stools at the outdoor bar because at least we were not at ground level and waited for a waitperson. No one came so I went inside and asked if we could be served at the empty wooden bar. So much for "anywhere we wanted to sit." I went into restaurant and asked if we could sit on the stools and be able to place our order. "Of course," was his reply. Finally a waitress came and told us we were not sitting in an area where anyone took orders because there was no bartender. Anyway, she took our order. We shared a delicious Three Trees salad complete with small insect in it, after all, we were hungry and each ordered pasta pomodoro - $10 for small. We expected small but not 2 tablespoons of pasta. Just enough to fill the bowl of a small saucer. Come on! Pasta is cheap. Small for even an appetizer size. Not much sauce, no parmigiano reggiano as written on the menu and no tablespoons to facilitate the pasta into the mouth. I got up to request this and was given a plastic container with cheese and one tablespoon. Enough about the cheese being make by hand and the San Marzano tomatoes. This is nothing new. What is new is $2.00 for bread. The pizzas looked very good but we will never believe the New York Times excellent rating or the hoopla about this Porta. It was not a good experience. It was enlightening. There are lots of very good restaurants in Asbury. If I lived close enough, I might order a pizza to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Who would have thought this place would be so good!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

You have to try the 14 1/2 pizza!!!!!! San Marzano tomatoes, fresh
mozzarella, homemade ricotta,
hot sopressata, Calabrian chiles,
oregano, extra virgin olive oil. It is amazing!! I also love the bartender Craig he is so personable and fun!! Besides the food he is the reason we keep going back. Porta also has great beers on tap, I love that they do have KANE beer there too!! Everything I have ever had there is amazing! It's also a great place for happy hour or even before a show at the stone pony and after the show for late nite snacks! Believe me you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Macy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
196 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Deserves the NY Times " Excellent " rating”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Had a great meal last night at Porta, sat outside at the picnic tables & also played a little bocce' . The place was buzzing & the music was a flowing... Started with Pan Roasted Octopus appetizer with fennel... AWESOME !!! then had the 14 /1 2 & margaretta pizza... forgot about the homemade fresh mozzarella ... a 10 EXCELLENT MEAL !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetoeat5935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Friendly Service, Cool Vibe”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The title says it all. This was an all-around great experience. I highly recommend the octopus salad to start. We were a party of 8 and everyone (even a few with extreme dietary restrictions) was pleased with the pizza and pasta selection. The space is really cool/industrial and the service was very friendly and engaging. I hope that this is an example of the direction that the redevelopment of the AP beachfront takes!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porta also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Porta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing