We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Energy went down and there was no way to go to your room, have to wait for an hour.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novelty Suites Hotel
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Energy went down and there was no way to go to your room, have to wait for an hour.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Rooms are ok, service is poor. Breakfast time and there was no iron or fork in the tables, I had to go to the service desk to grab a couple after asking several times for them to the waiter. Power went down in the area an there was no safe way to get to your room, the emergency stairs did not have emergency lights and the floors were not numbered, so you never knew where you were... Thank god it was not a fire!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CesarM1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalia U, E-Commerce at Novelty Suites Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We lament the misshaps and thanking for letting us to know the failures that happened during the breakfast which were for our staff neglect so, we will take the precise medsures about it Owingto, the power energy troubles, effectevly we had misshaps with support systems that were already solved.
Our Hotel has all the emergency exits required notwithstanding; you are right about the floors marking in the emergency scalators; so we have taken inmediately measures that we hope to test it in your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    58
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
51
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Nice location near the gold mille, best business location in medellin. Near hard rock cafe, Mc Donalds and oviedo shooping center. Do not reserve the small room is too small. Reserve the second size. Enjoy a good paisa breakfast!. They dont have a nice gym.

Room Tip: Do not select the small room is too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank hugshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natalia u, Director Comercial at Novelty Suites Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Thanks for your comments. In our hotel we only have a little gym, but we have an agreement with a professional gym near to novelty totally free for our guests. We will wait for you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Excellent stuff, great location, good breakfast , nice room.

Quite expensive but I been in others more expensive but no that good.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Juan_Alejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Not fancy, however a very nice hotel. Great staff, nice rooms and privileged location. The wi-fi network could be better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank BrazilAca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The breakfast is complimentary and good. The rooms are spacious and having a fully equipped kitchen. Road facng rooms are having half glass wall through which one will get a good view of el poblado, the most posh area of the city. The road facing corner rooms are having balcony also. One of two persons in the reception can communicate in english. The rooms are neat and the beds are really comfortable. I thoroughly enjoy my stay in this hotel. Fish lovers should try robalo meditterano in the restaurant which is really good. The location of the hotel is in the commercial hub of the city and an extremely safe area to roam around. The malls [Oviedo and San Tafe] are in walking distance and super markets [carulla and pomona] are also in the vicinity.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pra06tik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

In the recent past I visited Medellin couple of times and during my travels, twice I stayed at Hotel Novelty. In all I must have spent close to 6 to 7 months in the rooms of this hotel. I must say my first visit was an absolute delight. Spic and spank rooms, efficient service and an extremely cordial staff. I couldn't have asked for more.

Highly impressed by my first experience I decided to stay again at this hotel, this time for a little over 2 months and I must say that the experience was equally good although service was a tad slower this time. Other than this everything else was almost perfect.

As always the rooms were very clean and the staff probably the best. If you are a non Spanish speaker I don't think you will have much of a problem. The receptionist (Lina) speaks as good English as probably an American or a Brit would speak. Even if she is not at the desk you may talk to others as almost all of them put in an effort to speak english.

House-keeping is very efficient and they make a nice cozy comfortable bed for you to kill your tiredness on. Laundry is equally efficient and almost always clothes are returned on time though the count may not match, so it's not a bad idea to check your clothes once they are returned. Very recently they replaced their old TV sets with the latest plasma screens which is not a bad idea at all. They are doing the same with old worn out carpets and putting in a new, more hygienic wooden flooring. There's a small pantry (kitchenette) along with a microwave as well which is pretty handy provided you like to prepare your own food as I did. :) This doesn't mean that the food is not good there. Infact they have a pretty lavish buffet spread with a lot of variety to choose from.

To top it all they have a Jacuzzi and a steam / sauna at the roof top. A small problem they have is with the water heating system. During mornings it is pretty common not to get hot water which is irritating. At the most the water will be luke warm.

Hotel is centrally located in the safe and posh locality of Medellin called El Poblado with a super market, Parque Lleras (the party destination) in the near vicinity.

If you are planning to stay there you might want to opt for a balcony room (available at the same rate as other rooms). But being towards the busy street they tend to get a little noisy specially during the day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank V_SG_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed here for two nights at the end of a short vacation travelling in Colombia. Absolutely no complaints about comfort, service, and cleanliness. Free desktop internet was a big plus, and so was the very good complimentary breakfast. The only slight issue I had was the location. Yes, it's very safe, but it's a fair walk to the metro station or Parque Lleras. Taxis are inexpensive, so it's not that big a deal.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Neal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.4 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#5 of 105 in Medellin
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 105 in Medellin
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 105 in Medellin
687 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
1.6 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#8 of 105 in Medellin
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novelty Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novelty Suites Hotel

Property: Novelty Suites Hotel
Address: Calle 4s 43a A - 109 | El Poblado Sector Oviedo, Medellin 050022, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novelty Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unsurpassed hospitality Following the latest trends in the field of hospitality. Novelty Suites Hotel is an excellent choice of accommodation for business trips and business. Located 100 meters from CC Oviedo, in a commercial, financial and residential sector and upgraded security in the city (El Poblado) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novelty Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing