We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Authentic, Delicious Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Thai

Royal Thai
Ranked #179 of 1,109 Restaurants in Medellin
Price range: $12 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Royal Thai offer oportunity of enjoy our style and ambience, will make you feel welcome as if you are in a different part of the world enjoying wine and having a delicious food experience at Royal Thai.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really Authentic, Delicious Thai Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I really love this place. The restaurant founders are actually from Thailand and that is reflected in the from. The curry is delicious and very authentic. The only drawback of this place is price. Even the lunch special (30% off) is pricey. But this is a must visit while in Medellin!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie4life55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    17
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
costa rica
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Who would guess.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Who would guess that you could find credible Thai food in Medellin, Colombia. But it's true. This place has great pad tai noodles and a nice coconut lemongrass soup with chicken and ginger. Great people watching to boot...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jonesieinhavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
958 reviews
475 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 439 helpful votes
“Very good Thai food in an exciting neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The food is very good as is the service. Sitting upstairs puts you at Japanese style tables where you sit on cushions and put your feet in a shallow pit under the table. The neighborhood has a lot going on in terms of bars and restaurants. They accommodates a birthday party with a roman candle!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
196 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good Thai Food for South America”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I live in Vancouver, so I have very high standards for Asian food. While it didn't measure up to most Thai food back home, this is certainly worth a try and did not leave me disappointed. If you love Asian food as much as I do and experience withdrawal while traveling, this will give you the fix you need.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EvanUTVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Finally after travelling in Colombia for 1 month we've found a decent Thai restaurant. Starters and main we're delicious. We asked for extra spicey and they delivered! Highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zchal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 
Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to Royal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing