We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only place I stay when I go to Medellin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Medellin
Ranked #29 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel three times. It is excellent,nice(pretty) staff,very professional,security everwhere,close to everything(Hard rock cafe two blocks away,and 2 big malls). Bars,restaurants(Mexican restaurant, owner is from Miami),and clubs upstairs. Breakfast included with a "wow" view (please tip the ladies who work the breakfast,they work hard). This is the high end part of Medellin called El Poblado,lets put it this way,Pablo Escobar owned a condo in this area, it must be good,because he did not like cheap stuff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks for your feedback about our services and for choosing when visiting our city.
We are always available and open to their suggestions so that each day we meet your expectations
Luis Fernando Toro V
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Medellin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 365 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here to see the city. Breakfast is served on the 21st floor roof top deck. Fabulous view. Stay with he fruit and basics at breakfast and you will have a good stay. There was always someone at the front desk who spoke english and they were attentive and helpful. This is an upscale area and more of a business hotel. It is not a destination hotel. We had friends giving us a tour of the town so we were basically slept and ate breakfast at the hotel.
The hotel maids swept in and cleaned out rooms the moment we left in the morning.
The room was of ample size with a kitchenette.
Security is good at the hotel. It is more european in style in that the room key needs to be inserted to turn the electric on etc. Room key is also needed to go up in the elevator.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks for your feedback about our services. Our excellent location near the best tourist sites, shopping centers and fun make the hotel the perfect elecccion.
Luis Fernando Toro V
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The location of the hotel is fantastic and the staff is nice. But in general the rest is not very good.
Worst of all is a sleek plastic they put on mattress. The kind one uses for a small child not to wet the bed? So the mattress don't breathe and moreover is very uncomfortable.
The breakfast is mediocre.
The air-conditioned room is old.
You have much better options in the same region for the same price or a little more (that is worth paying).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BEMVENUTTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear hotela2z,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I was delighted to read your review and your very kind comments regarding the staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the bed conditions may have caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My stay at Medellin was complimented with an good hotel experience also. Check in and check out processes are quick and simple. Staff is friendly and speak basic english. Breakfast is sumptuous.

Hotel is situated in the good/safe locality with many restuarants, bars, cafes, malls and even a casino close by.

Rooms are like hotel apartments and very spacious.

the city airport is almost 1 hour away by road, so please plan your trip accordingly.

To conclude, property is very good and i would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking some of your valuable time to express your experience at our hotel. Our team is glad that his experience was memorable and that 'exceeded their expectations.
We hope to have him back in our beautiful city and our hotel to enjoy a great stay.

Regards,
Luis Fernando Toro Velez
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The room was very nice, I never expected a room like this in an Express hotel. Great breakfast and nice view of Medellin at the top of the building. Staff was also great and helpfull.

I will come back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BusinessMan_1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for your opinions so valuable to us. We like our guests to discover that our hotel gives more than any Express and offers an extraordinary room, a prime location in the city and the best view of Medellin, the city of Eternal Spring.

We wait and thanks again for choosing us.

Luis Fernando Toro V
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel located within a restaurant and bar mall in the financial sector "Milla de Oro" in Medellin.
Very close to businesses (customers) and shopping centers.
Rooms are simple, with no flat tv. But very comfortable with a fridge, microwave and sink. Free wifi and continental breakfast.

I suggest you pick a room in the high floors (9th on) to avoid possible noise from the bars and restaurants from Thursday to Saturday nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RXPULIDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

good morning:

Thanks for choosing us for your stay in the city of Medellin and share their opinions. Abolutamente I would like to point out that all the rooms are equipped with TV, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, complimentary coffee.
I would understand your comment about the TV is that it is the latest technology and the lack of it. Remember already made efforts to purchase new TV latest technology which we expect its imports come soon.

Thank you.

LUIS FERNANDO TORO
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This Hotel is located in the safest area in Medellin....like new rooms...great A/C...spacious bathrooms, great service, free parking, great free Colombian style breakfast!...great views on roof top breakfast area. Weekends at La Strada (mall that the hotel is located in) is very busy and fun...although in the hotel room we could not hear the partying. Would definitley stay here again....Enjoy!...by the way I recently stayed in the San Fernando Plaza down the street and I would still stay at HIEX.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icufg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis1113, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Medellin, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest:
Thanks for taking some of your valuable time to express your experience at our hotel. Our team is glad that his experience was memorable and that 'exceeded their expectations.
We hope to have him back in our beautiful city and our hotel to enjoy a great stay.

Regards,
Luis Fernando Toro Velez
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#13 of 110 in Medellin
656 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.5 mi away
Hotel bh El Poblado
Hotel bh El Poblado
#25 of 110 in Medellin
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novelty Suites Hotel
Novelty Suites Hotel
#10 of 110 in Medellin
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#15 of 110 in Medellin
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#9 of 110 in Medellin
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Medellin

Address: Carrera 43a 1 Sur-150, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: $76 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Medellin 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medellin Hotel's Location is Convenient for GuestsLocated in the El Poblado district of Medellin, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Hotel Medellin offers visitors to Colombia an enviable location and top-notch services. This Medellin hotel's location is near area attractions and businesses, and guests can enjoy convenient amenities.Business guests find themselves near Plaza Mayor, the area's premier conference and convention center. The hotel's central Medellin location is convenient to many major banks and international businesses, and guests find it easy to stay in touch with clients using the complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Medellin Hotel Medellin
Holiday Inn Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing