We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yappy hour!”
Review of The Wonder Bar

The Wonder Bar
Ranked #26 of 122 Restaurants in Asbury Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Yappy hour!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We love the yappy hour (doggie play day) that the wonder bar hosts on weekends. Annie, my dog, does not go to dog parks, and last summer I was very nervous about her going to theirs. However, Kevin and the rest of the staff made us feel comfortable and welcomed and assured us that no aggressive dogs would be in the play area or they would leave. After three visits, we have never once had a problem. The "doggie" beach is adorable, and the drink specials for the "parents" of the dogs are awesome. All of the people and their pets are super friendly, you will see people from all walks of life hanging out here. It is always a good day at this place, and our only regret is that we live an hour and a half away and our visits are limited.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tds1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    15
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Linden, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everyday Fun”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Fun day Sunday for myself and friends. Don't let my 3 of 5 rating set a tone to this read. Arbitrarily speaking It's a full count. Awesome attentiveness of the folks serving. Great Sunday Jam Band delving deep in delivering in the likeness of such Greats, Like The Allmans, Jimi Hendrix, I thought Pig Pen was belting out Lovelight...Great scene. Cool Folks All Around. I guess really what keeps me from giving it a full 5 really only has to do with me. It was a cold ride back along the Ocean up to Union County. I definitely found someplace that I would come back to. Before I forget to mention. I enjoyed the Fried Pickles. Thanks Wonderbar. I also love your dedication our furry friends, "Yappy Hour." Looking forward to the next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1020EWR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best veggie burger I've ever had!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had family visiting, and they wanted a simple lunch. We went to the Wonder Bar. I ordered a veggie burger (thinking it wouldn't be that great). It was the best veggie burger I've ever had (I've eaten many veggie burgers). The Wonder Bar also supports the Steelers, so if your a Steelers fan, you should go there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Had such a blast!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stopped in to the wonder bar one night and there was a Johnny Cash Tribute band and the place was hopping! We had such a good time dancing and watching everyone. The drinks were flowing and very reasonable and the atmosphere was really comfortable and fun. Would love to come back anytime I am in the area..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favourite bar...ever”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I can't rate this bar highly enough...if there were 6 stars I would award them. Arriving late in Asbury Park, we stumbled upon the welcoming lights of the Wonder Bar, where Bruce first saw Clarence play the sax. Atmospheric and authentic, take a seat at the long bar and order a burger while you watch live local bands and the world go by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wonder Bar also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Wonder Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing