We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The hotel is located in a nice zone of the city, close to shopping malls and restaurants.

The rooms are big enough and have all facilities needed for a comfortable stay. I think this hotel is mostly intended for business people.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jaime T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Mr Jaime

Thanks for your comments and reviews.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. We work every to make you and all our guest happy and ensure they have a really Holiday Inn Express experience.


Thanks for choosing us as your hotel in Medellin; we hope you let us serve you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 377 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

Need a cafetería for hotel as very uncomfortable to go eat outside also no gym at least get free entrance to any good gym.
No spa also many good places to go around and see. So must try get also free shuttle or taxi discount to airport.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments and reviews.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. We work every to make you and all our guest happy and ensure they have a really Holiday Inn Express experience.


We appreciate all your comments and those that are recommendations to make our hotel better are going to be check and corrected in a short term.

Thanks for choosing us as your hotel in Medellin; we hope you let us serve you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Check in was seamless. Upon arrival to the room, I thought I had been given upgrade. The room was big and spacious with a great view. Had a nice fruit basket, desk space for computer and a huge bathroom. Was here for only one night but met all my expectations. Was centrally located in downtown, you could walk anywhere. Felt safe and secure at all times. Book it, no issues at all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Ms Morgan

We want to thank you for choosing us in Medellin. Is great to know you enjoy your stay in one of our Suites.

Hope you come back very soon to Medellin and to our hotel.

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Spacious rooms, views of the city. Clean. Bathrooms should be bettered. Service is good. Breakfast is on the top floor of the hotel, on open terrace. Magnificent views of the city. Value for money. Courteous staff. Internet is good. Lighting in the room should be improved.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments and reviews.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. We work every to make you and all our guest happy and ensure they have a really Holiday Inn Express experience.


According to bathrooms and lights issue, we are going to check them and see how we can improve it.

We appreciate all your comments and those that are recommendations to make our hotel better are going to be check and corrected in a short term.

Thanks for choosing us as your hotel in Medellin; we hope you let us serve you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hotel in a very central place, very spacious room.. Very friendly staff.. Downsides - Breakfast is very very simple, in an open and cool/windy area. also the internet worked very very bad in one of the days that affected my productivity.. Would stay there again if needed..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djalmabritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Guest

We want to thank you for choosing us as your hotel in Medellin, is great to know you enjoy your stay in our hotel.

We hope you come back very soon to our hotel.

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Check in worked well, even though I got here about 100am.

I found the room to be very nice; about double the size I normally stay in. The room comes with a mini-fridge and microwave, but I didn't use either one.

I thought the many, many items available in/on the mini-bar were way too expensive. One thing I didn't like is that the inventory list of the items showed that there should be 38 products, but I only counted 34. I had to call housekeeping and get the girl to go over the items, and note the ones that weren't there. She said they were soon going to provide new lists that showed only 34 items, but I'm sorry... when something is written it should be correct. The items that were missing were the most expensive, of course.

The air conditioner makes a lot of noise. The unit isn't old, it doesn't rattle or anything; it's just that the fan makes a lot of noise. It has 3 speeds, but the fan is just too loud even at the lowest setting. I don't think it was designed to be used in a place where people will be sleeping. The hotel should have chosen air conditioners with quietness in mind. I used earplugs and that helped somewhat. Because of street noise (even on the 18th floor), it's difficult to sleep with the air conditioner turned off, so earplugs are a must if you are going to stay at this hotel.

There's a complete wall of windows with the curtains opened. The view is impressive, no matter which side of the building you're on.

The TV is an older CRT style, and the picture tube was starting to fail on the TV set in my room. The manager has responded to previous reviews saying that 60% of the rooms have had TVs replaced with flat screen units. Well, 100% of the TVs in my room had not been replaced as of January 2014.
I found the bed to be very comfortable; the mattress was firm, but not hard. The bed had 5 pillows, varying in thickness.

The bathroom was quite nice; there was hot & cold running water even at the sink. There was always hot water when I was there. The amenities were helpful.

About room selection: I would advise others not to accept a room that ends in 04 or 06. Rooms with those numbers are at the front of the hotel and receive more street noise. Also, rooms that end in 04 have a maid's closet right next to your room and starting about 800am, the maids are constantly opening and closing that door (sometimes loudly). Rooms that end in 06: the stairway is right next to your room, and the door closes rather loudly. People actually use this stairway (especially on upper floors, as the elevators often arrive full with people heading to the dining room for breakfast). The rooms in the back of the hotel are simply better, and the rooms that face the north are preferable from a noise perspective.

There are 21 floors, and the 22nd floor is actually a roof-top terrace where breakfast is served until 1000am, and there's a tiny room with some pieces of cardio equipment for exercise. I arrived at 945am one day and found all the food items to still be available at that hour. The food was usually good. It was a nice experience to have breakfast there with the open air and the view.

On the ground floor between the reception area and the elevators is a free business center with 2 computers and a multi-funtion laser printer/scanner/fax. The wi-fi in my room was very strong and was free. If you stop using the wi-fi for even a few minutes, the system logs you off and you then have to log back on with the password. The system administrator should allow more idle time before auto log-off.

There's a Subway and Burger King at the street level, which comes in handy if you want a snack. There's also a Bancolombia ATM just outside the hotel door, and they didn't charge any surcharge to me.

The hotel is a long walk from the nearest Metro station (Poblado)...less than a mile, but still a 15-20 minute walk, and uphill when you're returning to the hotel. It seems to be a safe neighborhood, even at night.

I don't usually notice housekeeping, but I will say that the housekeeping staff at this hotel was the best of any hotel I have visited in South America. Everything was always perfect when I returned to my room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maynard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for your comments and reviews.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay in our hotel. We work every to make you and all our guest happy and ensure they have a really Holiday Inn Express experience.


According to minibar issue, we are checking what happened so we can be sure that this never happens again to you or other guest.

About TV we are changing all of them for last technology, and we are in about an 85% of renewal.

We appreciate all your comments and those that are recommendations to make our hotel better are going to be check and corrected in a short term.

Thanks for choosing us as your hotel in Medellin; we hope you let us serve you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The location is excellent, several restaurants walking distance, some in the building, for an emergency OK.
The hotel start to wear out and demand a quick action in renovation, and one thing that is quite difficult to explain, they use a exchange rate 5 to 10% over the official one? Is a money exchange business or a hotel? After I claim about they use the official rate, so if don't claim.....what a shame.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear OCZ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We do appreciate the high scores for Rooms and Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#11 of 110 in Medellin
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.5 mi away
Hotel bh El Poblado
Hotel bh El Poblado
#28 of 110 in Medellin
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#8 of 110 in Medellin
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#15 of 110 in Medellin
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Medellin

Address: Carrera 43a 1 Sur-150, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: $64 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medellin Hotel's Location is Convenient for GuestsLocated in the El Poblado district of Medellin, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel Medellin offers visitors to Colombia an enviable location and top-notch services. This Medellin hotel's location is near area attractions and businesses, and guests can enjoy convenient amenities.Business guests find themselves near Plaza Mayor, the area's premier conference and convention center. The hotel's central Medellin location is convenient to many major banks and international businesses, and guests find it easy to stay in touch with clients using the complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Medellin Hotel Medellin
Holiday Inn Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing