We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Hacienda in beautiful countryside setting...”
Review of Hacienda Castilla

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Castilla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

hacienda castilla located outside Pereira is a beautiful colonial style home with spacious, immaculate room/suites, lavish grounds, inviting pool and exceptionally accommodating staff, many of them family members who have lived in coffee area for decades... they offer all meals, all cooked fresh using local produce by the daughter of owner -- all three dinners: delicious!!! you'll need a car to get here, but want one to tour the coffee plantations in surrounding area. a don't miss in Colombia...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Castilla
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our group of 15 took the whole place. Rooms were very large, clean, and comfortable. toilet & shower in small bath area with sink in the room. Pool was refreshing after day of touring. Seemed far out of "town" but we were there to see the coffee plantations. So really did not matter. The meals were adequate, not culinary. Convenience store right outside.

Room Tip: All rooms looked the same as far as I could tell, opening into a central courtyard.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tvlbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in room 6 at the Hacienda Castilla as part of a group tour of the coffee triangle area. The property is a charming hacienda with 10 rooms around a common courtyard. Our group occupied the entire property for 3 nights. The rooms had simple, but comfortable furnishings. My room had 2 single beds, a lockable clothes wardrobe, a small refrigerator and a flat screen TV (which I never used). The bathroom was pleasantly decorated and had a large shower. All of the rooms have ceiling fans, but mine wasn't working properly and the hacienda is not air conditioned. However, the staff brought me a standing fan, which cooled the room nicely. There are screens on the windows, to let in the fresh air, as well as heavy shutters that can be closed to make the room quite dark at night.

The area isn't as remote as I was led to believe, being only a few blocks away from a main road. However, there isn't much in the immediate area except for a small grocery store, which also sells alcohol to go, as well as snacks. In spite of being a few blocks from the road, the rooms were very quiet at night.

There are a number of rocking chairs, tables and hammocks under the covered areas of the property where one can relax or socialize. There are also couches, chairs and tables in the internal courtyard area. We had dinner in this area one night, which was very good. There is also a small pool and lovely grounds. Breakfasts were good and plentiful. The fresh mangoes were especially good.

The wi-fi worked better in the common areas than in the rooms, but was fast enough to make a call home via Skype.

The staff was friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make you feel at home. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aschneider703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Hacienda Castilla is set outside of the city center but is within walking distance to a grocery store. Rooms are rustic but comfortable. Each room has a flat screen TV, but at the time of my visit there were no English news channels available. The owner said that she would contact Direct TV about adding more English channels. Bathrooms are small but have everything you need but a bath tub, showers only. No airconditioning but ceiling fans. Windows don't have glass but screens and wooden shutters, very authentico! Breakfast was served in an eat-in kithchen or out in the courtyard. Food and service were both very good. The hacienda offered free WIFI but there wasn't a computer available if you did not have your own. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and there is a nice pool. Evening meals were served by the pool and again food and service were both very good. This is a great place to relax while visiting the area around Periera, Salento, and Cocora.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank alexandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank Henrique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Estefanía R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pereira hotels
1.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Pereira
Sonesta Hotel Pereira
#2 of 30 in Pereira
1,336 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Colina Hotel Spa
La Colina Hotel Spa
#3 of 30 in Pereira
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
El Lugar Boutique Hotel
El Lugar Boutique Hotel
#7 of 30 in Pereira
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel GHL Abadia Plaza
Hotel GHL Abadia Plaza
#1 of 30 in Pereira
220 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Visus Spa
Hotel Visus Spa
#14 of 30 in Pereira
39 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sazagua - Hotel Boutique - Gastronomia - Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Castilla

Address: Km. 10 Via Pereira - Cerritos, Pereira 660017, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Risaralda Department > Pereira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Pereira
Price Range: $83 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hacienda Castilla 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
En el corazón de la zona cafetera, kilometro 10, vía Pereira – Cerritos, se encuentra la exclusiva Casa de Huéspedes de la Hacienda Castilla, casona de arquitectura caucana, adaptada como hotel para su alojamiento, que con su tapial, amplios corredores y zaguanes, altos techos, ventanas balaustradas, patio y fuente con claustro, evocan el sabor de la Colonia. Toda esta historia está rodeada de 10.000 metros cuadrados de zonas verdes con viejos mangos, mandarinos, naranjos, nísperos, liches, zapotes y guayabas que le harán sentir la atmósfera del campo, de la cosecha y del turismo. Todo esto para que usted disfrute de una inolvidable estadía llena de unión con la naturaleza y la historia. Una Casa destino, hay que conocerla ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hacienda Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing