We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big House Bliss”

Mikell's Big House B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asbury Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mikell's Big House B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Asbury Park B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Big House Bliss”
Reviewed September 7, 2010

This exceptionally clean bright beautiful B&B exceeded all expectations for a blissful 3-day holiday weekend stay. Warmth and generosity abounds in the size and quality of the public and private rooms, gourmet breakfasts, happy hour porch party (Saturday), beach tags and towels, house policies (incl. very late check-out on a spectacular beach day and owner Mikell's assist with best dinner reservations). Same can be said for the interaction with other Big House guests who were lively and diverse crowd - and Theo, Mikell's wonderful house dog. The owner's attention added much value to our weekend get-away to Asbury Park. We are BIG fans!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2010

This was our first time to Asbury Park and we can't wait to go back. It's fabulous and was only an hour drive from our house. The house is fantastic with modern eclectic furnishings. The rooms are big and very clean (our closet could have been a hotel room in NYC.) Mikell is an outstanding innkeeper. She knows the area and the places to go and not to go. She worked very hard at making everyone feel comfortable and have a wonderful time. We had such a great time at the porch party as well as congregating around the kitchen talking about the previous nights festivities and the days upcoming events. The location of Mikell's house is the perfect spot for everything. The house is close to the gay beach and the gay bars/clubs. Mikell even goes out of her way to make sure you have a fantastic time at restaurants she recommends and gets reservations for (on Labor Day weekend.) We highly recommend this fabulous B&B!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rufus0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Mikell's bed and breakfast is inviting, warm, caring, quiet, and fun...........
What more can you ask for in a bed and breakfast?

Mikell's Big House is located in Asbury Park, New Jersey.
It 5 minute cab ride from the Asbury Park, New Jersey transit station.
Mikell’s Big House is only a 5-minute walk to the boardwalk and the beach.

The house is a huge newly renovated Victorian home with a wrap around porch.
It is very clean and very quaint.
It is located on a quiet block, and only a 5-minute walk to Asbury Park's main attractions on the beach and boardwalk.

While the house is very quaint on the outside, it is like a trendy Soho art gallery on the inside. With furniture and art pieces that are very appealing to the eye.

The rooms are big and kept immaculately clean.
Each room is done in a different style and so each is quiet unique.
On the top floor there is an apartment to rent with a living room, master bedroom, a terrace, and sundeck over looking the ocean. The other rooms are big with a lot of natural lighting from the outside. The beds are comfortable and the furniture new and modern.
Each room has a flat screen TV, a DVD, and cable.

The kitchen where breakfast is served, is big and clean.
It is served from 9AM to 11AM everyday.
Breakfast is a very social event.
The kitchen has island in the middle that the guests sit around while your lovely hostess, Mikell cooks breakfast right in front of you, chatting you up. This set up also allows you to sit around this huge kitchen island and meet the other hotel guests.
If you want a quieter breakfast you can also eat out on the porch, as Mikell has table and chairs out there. Mikell has the usual amenities of the continental breakfast like cereal, fresh fruits, bagels, muffins, and yogurt, but Mikell also cooks a ton of hot food right in front of you. She is an excellent cook, and her breakfast menu changes everyday.
You will go away from breakfast feeling very satisfied.

I think what makes the stay special though, is the hostess herself.
Mikell is a warm and inviting person.
She really goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable and like you are in your own home. She is treasure trove of information of where to go and where not to go in Asbury Park. She knows all the little tips to tell you, to make your vacation fun and sweet.
She readily shares this information, and can give you accurate directions to go anywhere in Asbury Park or the surrounding towns. Mikell is also a expert on the history of Asbury Park going back the late 1800's to the present, so you will really get a good feel of the town, if your interested in information of that nature.

Mikell also hosts a happy hour on her porch every Saturday evening.
She has free wine and beer and delicious snacks to munch on.
She invites her local friends who are very friendly to this party, and all the guests staying at the B&B. It so much fun to sit on the porch, drink, eat, and get to meet new people.
You also get a lovely breeze from the ocean sitting on the porch.
Mikell has two cats and one friendly dog. So if you love pets, you are going to love getting to meet them. As an animal lover, that was an added bonus to my trip.

Mikell is gay friendly, and when I was there, they were several gay couples staying there as well. Asbury Park is a gay friendly town, and it is two big gay clubs to go to at night.

Asbury is only two hours away from New York City by train or car.
I would highly, highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit Asbury Park.
It is like staying home, away from home.
Mikell said she is open year round, and has guests coming to her year round.
So if you want to get away from the big city, Mikell’s place is the place to go.
I look forward to going back there again☺

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubilee275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

The reviews say it all about the beauty, uniqueness and cleanliness of Mikell's Big House. The decor is wonderful and the rooms are well kept, interesting and truly unique. The food is also excellent. However, there are some areas for improvement:
-- The neighborhood is still undergoing some change so coming back to Mikell's at night should not be done alone late (or at least if you do come via cab). I noticed a neighbor standing watching me as I came in one evening. Mikell also seems super vigilant and involved which may be the reason she can come across as overbearing; I think she is trying to ensure her guests are okay.
-- Mikell is a very warm and outgoing host who outdoes herself to ensure guests are enjoying themselves. It can be a little overwhelming if you're a person who wants to keep to themselves so know that before you stay here. As noted by other guests, she has group gatherings and communal breakfasts, if that isn't your thing, consider another place.
- Due to the groups, as some already noted, it can get LOUD depending on the guests and the group breakfast in the mornings, so if you're not an early riser - bring earplugs.

In time hopefully the neighborhood and therefore the sensitivity of the space/host will continue to improve as this is truly a unique escape with a lot of potential.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This a beautiful, well decorated B&B but the host expects you to play your part with her numerous social expectations--breakfasts, porch social etc.

One such example was on Sunday morning, loud music was played in the kitchen starting at 9:30AM. When it was brought to Mikell's attention, that people were sleeping in two guest rooms directly above on the second floor, this was not a concern because *most* guests were already awake.

Being more aware of how noise impact the guest rooms would be ideal. Carpeting in the halls would also probably help keep the sound from echoing.

As many of the reviews suggest many people loved the experience here. It depends on how much scheduling you are looking for on a vacation or weekend holiday.

This new B&B seems to have great potential however it still apparent that it's not run by a seasoned owner. Guests should be allowed guests to enjoy their own experience not be forced to accommodate to someone else's social expectations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

As soon as you arrive to Mikells and meet her you feel right at home. She gave us a map of Asbury will all the best and coolest stuff to see. After a tour of the house, we were showed our room which by the way was FANTASTIC! Big comfy room, big comfy bed, big comfy chair! It was the perfect escape and that night we had a party on the porch and drank LOTS of wine. You felt like family and thats a rare thing to find. Mikell was an excellent hostess and made thee BIGGEST bestest breakfast we've ever had. She provided beach tags, towels, chairs, and you need not to worry. We found our HOME AWAY FROM HOME and will continue to visit time and again. WE LOVE MIKELLS BIG HOUSE!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaSiren204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We escaped last 4th of July to Mikell's for the first time . . . and it will NOT be our last! This is no typical b&b - no lace, no pretense - funky, comfy, fabulous, AMAZING FOOD. Mikell made us feel totally at home and hosted a wine and cheese gathering for her guests on Saturday which by the end had us all feeling like a big tipsy family - and not the dysfunctional, tense kind! Quite the opposite! She knew EVERYTHING there was to know about the area and set us up with dinner reservations at places she deduced we would enjoy by asking us what we like. Plus she provided towels, beach chairs and beach tags. We literally had to show up ... and that is it! We were hoping to return this 4th of July but sadly can not ... however, Mikell's is ALWAYS on our radar for a quick and relaxing weekend away from NYC! I couldn't more highly recommend a place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asbury Park
0.2 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tides
Hotel Tides
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Neptune/Wall
0.3 mi away
Oceanic Inn
Oceanic Inn
#5 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikell's Big House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikell's Big House B&B

Property: Mikell's Big House B&B
Address: 405 4th Ave, Asbury Park, NJ 07712-6007
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Asbury Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Asbury Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mikell`s Big House Hotel Asbury Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing