We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finca Villa Martha

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pereira
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Villa Martha
Ranked #19 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Pereira
Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place to stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you want to experience the real thing in the coffee triangle in Columbia, stay at Finca Villa Martha. This lovely finca with a stunning garden, annexe swimming pool, is a lifetime experience to stay at. Enjoy the humming birds drinking the sweet water at the door of your room ! Experience the unsurpassed coffee, harvested on the finace plantation and roasted at the villa. Immerse yourself in the silence and beauty of the views from your bedroom window. English spoken !

Room Tip: The Villa Martha will be closed from September 2013 onwards for refurbishment : please check availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonN2EURO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just a few few kilometers outside Pereira, the Capital of Risaralda Department, you can find this very nice and calm Place. We've had the luck to be picked up from the Airport of Pereira by the new Owner and his Girlfriend, fantastic service right from the start :-) We felt very welcome during our stay, as you will not find more caring Hosts and Staff! The Finca offers spacy, comfortable and clean accommodation. The food was excellent, right at a very good Chef-Level. The surrounding is simply AMAZING: Coffee, Bananas, Bamboo.....not to forget the hummingbirds on the premise: unbelievable....
We were also introduced to the coffee production process and surely have taken some of this home for a good brew :-).
As there will be a big makeover and refurbishment of the Place, you may get in contact about the reopening schedule. We will DEFINITELY go back there when it's been reopened !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hummel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

La Finca has recently changed the owner so we were little bit worried, that the hospitality might not be that good as it used to be BUT fortunately it was not the case. Jon and his Colombian girlfriend are amazing couple and together with their employees they will make sure that you will feel like at home. The place is just great, full of birds, nice rooms, great pool. They have also bought a property where they took us with their massive jeep and where they showed us the process of coffee production. Later we came back to La Finca where we toasted and grind the coffee.
Food was very delicious, Jon even made us really good English breakfast. The price for what they offer is unbeatable. They are planning to do some constructions to make the place even better so try to call ahead before you come. We will definitely come back in the future to see if their great and ambitious ideas go to reality!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived at Villa Martha after an almost 6 hour trip by car from Medellin, tired & hungry. Don Rafael and Dona Martha (and their 3 eager dogs) received us with the warmest of smiles and the biggest of dinners, no matter that we arrived after 10 o'clock at night.
Ou room was spacious and clean, the shower had hot water. Upon awakening we got out to the veranda and were awed by gorgeous views of the big and immaculate swimmingpool, the lush gardens and a closeby mountain range. Breakfasts (and dinners) were big and hearthy and prepared by the hosts themselves: eggs served over tasty lentils, fried plantains, delicious fruits (the pineapple is unbelievably sweet & juicy), arepa, fresly brewed coffee, tea or hot chocolate, a different freshly pressed juice at every meal. No need for lunch :)
Don Rafael feeds the birds with lots of bananas and sugarwater and one can sit for a good time at the cozy and rustic veranda looking at lots of different birds. The exotic 'baranquero' with it's blue head and elegant tail was a thing to behold: not very timid he took impertinent beakfuls out of the bananas and regularly 'froze' as if posing or looked undauntedly at us with his red eyes.
The dogs were very affectionate. Don Rafael gave us an interesting demonstration of how he treats his own coffe beans. And indeed, his coffee is very good! This place would be super to come to with a bigger group.
Best of all are don Rafael and Dona Martha, the sweetest & most hospitable hosts ever, and their friendly employees! Muchas gracias Don Rafael y Dona Martha por su gran amabilidad y servicio y sus deliciosos desayunos y cenas! Esperamos verlos de nuevo, un abrazo de Marcel y Elsbeth (de Curazao).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Martha and Rafael have created a warm and welcoming villa in the heart of the beautiful countryside near Pereira. You will be welcomed by the cutest and friendliest resident dogs.
The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The grounds of the villa are lush with vegetation that attracts birds including hummingbirds by the dozens.
The best part of our stay is the hospitality and warmth of Martha and Rafael. They make you feel like family instantly and work in concert to create the most delicious meals. Rafael took time to show us the entire process of coffee production which is very interesting.
We were very fortunate to have a Spanish speaker with us otherwise communication would have been difficult. All the more reason I need to learn Spanish so that I can continue my travels in Central and South America.

Room Tip: Rooms by the hummingbird feeders
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stone0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival at Pereira airport we phoned Finca Villa Martha to check whether they had a room. Fortunately they had one, told us how much a taxi should cost and gave the driver instructions how to get there.

We were welcomed very friendly by Martha and Rafael. Of course we first took a cup of piping hot arabica coffee. The best we've had in Colombia. Rafael has all the equipment for preparing the beans and is glad to give a demonstration how the to get coffee from the beans. Not to be missed as you are in the zona cafetera.

The finca is a big place with a swimming pool. It's well maintained. The rooms are made from brick and bamboo. They are spacious, clean and have perfect (hot) showers. There are also hammocks. Great views on the mountains right from your front door.

All the meals are prepared with care (breakfast and dinner are included in the price, as well as fruits, water and coffee). The portions are huge. This place scores high on quality versus price. What really makes this places special is that Rafael en Martha are very friendly and helpful. They arranged a driver (very friendly Lucia that speaks quite some English) for us that showed us around for two days. Valle de Cocora is a must see.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank I&P-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The coffe farm is nested on the most beautiful mountains of Colombia. Don Rafa grows his own cofee, you will see the entire process and enjoy as many cups as you want. Make sure you drink it tinto with panela, this is without all the cream and processed sugar we have to add to make test ok. Plan on a day to do nothing around the finca and let the owners spoil you with fresh
fruit and relax by the pool. Then visit the parque internacional de el Cafe, el valle de el Cocora, Salento ( you can buy hand made stuff), YOUR GPS Works! so you do not have to to stay on the phone to get directions. It feels like I finally got home to my loving family! enjoy. Rafa y Martha los amo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pereira
1.1 mi away
La Colina Hotel Spa
La Colina Hotel Spa
#3 of 29 in Pereira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sonesta Hotel Pereira
Sonesta Hotel Pereira
#1 of 29 in Pereira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Finca del Cafe
Hotel Finca del Cafe
#1 of 8 in Santa Rosa de Cabal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hotel Visus Spa
Hotel Visus Spa
#13 of 29 in Pereira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
9.2 mi away
Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal - Hotel
Termales Santa Rosa de Cabal - H...
#2 of 8 in Santa Rosa de Cabal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
3.5 mi away
Finca Hotel Villa Ilusion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Villa Martha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Villa Martha

Property: Finca Villa Martha
Address: Vereda Combia, Via la convencion, Pereira, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Risaralda Department > Pereira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Pereira
Hotel Class:3 star — Finca Villa Martha 3*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing