We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, not much atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel
Ranked #12 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hostel is lovely with great facilities. I stayed in the girls dorm which had a good large bathroom, very clean and modern. The hostel itself didn't have much atmosphere I found, although they played great music in the bar there was hardly ever anyone there. I think people head out to the local bars / restaurants which is a better option anyway.

Taxi from airport was about 60,000. The hostel offers breakfast but also have a well equipped kitchen so you can make your own meals.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bedex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 334 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed there for almost a week and loved it. Super nice, friendly and helpful staff. The hostel is quite new and very clean. Common areas are cozy and comfortable. Highly recommended.
Can get noisy on Fridays and Saturdays as that's the party night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndMa8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hostel is a nice mix between a hotel/hostel, with a nice chill bar in the front. The cleanliness is good, everyday the beds are done. The location is also great, not too close enough to the bars to avoid the noise, but only 2 blocks away from the Poblado interests.

As much as the overall hostel looks nice, but the dorms are not exactly as we could expect.

Starting with the good points : there are big lockers in the dorms, and the access to the dorms request a key which unlocks the doors. Security is good.

But (at least in the 4 bed dorm) the place is so tight that accessing to the locks and moving between the double deck beds, remains quite difficult if all 4 persons are in the dorm.
The lock of door ads security, yes, but everytime sometimes needs to go to the toilet and locks the door, the locks and the opening creates quite enough noise to awak everyone.

The overall environment between the dorms is absolutely not noise proofed. So everyt time someone goes to the toilet or walks in the hall, or open a door, everyone can beneficiate of it.

Then in terms of rules, it would be nice not having idiots making a lot of noise each time they are coming back from a night out. So, what is the staff doing on this ? a gentle reminder to the ones coming might be a way. I remember having to sigh the sheet "rules of the establishment", I don't know if there was a point about the silence after a certain hour, if there is not, that would be a good improvement.

I would also suggest to put a curtain on the main balcony window. Otherwise it's impossible to sleep later than 7 am due to the sun and light.

I also want to highlight that I chose this place as I thought it would be more relax and less noisy than other hostels of the poblado, it's surely better but it's true that I left because I couldn't have a normal sleep as my aim of being in Medellin was not only focused on "party".

Room Tip: Maybe try a single room if you can afford it, or try the more numbered dorms you might get more luck...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taipanspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hbhostal, Manager at Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2014

Hello, thanks for the detailed response. We have added sound proofing to the hallways in order to address your valid concerns about the noise. 95% of our rooms are in the back of the building so they don't have this problem. However we do have one private room and a 7 person dorm that are above the bar and we don't recommend it for light sleepers. Please contact management at hbreservas@yahoo.com, we would like to offer you a special deal on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a room upstairs with a balcony to begin with but it was too hot, even with a fan. The staff allowed us to change rooms with no fuss to a cooler room downstairs which was great. The private rooms were newly decorated, comfortable and had nice hot showers. Free wifi is available everywhere although the signal varies. There is no aircon in the rooms, pedestal fans are provided. Personally I think they should just install aircon in the rooms, it would give this place the wow factor. It can get a little noisy downstairs at meal times with people talking, I used ear plugs in bed. The social/bar area is really nice and great for meeting other travellers. When we stayed, there was a good mix of easygoing people. The location is excellent, a few minutes walk to Parque Lleras where all the bars and restaurants are. We always felt safe walking back to the hostel at night. Be sure to check out Dlasmoras cafe around the corner - excellent, cheap breakfast and REAL coffee. The Italian omelet is outstanding www.dlasmoras.com The Indian restaurant across the road from Happy Buddha is also delicious, but not particularly cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadtripper2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed in a private room. It's in a great location, it's clean and the balcony is fantastic. The staff is friendly and speaks good English. The breakfast is also about as good as you'll get at a Colombian hostel. My only gripes are that they didn't have any fans that worked. The guy at the front desk brought two for us to try and both were broken. And this isn't a party hostel yet they play loud music at the bar until 2 a.m. Since the walls are really thin it's loud in your room. They need to either get a real party going or cut the music earlier but it makes no sense to keep everyone awake for 2 bar patrons.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXtourst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed for five nights at this Medellin hostel and could have easily stayed longer. It is a brand new operation from a young guy hailing from Miami.

The hostel takes credit cards, has electronic key locks and hotel-quality linens -- all for the same price as neighboring hostels. The $5,000 COL breakfast is also a good deal -- cereal, eggs, bread, coffee and juice served on a place mat with ceramic plates.

Although the courtyard of the hostel is a bit 'under construction', there are still plenty of nice spaces to sit and enjoy the fast free wifi or a beer -- tables, a nice TV area with satellite channels, and a very comfortable balcony area overlooking the Poblado streets.

This hostel attracts a friendly and fun, but not 'crazy party' crowd. I met some really nice people at the hostel that I hope to stay in touch with in the future.

Really nice location on tree-lined streets with lots of fun bars and restaurants nearby, but a bit removed from the chaos of Parque Lleras.

If the hostel wanted to get even better, it could do a bit of a better job with providing information about hostel features and Medellin attractions. For example, I did not know about the breakfast option until my last day of the stay, and some other guests commented that it was a bit hard to get some information about other parts of Colombia. It would also be great if the wifi signal reached the beautiful front balcony/lounge area. Also, the housekeeping staff was incredibly, incredibly hardworking and did an excellent job. (The owner is very lucky to have such great people!) Unfortunately, though, after these folks leave for the day, some of the bathrooms would get a bit messy (i.e. paper on floor, puddles, etc.) -- a couple 'bathroom checks' each evening, particularly after the bar closes on weekend nights, could make using the beautiful facilities even more pleasant in the morning. Finally, it would be great if some of the ongoing construction might include an extra shared shower or two for all guests.

A very nice stay (hence five stars), but just some suggestions for the friendly owner.

Room Tip: If you're a woman, the six-bed female-only dorm has two showers.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Great place, it is like a hotel. It's new and its nice!

Great staff, only downfall is that it could do with the ability to book a few more things from reception. The atmosphere is nice, but a little lacking in the rooms. They are a littke sterile, but this means they are very clean!!

Awesome common area!

Good vegan restaurant nearby....Lenteja Express and close to all the action of the main square!

It's nice and its very good value, definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.0 mi away
In House
In House
#20 of 110 in Medellin
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#47 of 110 in Medellin
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Black Sheep Hostel Medellin
0.1 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#1 of 234 in Medellin
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#2 of 234 in Medellin
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel

Address: Carrera 35 7 # 7-108 | Poblado Provenza, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range: $10 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a rare collection of art Happy Buddha is an expression; here you will encounter a brilliant mix of entertainment and serenity. Imagine a place that has a unique mix of hotel quality private rooms and spacious dorms designed for the modern traveler. Our staff has a thoughtful way of doing things that exceed our guest expectations. Our space inspires you to relax, engage, and party at your own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Happy Buddha Boutique Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing