We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Medellin
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
David was an an exceptional guide~

We learned so much from David while enjoying yummy food and seeing the neighborhood. The link of... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
958rebekahh
Great Food Tour in El Envigado

Had a wonderful time exploring El Envigado with David. Since he is from the area, he was able to... read more

Reviewed November 29, 2019
191emilym
,
Houston, Texas
Read all 261 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Medellin
from $30.77
More Info
from $93.34
More Info
from $30.00
More Info
from $37.50
More Info
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
243
12
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
243
12
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street food tour empanadas come hungry fruits and juices food scene fantastic food tour chicharrones paisa food guide david tour takes place colombian culture favorite part local food would highly recommend this tour answered all of our questions his hometown great overview
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 261 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2019

Had a wonderful time exploring El Envigado with David. Since he is from the area, he was able to provide amazing context for the local dishes he shared. We also appreciated that he had been a city guide previously as well, so he was able to share Medellín history as well. The empanadas, arepas con queso, fruits, and churros were our favorites!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank 191emilym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina C, Manager at La Mesa Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2019

Thanks for sharing your experience here Emily. We love having you in Medellin!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2019 via mobile

First of all, David was an amazing guide and was quite fluent in english. He knew the area well and his explanations were yo the point. The empanadas were to die for. The juices were excellent and quite interesting, one was a natural viagra and another claims to cure cancer. They all tasted great. The fruits in the market were simply delish and some brought back memories from out childhood country of Kenya. The pork belly and beans were excellent especially while sipping on a cold beer. Had some aquardiente to finish off the day. David helped us find some picante we could buy to take home with us. We highly recommend the tour especially with David

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank pap111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina C, General Manager at La Mesa Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2019

Thanks for sharing your experience with David! Hope we can host you next time in Cartagena or Bogotá!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

We met with David on a bustling morning in Envigado. He took us around his hometown, introducing us to his favorite foods which ranged from sweet to savory. The selection of drinks, and small dishes will have something for everyone to enjoy. We had some amazing red beans, surprisingly much like our Southern Grandma's back in the U.S. Our favorite part was visiting the produce market, and sipping several fresh juice blends. We were intrigued by one of the local fruits (can't remember the name) which is said to be a cure for cancer if consumed 8 times a day!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Colombiatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

This was a great way to start our visit to Medellin. Good sample of street food, fruits and juices, and of course enjou some of the staples of the Piasa diet - beans and chicharrones. David was great to talk with and was super knowledgeable about the food and Medellin in general.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Curious590756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina C, Manager at La Mesa Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Thanks for sharing your experience!! love having you in our Street Food Tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our food tour with David a lot! He explained much about the different dishes but also about the city and colombian eating habits. You can feel that he's very passionat about sharing the colombian culture with us.
Eventhough I agree with other reviews that the tour price is quite high compared to other food tours I joined, I would highly recommend to book this tour!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank jenss171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lina C, General Manager at La Mesa Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2019

Hola Jens!! Thanks for sharing your experience here, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the tour. You are right you can find tour with cheaper prices but many of these don't include the same quantity of food, as well our guides receive a good rate for their job! With cheap prices is not easy to have a sustainable tourism.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews