We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Number One in Medellin!”

La Cafetiere de Anita
Ranked #117 of 1,160 Restaurants in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Our Number One in Medellin!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

During our ten day stay in Medellin, my husband and I ate in quite a few restaurants - many from the top ten Trip Advisor list. On our last night we were tired and didn't want to go any where far from our hotel. The Desk Clerk recommended La Cafetiere de Anita which was a short walk from our hotel. We absolutely LOVED the place!! Extensive wine list at reasonable prices and fabulous food. We decided on several appetizers in loo of a large dinner. The appetizers were huge and delicious....ravioli with lobster, hot Brie cheese with tomatoes, lettuce hearts with infused pears, hot blue cheese salad and crispy squid. I forded myself to have dessert, cream broulle - omg...I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

On returning to the hotel, I checked TripAdvisor and was stunned that this incredible restaurant was rated number 53!?! How unfair! This was definitely the best meal we had in Medellin and one of the best we've had in recent memory.

If you are in Medellin, I hope you follow my advise and have at least one meal here. Just remember, there is a dress code and shorts are not allowed. A small price to pay for a memorable meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HolyCrossSanPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    38
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It has been 2 years since we were last year and thankfully the standards have not dropped. I had the steak with the béarnaise sauce and my wife had the steak with the blue cheese sauce. Both were served with French fries and a freshly backed small loaf of bread. Everything was delicious and washed down with a glass of merlot. The wine is a very good serving unlike in other restaurants in Medellin. The meal cost COP$133,000 including tip which is pricey by Medellin standards.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishGuinness1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Would not serve us! And the place was empty.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were on vacation, in shorts. They may have had a dress code -- an understandable thing. But what we were told was we needed a reservation. THE PLACE WAS EMPTY, except for two diners. We explained we were staying at the Affinity, in the same building. They told us, they have no affiliation to the hotel. I again asked, really, we need a reservation? You're empty. The answer was, "I'm sorry." We returned after eating somewhere else, they were still empty. I guess our money wasn't good enough for them.

And if they had a dress code, they could have told us -- instead of telling us we were not welcome. I mean, this place had two customers. Maybe we were the lucky ones and the food is really terrible -- that would explain the lack of customers. That and their rudeness.

Please don't eat at this restaurant. On principle alone. They are snobs. I don't care who you think you are, but we would have spent a good amount of money in this establishment -- their loss obviously. I have to assume they will not be open for much longer with this type of attitude.

I hope Affinity and Novetel Hotels do not send their guests here. If you are staying in these hotels, take a cab and eat somewhere else. Or eat at the mall -- it won't be elegant, but at least you'll be served.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lola_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really nice food in a great setting”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is not the cheapest dining option, but food quality is excellent, as is the service. Free parking on-site

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very French”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Entrecot unforgettable!
Best in town. Should change decor from time to time. I visit many times a year. May be some live piano, soft music.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaimehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cafetiere de Anita also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to La Cafetiere de Anita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing