We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy. ......”
Review of Ala Sazon - CLOSED

Ala Sazon
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“yummy. ......”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I had the opportunity to try real Arabic food from real arabic chef and guess what ??? yummy ala sazon real arabic dish

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank danielitoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alá S, Propietario at Ala Sazon, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Google Translation
Mil gracias por su visita y por sus comentarios.
En verdad nos llena de orgullo y entusiasmo el que nuestros clientes valoren y perciban todo el empeño que ponemos en cada detalle, para hacer que su experiencia en Ala Sazon sea placentera. Esperamos que nos siga visitando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    10
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Definitely not the best restaurant in Medellin”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This restaurant leapt to the #1 rating in Medellin after a bunch of new reviews appeared - all in July 2014, almost all by people who had never posted a review on Trip Advisor before.

I figured the reviews were all by 'friends and family' of the restaurant and went out of curiosity.

The restaurant is average, and does not come anywhere close to justifying the rave reviews that appeared out of nowhere on Trip Advisor.

If you want good Middle Eastern food, Tabun, just a few blocks away, is way better and is more authentic.

The service was friendly and the ambiance is nice. Our food took forever to arrive and in a party of four, my dish arrived about 15 minutes after the other three, leaving an uncomfortable wait as I encouraged my friends to eat while they waited and their food got cold.

The food itself is OK, but nothing special.

There are many better restaurants in Medellin. Tabun for Middle Eastern, Naan for Indian with some Middle Eastern dishes and In Situ in Jardin Botanico for modern Colombian.

I give the restaurant 'average' for the actual experience, but 'terrible' for getting reviews from friends that are disingenuous.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dm4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alá S, Propietario at Ala Sazon, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Google Translation
Muy buenas noches:
Ante todo les agradecemos el habernos visitado el sabado en la noche y tambien sus comentarios en trip advisor.

Lamentamos que su experiencia no haya sido placentera, y quisieramos, ademas de presentarle nuestras mas sinceras disculpas, hacer algunas aclaraciones, respecto a sus comentarios.
1. En cuanto a los comentarios sobre nuestro restaurante, efectivamente corresponden a los ultimos 2 meses, pues somos un negocio muy nuevo en la ciudad, y mas aún en trip advisor, por lo tanto, solo hasta ahora nos estan conociendo.
2. Si bien han habido comentarios de 2 ó 3 amigos, que adicionalmente son excelentes conocedores de comida arabe, y a quienes les gusta nuestra cocina, le podemos garantizar que los demas comentarios corresponden a clientes normales a quienes les ha gustado nuestra comida y han quedado satisfechos con el servicio.
3. Realmente desconocemos la experiencia de nustros clientes como críticos de trip advisor, lo único es que efectivamente, nosotras si motivamos y sugerimos a nuestra clientela a que plasmen sus opiniones.
4. El sabado 26 de julio, durante su visita, nos esmeramos en atenderlos muy bien,en cuanto a la demora, obedece a que nuestros platos se preparan al momento del pedido, así que el tiempo promedio del servicio es de 20 a 25 minutos, sin embargo eventualmente pudo haber una demora adicional, debido a la alta ocupacion que tuvimos.
5. Lamentamos que no nos hubieran manifestado sus inconformidades inmediatamente, para habernos dado la oportunidad de solucionarlas.
Esperamos de corazon, que en una proxima visita a Colombia, nos visiten y nos den la oportunidad de demostrarles porqué SI somos el restaurante N`1 en Medellín.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointed...avoid”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Well, I have been writing reviews for trip advisor for sometime. As a rule I find the reviews quite accurate. When I saw that this restaurant was the number one restaurant Medellin I just had to try it. We typically go to a competitor that also has Mediterranean food which we thoroughly enjoyed. However that restaurant was right much lower than we thought we would try this one for change. The restaurant is small and quaint. The staff is quite friendly and it seems to be family-owned and operated which I also like. Unfortunately, that is where all the positive review ends. I thought I would start with the drink of the house which is a white wine with a fruit purée in it. The drink was disappointing as it had no fruit flavor in the white wine which was used had no pizzazz either. We ordered an appetizer which was called the Tripoli. This dish offered several different traditional Mediterranean purées. These were quite good however they were served with store-bought pita bread. Most of the Mediterranean restaurants that we enjoy serve freshly baked Mediterranean bread which is light, warm and soft. Next came the main dishes. I ordered the Mediterranean steak with rice and almonds. Indeed it was cooked medium as requested however the meat had absolutely no taste. It had a Mediterranean type of sauce on top which also lacked zest. My wife ordered the chicken kebab. The kebab had three pieces of chicken and cut up potatoes that were fried. There was really nothing Mediterranean about this dish at all. There were no Mediterranean spices and again nothing had any flavor to speak of. I just have absolutely no idea where these other reviewers went to eat. It certainly was not this restaurant!
In summary, avoid, avoid, avoid!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alá S, Propietario at Ala Sazon, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Google Translation
Cordial saludo Joe:
Agradecemos su visita a nuestro restaurante y el haberse tomado el tiempo para escribir su review. Sin embargo, nos preocupa mucho su disgusto, pues consideramos que nos esmeramos mucho en el servicio que prestamos y en la comida que ofrecemos a nuestros clientes. En el 98% de los casos, nuestros comensales quedan altamente satisfechos, e incluso muchos clientes de origen arabe nos halagan nuestros platos, precisamente por la autenticidad de los sabores, gracias a las especias originales que utilizamos y la alta calidad de los ingredientes.
Tal y como usted lo dice, Ala Sazon es un lugar pequeño, calido y pintoresco, y efectivamente somos las dueñas quienes personalmente lo atendemos.

Lamentamos su disgusto y lo invitamos a que en una proxima fecha, nos visite y nos de la oportunidad de atenderlo nuevamente para que pueda comprobar la calidad de nuestro menú.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best middle eastern food in town!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Living in Abu Dhabi I have to admit that this really was a fantastic experience!
Really good place And excellent staff.
Thank you for having such a wounderful place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alá S, Propietario at Ala Sazon, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Google Translation
Sebastian: Mil gracias por visitarnos y por compartir sus comentarios en Trip Advisor, gracias a ello, ahora somos el restaurante Nº1 en Medellin!!!!!
Nos sentimos orgullosos y halagados por tan buenos comentarios, viniendo de una persona tan conocedora de este tipo de cocina. Tenga la seguridad que en Alá Sazón nos seguiremos esforzando para garantizarle a nuestros clientes la calidad de nuestros productos y un servicio siempre cálido y amable. Lo esperamos de nuevo....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
“excellent restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

the best restaurant for having a magnificent adventure in middle eastern dining. all the food is excellent but the burger is truly one of its kind and not the typical burger. the staff is excellent and i highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. The cost is reasonable for the amount of food served with each meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R0bert_P1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alá S, Owner at Ala Sazon, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Robert_P:
thanks very much foryour comments and for visiting and let us offer you our menu. We are glad you had enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ala Sazon also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing