We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, Asbury Ocean Beach Inn is our favorite getaway!”
Review of Asbury Park Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asbury Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asbury Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Asbury Park B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once again, Asbury Ocean Beach Inn is our favorite getaway!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

In June 2013, I coordinated a bachelorette weekend at Asbury Ocean Beach Inn. We had the best time and I've been dying to go back ever since! This time, I took my husband and we spent two nights in the Carriage House. It was so lovely, quiet and fun! Chip & Betsy are the absolute best hosts! The brunches were amazing (thanks, Chip!) and Betsy is just the loveliest person. We did the Asbury Park Restaurant Tour on April 27th, which was incredible! What a way to truly experience all of Asbury Park. Of course, we utilized the inn's bikes all weekend and found some new local favorites. We loved staying here and would HIGHLY recommend it for your Jersey Shore weekend getaway. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: The Ocean Spa wasn't available on such short notice, but the sauna and jacuzzi in that suite are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsburyOceanBeachInn, Owner at Asbury Park Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear J + N, We are so happy your enjoyed your weekend escape. It was wonderful to see you again and catch up with all that is happening. The weather cooperated too which made your favorite bike riding possible. Once again we loved seeing you. Best, Betsy + Chip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
59
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waldwick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I must start by saying that all of the positive feedback you'll read in the reviews on the Asbury Ocean Bech Inn are absolutely on point. The hospitality that Chip and Betsy deliver to their guests is unsurpassed and deserves more than 5 stars!! Our mornings began with a cooked-to-order breakfast of choice (gourmet I should add, as Chip is a trained chef and caterer too!) right by the fireplace in the beautiful dining room. Betsy's warm, out-of-the-oven homemade muffins topped it off! The center hall colonial inn is decorated a modern-day beach decor with comfy bedding and linens, and appealing accessories, rather than so many inns where you feel like you're at your grandma's. Chip and Betsy were also kind enough to make restaurant recommendations, assist us in setting up massage appointments, and checked in with us to ensure we were comfortable and relaxed. The afternoon snack that was delivered to our door was beyond what we expected! Most inns offer, at best, cookies or tea. We were surprised with a beautiful tray of chocolates, nuts, munchies, cheese, strawberries and an artfully designed pineapple that kept us more than full after our long day in town. When my boyfriend came down with a nasty stomach bug during our stay, Chip and Betsy took extra good care of us and brought us sodas, broth, crackers, and anything else we needed until he felt better.
If you're curious about the rooms, you can't go wrong with any of them! We had the carriage house which is a detached private apartment that made us feel like we were at more than just a B&B. Perfectly appointed is an understatement!!!
The Asbury Ocean Beach Inn is a MUST-VISIT!! You will surely miss out on a wonderful getaway if you do not visit Chip and Betsy's beautiful inn and get to meet two warm and wonderful hosts who will deliver a level of hospitality that rarely exists these days. We left feeling like family and will be back again many times to come. Thank you, Chip and Betsy, so very much for making our visit unforgettable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy O, Owner at Asbury Park Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear S,

Your generous review felt like a big hug! We are thrilled you enjoyed your weekend with us and please know it was an absolute pleasure having you visit. You two are very special people and we certainly would love to see you both again.

Best, Betsy + Chip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I took a long weekend away from the city at the end of January/beginning of February. Asbury Ocean Beach Inn was recommended to us by a friend, and I'm so glad it was! We stayed in the Carriage House, which is a detached bungalow behind the B&B, so we had lots of privacy. It was comfortable and homey: luxury without pretension. Betsy and Chip were loving hosts, and they gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations. It felt like staying at your favorite aunt and uncle's house without the family obligation.

The only drawback was that the Carriage House is heated by two small heaters, and the weekend was cold enough to push those heaters to their limits. Any other time of year that wouldn't be a concern.

We will definitely be returning, hopefully during the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chip B, Owner at Asbury Park Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We enjoyed having you two stay with us. You are right that it was super cold the weekend you were here but we are glad we could give you the privacy upgrade to the Carriage House. We will investigate another heating source for our winter guests - your point is well taken. Your comment about how quiet it is is something we hear a lot of - especially from fellow New Yorkers. FYI: the pkg of the item you left is being mailed today! Enjoy the rest of your winter and we hope to see you again. Best, Betsy + Chip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Chip and Betsy, the owners of this charming B&B have done an outstanding job with the decor, the food, the ambiance, the charm, and are wonderful hosts.

Came for a girls weekend for the Light of Day festival January 2014 and were not sure what to expect. When we pulled up we knew we were immediately taken with the charm of the house itself, which was still decorated with lights from the Christmas season.

Betsy greeted us at the front door, so welcoming and accomodating our every need.

The breakfast both mornings was to die for! Chip definitely knows his stuff - keep an eye out for his upcoming cookbook - we couldn't get the recipe out of Betsy for the Breakfast Pudding, but I know it will be in there!

We stayed in the Carriage House, and the decor was beautiful - bright and cheerful and tasteful. Queen bed in bedroom and double bed in pullout couch - both very comfy. Bathroom small but had everything we needed and more!

We walked everywhere we needed to go - the Paramount, downtown shops and galleries, restaurants and clubs, church, movie theater, boardwalk and beach if it had been warmer!

Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: They do have cats, so if you are allergic, stay in the carriage house. We did see all the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy O, Owner at Asbury Park Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We are thrilled you both enjoyed your visit. Chip is very glad you appreciated the breakfast pudding and he is considering including the recipe in his cookbook:) We hope you both can visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

A friend had a wedding for 54 people here and it was wonderful, comfortable with a touch of elegance. The owners are truly welcoming. I have stayed in Bed and Breakfasts where the hospitality is false or perhaps wears a little thin. Betsy goes out of her way to make you feel welcome, even several days into the wedding experience! The food is really great, out of the ordinary. It is a remarkable place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klrklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betsy O, Owner at Asbury Park Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Kathy, Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself and we in turn enjoyed meeting you! What a wonderful and very special group of people you are a part of. Hopefully you relaxed a bit after the festivities and had a safe trip home. Best, Betsy and Chip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Inn owners Chip and Betsy provided hospitality that is rarely found in the world anymore and after five days was practically in tears to leave. The inn is incredibly charming and thoughtfully decorated, I could have stayed in my room forever and only come out for breakfast. The location can't be beat, everything is walking distance, from the Boardwalk to Cookman, for coffee, shopping, and happy hour. Having stayed at several other local properties, Asbury Ocean Beach Inn is by far the best for it's comprehensive vacation experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This place is amazing. It is by far the most wonderful experience I have ever had at a bed and breakfast or hotel. Betsy, the owner and host was was so kind,interesting, and informative - but not intrusive in any way. She offered to go out and pick up food and wine for us. She also brought us a wonderful tray of cheese, buts, crackers olives and fruit Saturday evening. Our room was spacious with an amazing bed, sitting area, jacuzi and sauna. Great towels and robes. We decided to enjoy the room and make this a mini retreat rather than go out to eat and see a show. After a run on the boardwalk in the morning, I came back to the smell of the most delicious home fires I ever tasted. Breakfast was plentiful, with eggs, pancakes, homemade muffins and just about anything else you could want. We were very lucky as we were there off season and the only ones in the dining room with a lit fireplace. Beyond all the great things we can only try to describe, there was this feeling of being in a place with a host that could easily be called a friend. We were made to feel very special. Many thanks to Betsy (we did not meet Chip - hopefully next time) because it was exactly what we needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.6 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
66 reviews
3.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oceanic Inn
Oceanic Inn
#5 of 6 in Asbury Park
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asbury Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asbury Park Inn

Property: Asbury Park Inn
Address: 404 Asbury Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-6103 (Formerly Asbury Ocean Beach Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asbury Park Inn is a restored Victorian home conveniently located within walking distance to the beach, boardwalk and downtown Asbury Park restaurants, galleries and shops. Gourmet cooked to order breakfast, two beach passes per suite; beach towels, umbrellas, beach chairs; wifi; premium cable; library and more! Additional amenities & activities: Swimming, Surfing, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Massage, Cycling, Playground & Splash Park, Antiquing, Live Theater, Independent Cinema, Restaurants, Bars, Miniature Golf, Sight Seeing, Shopping ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asbury Ocean Beach Hotel Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing