We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novelty Suites Hotel
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Excellent stuff, great location, good breakfast , nice room.

Quite expensive but I been in others more expensive but no that good.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Juan_Alejandro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Novelty Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 190 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

Not fancy, however a very nice hotel. Great staff, nice rooms and privileged location. The wi-fi network could be better.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank BrazilAca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

The breakfast is complimentary and good. The rooms are spacious and having a fully equipped kitchen. Road facng rooms are having half glass wall through which one will get a good view of el poblado, the most posh area of the city. The road facing corner rooms are having balcony also. One of two persons in the reception can communicate in english. The rooms are neat and the beds are really comfortable. I thoroughly enjoy my stay in this hotel. Fish lovers should try robalo meditterano in the restaurant which is really good. The location of the hotel is in the commercial hub of the city and an extremely safe area to roam around. The malls [Oviedo and San Tafe] are in walking distance and super markets [carulla and pomona] are also in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank pra06tik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

In the recent past I visited Medellin couple of times and during my travels, twice I stayed at Hotel Novelty. In all I must have spent close to 6 to 7 months in the rooms of this hotel. I must say my first visit was an absolute delight. Spic and spank rooms, efficient service and an extremely cordial staff. I couldn't have asked for more.

Highly impressed by my first experience I decided to stay again at this hotel, this time for a little over 2 months and I must say that the experience was equally good although service was a tad slower this time. Other than this everything else was almost perfect.

As always the rooms were very clean and the staff probably the best. If you are a non Spanish speaker I don't think you will have much of a problem. The receptionist (Lina) speaks as good English as probably an American or a Brit would speak. Even if she is not at the desk you may talk to others as almost all of them put in an effort to speak english.

House-keeping is very efficient and they make a nice cozy comfortable bed for you to kill your tiredness on. Laundry is equally efficient and almost always clothes are returned on time though the count may not match, so it's not a bad idea to check your clothes once they are returned. Very recently they replaced their old TV sets with the latest plasma screens which is not a bad idea at all. They are doing the same with old worn out carpets and putting in a new, more hygienic wooden flooring. There's a small pantry (kitchenette) along with a microwave as well which is pretty handy provided you like to prepare your own food as I did. :) This doesn't mean that the food is not good there. Infact they have a pretty lavish buffet spread with a lot of variety to choose from.

To top it all they have a Jacuzzi and a steam / sauna at the roof top. A small problem they have is with the water heating system. During mornings it is pretty common not to get hot water which is irritating. At the most the water will be luke warm.

Hotel is centrally located in the safe and posh locality of Medellin called El Poblado with a super market, Parque Lleras (the party destination) in the near vicinity.

If you are planning to stay there you might want to opt for a balcony room (available at the same rate as other rooms). But being towards the busy street they tend to get a little noisy specially during the day.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank V_SG_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed here for two nights at the end of a short vacation travelling in Colombia. Absolutely no complaints about comfort, service, and cleanliness. Free desktop internet was a big plus, and so was the very good complimentary breakfast. The only slight issue I had was the location. Yes, it's very safe, but it's a fair walk to the metro station or Parque Lleras. Taxis are inexpensive, so it's not that big a deal.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Neal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank Claudia Juliana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERNEY A, Gerente at Novelty Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Marisol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERNEY A, Gerente at Novelty Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.4 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#9 of 110 in Medellin
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 110 in Medellin
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 110 in Medellin
727 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#13 of 110 in Medellin
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novelty Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novelty Suites Hotel

Address: Calle 4 sur # 43 A - 109 | El Poblado Sector Oviedo, Medellin 050022, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: $77 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novelty Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unsurpassed hospitality Following the latest trends in the field of hospitality. Novelty Suites Hotel is an excellent choice of accommodation for business trips and business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Novelty Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing