We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal.”
Review of Asbury Park Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asbury Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Asbury Park Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Asbury Park B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is by far the best guest experience available, anywhere. I have stayed in hotels in dozens of countries on 4 continents, and seen the pointlessly opulent excess of your typical 4-star digs, but never have I had the pleasure of staying somewhere so thoroughly well thought out and lovingly run as the Inn.

From the delicious (and, brilliantly, seasonally-appropriate) smells which greets you when you first enter, to the cultivated art and book selection, to what seems the smallest detail in decor and lighting, I believe that every aspect of this hotel was tenderly crafted and then scientifically engineered to produce the best possible feelings of welcome, comfort, and satisfaction.

There can only be one explanation for such care and subtle distinctions as are found here, and that is plain as day from the moment you set foot in the Asbury Ocean Beach Inn - its proprietors, Betsy and Chip, are the magic ingredient.

At the outset of this historic endeavor in the storied and exalted history of hospitality, they must have turned inwards on some sort of modern vision quest, and, pressing through the profound mysteries of the nature of the human sense of place, our ability to distinguish between "self" and "others", and grappling with their own struggles to finally derive a single, unified theory of aesthetics, the culinary arts, and philosophy, finally emerged on the other side of the looking glass, victorious, burning with the fire of a wisdom newly stolen from prometheus on behalf of mankind: a perspective which would allow them to create a place of almost unfathomable precision, a place which will fit you the way a key fits a lock.

It seems their sense of service stems from a deep well of sincere pleasure in caring for others who are far from home. We were several hours late, yet - arriving at 1am - we were graciously received and attended to. I was completely blown away by the "fruit art" brought to our room every day and the numerous conveniences present to help us make the most of our stay. However, I'll leave exploring the remaining abundant examples as an exercise to you, the next guest at this superlative establishment. You made the right choice to stay here (surely you did, didn't you?).

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsburyOceanBeachInn, Owner at Asbury Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Stephen,

We are deeply grateful for your detailed review.

Your thoughtful comments are so appreciated and
mean a great deal to us. Thank you also for recognizing
the time, care and attention to detail we have taken in creating
the Asbury Ocean Beach Inn. Our guests' comfort and enjoyment
are paramount.

Although you live far away we do hope you two can visit
us again the near future.

Thank you again and best wishes for a Happy and Healthy New Year.

Betsy & Chip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 141 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

This beautiful little place is two blocks from the ocean and board walk, two blocks from a happening downtown, pet friendly, has a chef prepared breakfast, fire place, wifi and quiet areas to veg in your own room or in the den. How can a place have everything you have ever wanted? Because everything has been prepared lovingly and with good nature. This is what positive energy does to a place and the vision to have a place that you can pour your heart into. The best part, it's only 90 minutes from Philadelphia.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely. only one allows for pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilaMent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I am not sure where to start... the entire experience was wonderful - Betsy and Chip's hospitality is beyond standards and exceeded our expectations... Chip is a fenomenal chef - his omelet is a delicious piece of art (a huge one). Betsy's home-made muffins with raspberries are to die for... Beautiful place, excellent decor, close to the beach, fenomenal food, very comfofratble pillows (sleeping on the cloud feeling)...we didn't want to leave.
I wish we could spend more time in Asbury Ocean Beach Inn... Ally and Mark

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We love AOBI so much we came back this Fall and bought our dear friends with their 3 year old daughter!! Chip and Betsey are true gems and the most gracious hosts. The Inn is impeccable; you can feel how much love went into each and every detail of the house and each room. Chip's breakfast is so fabulously decadent. I had to indicate half-portions on my second morning because the portions are so generous that I couldn't finish them. Over all, we adore the AOBI and we're planning on coming back real soon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimyung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

One of the nicest B&Bs I've ever stayed in. Lovely appointed and impeccably clean suites with sitting rooms with extra beds, so it was easy for three of us to share a suite. Within walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do in Asbury Park -- boardwalk, restaurants, theaters, cinema, and bars & music clubs. The breakfast and evening snacks were generous and scrumptious, and our hosts Chip & Betsy couldn't have been more helpful, accommodating, or gracious! They even had bicycles to borrow to see more of the resort town. The off-season rates are a bargain, and even the summer rates, split by two or more people, are a great value. I look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThorNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Imagine that the cool kids from high school picked you up from the train station and treated you like a long lost friend. Pretty good, right? Now imagine that you're staying at their beautiful (and beautifully decorated) victorian house which is a short walk to the ocean in iconic Asbury Park. They bake you fresh cookies and muffins every day, they feed you an incredible breakfast in the morning, give you beach passes, restaurant recommendations, and lend you bikes. Not only that - they iron the sheets you sleep on! THEY IRON THE SHEETS!! I've been lucky enough to stay at a few four/five star hotels - Inn at the Market in Seattle, The Carlyle in NYC and Hotel Grande Bretagne in Athens and honestly, I was more comfortable and cared for at Asbury Ocean Beach Inn. Chip is a fabulous chef, Betsy is a wonderful host and I fell in love with their home which they generously share. If only high school could have been like this!!

PS - I have terrible, terrible back problems and I slept like a baby in a bed that was like butter.

Room Tip: I got a chance to see all the rooms and they are all winners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

It is a first class experience at this B&B in Asbury. It’s in a great location around the block from Cookman and very close to the boardwalk/beach. Beautiful Victorian home owned and operated by a lovely couple. The breakfast is for real restaurant worthy. You'd love it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickPastula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.4 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
70 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
677 reviews
6.1 mi away
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asbury Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asbury Park Inn

Address: 404 Asbury Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-6103 (Formerly Asbury Ocean Beach Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Asbury Park
Price Range: $187 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asbury Park Inn is a restored Victorian home conveniently located within walking distance to the beach, boardwalk and downtown Asbury Park restaurants, galleries and shops. Gourmet cooked to order breakfast, two beach passes per suite; beach towels, umbrellas, beach chairs; wifi; premium cable; library and more! Additional amenities & activities: Swimming, Surfing, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Massage, Cycling, Playground & Splash Park, Antiquing, Live Theater, Independent Cinema, Restaurants, Bars, Miniature Golf, Sight Seeing, Shopping ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Asbury Ocean Beach Hotel Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing