We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised... Great location with a few negative details. Better management would make this a solid 5-star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Ranked #32 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My stay here started really badly when my pickup at the airport didn't show up! I speak Spanish so I just took a taxi, but this may be a little unsettling for a first time visitor to Medellin as the airport is VERY far away from town and the road is very dark... Although there is almost zero chance of danger, it is better to ride with somebody your hotel sends. Fail there.
I just could not fault the hotel... super modern rooms (except for old TV and old AC unit) Huge room with huge windows which I LOVED... Great breakfast terrace.. Super clean and efficient housekeeping.
Only problem with the room is that the blackout curtains do not cover the window effectively and I was awaken every morning at 5:45 by the first rays of sun.
Also, front desk personnel is very young and inexperienced and I had an issue with my bill and never got an apology for my missed pickup until I requested to speak with the manager, who responded and gave me a $2 (Wow!!!) discount on my ride back to the airport.
Lots of potential, great location! Management with better attention to detail could turn this hiotel into a gem!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranger22SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

good afternoon

We welcome your comments we invite you to correct our mistakes and successes strengthen

Let me introduce you to impasse excuses for transportation and already we inform you that there has been a bonus for you to enjoy an airport shuttle at no cost as compensation for serivicio not paid and he should not be charged. Unfortunately the information given to the management was different.

many excuses again and hope to soon.

Luis Fernando Toro V
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 378 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here one night. The room was clean and spacious and the location was great (lots of restaurants around and seemed safe). The breakfast was also good. I just found the room to be loud but that's a function of the location too. Beautiful scenery around.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank CoptRWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and opinions about our Hotel.
As well says our location and the attention of our staff is the greatest strength which adds to the excellent panoramic city.

We look forward to returning soon and thank you for choosing us

Luis Fernando Toro V
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Is in a really great location in Medellín, near Santafe shopping mall. Also in the same building there is a cozy shopping mall called La Strada.

The room is spacious with tv, air conditioner and wi-fi. Although the tv unit was kind of old.

Nice small selection for breakfast, really enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blpgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our extraordinary location close to all places of interest and entertainment in the city of Medellin. As you rightly says we are located in an excellent shopping center called La Strada in which a variety of restaurants and places of entertainment. That is one of the most important attractions of the hotel, in addition to its excellent care and service.

We welcome comments to improve and informed him that we are locking them for better comfort of our guests.

The hope to return soon

Luis Fernando Toro Velez
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Location is simply excellent, in a very safe neighborhood in Medellín with malls and supermarket very close to the hotel. Also, in the same building (La Strada) you can find good restaurants and bars.
The only negative item is the air conditioning, a bit noisy when you're trying to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tati4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our extraordinary location close to all places of interest and entertainment in the city of Medellin. That is one of the most important attractions of the hotel, in addition to its excellent care and service.

We welcome comments to improve and informed him that we are locking them for better comfort of our guests.

The hope to return soon

Luis Fernando Toro Velez
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

A good choice. Large rooms. Great view over rooftops. Got a room not facing the street and happy for that cause the traffic causes noice.
Breakfast buffet is good - even if the ham and cheese looked very tired and could have been stored cold. Coffee on the watery side also - this in the country of Juan Valdez....

But large rooms - comfortable beds. Nice reception (even if they missed to pass on a message to the ones supposed to bring me to the airport - they were very late and I took a hotel transport instead, but when my late original transport came the reception told me I had not left!!) But thats a minor detail for a hotel that is a very good choice.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our extraordinary location near all inetres and entertainment sites in the city of Medellin. Also on outstanding accommodations, because of its size and its view over the city that are the most important attraction for our guests.

We welcome comments to improve and will in practice immediately.

I hope to return soon

Luis Fernando Toro Velez
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Located in the middle of Medellin´s Golden Mile, this hotel is within a few steps from most main drags of Poblado. Two major shopping malls within a few blocks and an array of eateries in walking distance make it an excellent base for a business traveller. My suite was quite spacious and well laid out with working, sitting and sleeping areas; with excellent views over the city, however a few items would use an improvement. Windows are far from soundproof, even on 17th floor street noise was sometimes an issue. Aircon is an old unit from 1980´s, terribly noisy, making any sleep impossible when turned on; TV unit is old CRT model. Yet everyting was functional, internet was reasonably fast and reliable and the breakfast on a semi-covered terrace on the 21st floor was a delight with more than just the usual basics. All in all, quite a positive experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martinzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your experience compartinos Hotel and express your feelings with clean express our relation to our services.

For our team of contributors is a great satisfacion to know that your stay was memorable and full of great satisfaction.

We welcome your comments and informed him about the TV are being changed and to date 60% ​​of the hotel has HD TV LG 3D technology. As for air crews began a complete change in the last quarter of 2013 as the same are in the design process. We look forward to your next visit to have renewed this regard for their welfare.

Thanks for having us and we hope soon in our facilities

thanks

Luis Fernando Toro Velez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here for four nights, while exploring Medellin as a possible retirement destination. I had originally booked a cheap place in the center of town, but after the miserable cheap place I had stayed in in Bogota, I wasn't up for any more adventures, so I went for the Holiday Inn Express. This was a very low-stress place, very clean, no problems, no adventures, no drama, friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast, up on the top floor, was excellent. One shortcoming: the machines in the exercise room weren't working most of the time. The other downside is that it's quite expensive. Everything else was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EA_South_Dakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel and its services.
Its excellent feedback is our best reward:

I've ordered a review of the gym equipment as they have placed two new teams recently and there would be reason to not work.


Regarding the relationship of the price I have verified the dates of your stay and coincided with dates and High occupancy High season so the price was higher than that on average have. For upcoming stays we suggest purchasing fees or advance purchase nonrefundable rate which will generate a significant discount.

Thanks and we hope to return soon,

Luis Fernando Toro V
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#11 of 111 in Medellin
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel bh El Poblado
Hotel bh El Poblado
#29 of 111 in Medellin
166 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tryp Medellin
Tryp Medellin
#57 of 111 in Medellin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medellin
0.7 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Medellin

Address: Carrera 43a 1 Sur-150, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: $59 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medellin Hotel's Location is Convenient for GuestsLocated in the El Poblado district of Medellin, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel Medellin offers visitors to Colombia an enviable location and top-notch services. This Medellin hotel's location is near area attractions and businesses, and guests can enjoy convenient amenities.Business guests find themselves near Plaza Mayor, the area's premier conference and convention center. The hotel's central Medellin location is convenient to many major banks and international businesses, and guests find it easy to stay in touch with clients using the complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Medellin Hotel Medellin
Holiday Inn Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing