We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Tides
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Mt. Laurel, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed at the Tides for one night last Saturday. Even though the weather was horrible, the stay was terrific. It reminds me of a boutique hotel that I go to in South Beach. Weather permitting they have a pool party on Saturday and Sunday afternoon. The full service bar also serves as the breakfast area for a very nice continental breakfast in the mornings. You can also sit out on the large veranda portch. While the lobby was quite lively (social not partying) when we returned in the evening, our room was right above it and we heard nothing. The neighborhood appears to be in transition, but in fact I had no concerns about walking the 2-3 blocks to the beach. It is what adds character to the whole experience. I have to recommend Bistro Ole for dinner and Mattison Park for cocktails. Also check The Stone Pony to see what concerts are going on. Asbury Park is definitely THE trendiest beachtown in NJ. Highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank crunkll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Good:
Great staff, impeccably decorated and furnished, friendly boutique feel, quiet area.

Bad:
Pet friendly means dogs barking until late hours of night while their owners are out partying. Cleanliness of room bathrooms was a bit lacking. Residential neighborhood seems ok, but some very shady parts of Asbury Park less than half mile from the hotel.

Neutral:
This hotel caters to the gay community - of the 8 groups we saw staying here, 6 were gay couples. This wasn't obvious to us until we arrived, and we initially felt a little out of place with our 4 year old. But both staff and guests were great and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpsNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

Love love love Hotel Tides!
First of all it's my favorite hotel by far on the Jersey Shore, nothing else even compares! When you walk in they make you feel like you're the most important person in their hotel (that's customer service).
Chris is the bartender who is adorable and corky, he'll literally do anything for you to make your experience enjoyable. They also brought out a huge tray of cheese and fruit while my husband and his friend we're drinking their beers at the bar.
It's swanky, yet you're wearing sandals and sitting on their porch. Also they have a spa and gorgeous pool to sit around.
The art is impeccable, you have to just come and see it even if you live near by!

Helpful?
Thank livineasystill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for the weekend so we looked into going to Long Island (North Fork) or New Paltz so we could do something a little close to home, but a little far away with lots of activities we had never done before. I suggested Asbury Park (we live a half an hour away) so that we could save on travel time and explore some of the things right here in New Jersey. What a great idea.

We went back and forth for a week about staying at a hotel, an inn or a B & B. We both wanted the quaint, personal feel of an inn or Bed and Breakfast, but the amenities of a hotel (and the chic ambiance). We got both at the Hotel Tides. The hotel (which the proprietor told us has been operating since at least the 1920s) was completely renovated in the last three years (and boy did they do a great job). There is a little "zen" section up front where you can sit and put your feet up, a converted 'cooks quarters' into a spa and a great pool (complete w/ a 7 foot statue of a mermaid pouring water over herself w/ a conch shell!) The bar is awesome (no well liquor at all) and very fairly priced. Our whole bar tab for the two nights (beyond dinner) was 65$ and we were drinking whiskey, bourban, martinis...

The restaurant (which is a mix of French and French Colony Spices like Morocco) is terrific. We were there on the first night that it opened so we had the limited, price fix menu (26$!) and enjoyed every single course immensely. The salmon was amazing (and was a gigantic piece-my boyfriend couldn't even finish it and that's saying something). The proprietor came to our table and, when we asked him a million questions about the place, he gave us the whole background, history, and story of the renovation. So great!

We loved everyone who worked there because they were so accommodating. It felt like you were staying at a friends house, only much more chic and clean. They made great suggestsions for places to dine and didn't mind when we kept our bikes on the porch. They serve a complimentary continental breakfast every morning (w/ fresh fruit, granola, fresh bagels) and you can eat it on the porch which is wide open and relaxing.

We absolutely loved this place and will definitely go back well into the fall months. In fact, I sort of think of it as "our place". Definitely go! The prices are so reasonable and the service is impeccable. You won't be disappointed. Unless, of course, you are one of those people who always find faults, but honestly, you'll have trouble finding any here. Enjoy!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Weeneew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

The Tides is a great place to stay! It's a few blocks from the beach, in a residential area, and has great rooms, with stylish details. We stayed there in the early spring (off season) and then again this past weekend. Bed is super comfy, bathrooms are great, clean, and they have an awesome pool!! The staff was very friendly (they even gave me a bottle of wine & glasses in room for my birthday!) They have breakfast and you can sit on the nice porch, there's art in the lobby--just a great place overall! I would highly recommend it. We will totally stay there again and again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djbabyspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

This boutique hotel exceeded our expectations, which from the street appears to be a residential-looking bed and breakfast. Although the outside seemed rather basic and non-assuming, it was immediately contrasted by the interior decorum once we walked through the glass front doors. Much to our delight the lobby set the tone for the rest of the hotel, which is chic, hip and inviting. One can't help but notice the attention given to detail, evident in the use of tile and modern design throughout the hotel, as well as the small touches of comfort found in the leather bar stools, the flat-screen tvs in the rooms with leather headboards, along with a wonderful zen art exhibit, which added an extra touch of tranquility and relaxation. Although the walls are somewhat thin and you can easily hear those talking in the hallways (and occassionally a barking dog in someone's room), and the hotel rooms are slightly small, this hotel was a great find!!! All the staff were really friendly and helpful. The front desk employee, Carl, added to our wonderful stay--he was super accomodating and eager to help. He demonstrated going the extra mile and made a lasting impressiong! GREAT customer service!!! We plan to return...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarmagirlPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.3 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Asbury Park
Super 8 Asbury Park
#6 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Long Branch
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#1 of 3 in West Long Branch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tides

Property: Hotel Tides
Address: 408 7th Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-5416
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Tides 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides Hotel Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing