We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The location is excellent, several restaurants walking distance, some in the building, for an emergency OK.
The hotel start to wear out and demand a quick action in renovation, and one thing that is quite difficult to explain, they use a exchange rate 5 to 10% over the official one? Is a money exchange business or a hotel? After I claim about they use the official rate, so if don't claim.....what a shame.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear OCZ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We do appreciate the high scores for Rooms and Service. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Medellin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 365 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel is what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express internationally (Much better than those in the US). Very well located, several places to eat right in the same building (mini-mall) of the hotel. Courteous personnel, very good size rooms. One negative, no coffee maker in the room nor a microwave. I don't get the point of having a kitchenette without these items.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICARIZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear RICARIZA,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a nice hotel with large clean rooms. My room had a kitchen with a microwave, sink, coffee maker and small fridge. It has a separate sofa that turns into a bed and a work desk. The air conditioner works very well and the bed was comfortable. They offer breakfast daily but there is no lunch or dinner in the hotel's restaurant. Instead, there are plenty of options since upstairs there are at least 6 restaurant choices as well as 4 other restaurants in front of the hotel. There are also restaurants within walking distance. This is a safe area to walk around in with plenty of police presence. The hotel is right next to a casino in case that is important to you. The front desk staff are friendly, the hotel offers transportation to and from the airport in hotel owned safe vehicles. There is a cost associated with the transportation and the airport is 45 minutes away. The only two negatives I can come up with are the shower curtain doesn't fully keep the water from coming out of the shower stall and thus the bathroom floor ends up full of water and the pillows were too fluffy, they were overstuffed and thus uncomfortable. Otherwise I would surely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view of the city below.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Mr Eddie

Thanks for you review and comments for our hotel.

Is a pleasure for us, to know that you enjoy you stay and you like our services and infrastructure.

According to those items that you tell us, does not fill your expectation, we are going to check them and try to make them better.

We hope to serve you again very soon.

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed in the Holiday Inn for a business visit on the week of January 20 to the 24, I got very sick at the first day, affortunalety the hotel manager provided the services of a physician covered by the hotel. I had to be put on IV fluids , the staff were very helpful. The rooms are in great conditions, great view, safe place to walk, internet access at all time, breakfast was very good and with many alternatives. If it wasnt for the promptness of the staff in taking care of my sickness I probably will end up in a hospital, no a situation when your traveling out of your home country.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loreltorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Mr Torres

We want to thank you for your review and comments.

We work daily to make our guest enjoy our city and our hotel.

Hope you are better and see you soon in our hotel.

Thanks for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a fair hotel, price is fair, service is fair and room quality is fair.

The pros: location location location! safe walking zone, close to shopping centers and friendly neighborhood. clean and friendly staff.

The cons:
They insist on cleaning your room every day, they will not respect any request to avoid the operation of room cleaning unless you pay extra fee for "intensive cleaning" afterwords. Strange!

Breakfast is quite poor as well, when comparing with other hotel of it's class.

AC is noisy.

Room Tip: all rooms are good!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longjub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear longjub,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience. I am pleased to note that you found our location to be conveniently located.

However, I am sorry to hear the troubles you had during your visit. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience our housekeeping services have caused you. We deeply regret the negative experience and impressions you had about our hotel.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Located in a very nice area of Medellin, safe, you can go walking up the main street to a nice mall + there's several excellent restaurants right on the same building of the hotel. The room was big, with nice desk to work, excellent Internet access, nice view, clean, no noise, good AC, open the windows and you'll get nice fresh air. Has minibar and kitchen, very well supplied. Easy access to taxi's right in front of the building, since it is located on a main avenue it's easy to get anywhere in Medellin to visit customers.
The only thing that disappointed me was the breakfast, just bread, ham and cheese + coffee and a juice - very limited choices. The restaurant at the top of the building is nice though, open air.

Room Tip: the higher floors for a better view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickee_Ricardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Mr Ricardo

We thank you very much for your review and for staying at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin.

Thanks also for the comments of the thing we should improve, we are going to check them and give it a solution.

Hope you come back to Medellin very soon and choose us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Our room was on the 17th floor so we had a good view, the room was modern and spacious, with a kitchenette (which was useful having a big fridge).

Our breakfast was included and was provided on the 21st floor. The breakfast was good and provided a lovely view in an outdoor (covered) breakfast room.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Location is good, on the 'golden mile' near all the malls, within walking distance of the Parque lleras area where all the bars, restaurants and boutique shops are.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank EmmaJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Ms Emma

We want to thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin.

We appreciate your reviews and comments and we hope you come back very soon to Medellin and to our hotel.

Regards

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Medellin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#13 of 110 in Medellin
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.5 mi away
Hotel bh El Poblado
Hotel bh El Poblado
#25 of 110 in Medellin
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novelty Suites Hotel
Novelty Suites Hotel
#10 of 110 in Medellin
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#15 of 110 in Medellin
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#9 of 110 in Medellin
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Medellin

Address: Carrera 43a 1 Sur-150, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: $76 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medellin Hotel's Location is Convenient for GuestsLocated in the El Poblado district of Medellin, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel Medellin offers visitors to Colombia an enviable location and top-notch services. This Medellin hotel's location is near area attractions and businesses, and guests can enjoy convenient amenities.Business guests find themselves near Plaza Mayor, the area's premier conference and convention center. The hotel's central Medellin location is convenient to many major banks and international businesses, and guests find it easy to stay in touch with clients using the complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Medellin Hotel Medellin
Holiday Inn Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing