We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, boutique hotel in fantastic location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kolor Hotel Boutique
Ranked #46 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel. It's in a great location in El Poblado area, close walking distance to all the fun restaurants and bars, but yet enough distance to ensure a quiet and more relaxed atmosphere at night. My boyfriend and I arrived late at night from the airport and were welcomed by a friendly front desk worker who brought us straight to our room and advised us about the neighborhood. We felt safe enough to walk to a nearby restaurant for drinks within an hour of our arrival (and proceeded to walk alone at night to and from the hotel for the rest of our stay).

The hotel is clean and very well maintained. The hotel and rooms are intricately decorated by color theme and really funky art. We stayed in Escarlata, which was pretty large, had a very comfortable bed and AC. The one interesting thing about Escarlata is that the shower is open and is not covered by a door or curtain. This works out fine for a couple, but wouldn't do well for any other pair! The only other con, which I didn't really mind, was that there are definitely thin walls. You could hear people in the reception area from our room and we were even situated further than other rooms. The hotel provides a nice breakfast every morning, consisting of eggs, arepa or toast, coffee and fruit juice.

Staff is super friendly and was able to set up taxi services for us and provide helpful advice on the area. We had no issues with the language barrier because my boyfriend and I can both speak Spanish, but there was a really friendly receptionist who speaks English fluently.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this spot to anyone traveling to Medellin. This was our first time in Colombia and Kolor Hotel was our fist stop off the plane. Comfortable, clean and fun place to stay for our time in Medellin!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0st0nGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Camilo E, Propietario at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing this great review!
It is a pleasure for us to know that you liked the decoration of the Hotel and the service of our staff. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your at Kolor Hotel Boutique.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Best Regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Kolor Hotel Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 104 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

... in the curvy streets of Poblado in Medellin. Our airport taxi wasn't quite sure how to get there, and we weren't either! It's helpful to print out a map before leaving home (we did) but even then the taxista was confused!

The Esmeralda room is very large and comfortable. One thing that seemed strange to us, though, was that there was no hot water in the bathroom sink tap. When I asked reception, they said that no rooms had hot water in the 'hot water' tap! Just cold. The breakfast is served to order, not from a buffet, which is a nice touch. But we think it lacked variety.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They helped arrange a private driver to take us around Medellin which was great, since our time was limited. The car was reasonably priced and absolutely worth it if you're short on time. We cannot imagine trying to maneuver and see as much as we did without this 'tour guide' service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love_2_travel_049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
All members of our staff in Kolor Hotel Boutique works every day to make guests feel comfortable during their stay and we like to help our guest with any issue regarding their stay at Kolor Hotel Boutique.

We are really sorry about your taxi getting lost, that is why we have a paid pick-up service from the airport that any guest can book and would take you directly to the hotel.

Regarding the breakfast we have several choices that the guests can find in a brochure in every room, our menu includes:
-Paisa Breakfast
-Natural Breakfast
-American Breakfast
-Pancakes breakfast
-Omelette breakfast

We look forward to welcoming you back in Kolor Hotel Boutique on a next trip to Medellín.

Best regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

After the pretty long haul from London to Medellin, the Kolor House was a great first stop (so much so we also made it our last stop on way back a few weeks later). The staff are terrific and the room spotless...(we stayed in Esmerelda) with a massive (by normal UK standards) and very comfortable bed. Breakfast in the back garden is lovely and the overall residential area of Poblado is a great place to get you eased into Medellin and Colombian life, Some guides are a bit sniffy about Poblado being a bit 'sanitised' - it is fairly affluent - but it's also on the airport side of town and is relaxed, quiet and within easy walking distance of an array of shops, bars and restaurants. If you want somewhere edgier, stay in Central. And if you don't like small and quirkier there are loads of more corporate options. Out of hotel and two minute walk down the hill is a small bakery-cum-coffee-shop on right-hand side, called Tomaso, which serves piping hot and freshly-brewed coffee (heat and quality both being a surprising rarity because, as is well documented, the best coffee beans are still exported and coffee constantly served tepid). The nearest metro station from Kolor House is a 15-min walk downhill - and from there you can get direct to the cable car (a bundle of four tickets will get you midway up the cable car and back to Poblado). Metro route also takes you through the centre of town - 15 mins or so. One tip for the ladies: many if not most public toilet facilities don't have loo paper inside the cubicles - you unwind a wadge BEFORE you go into one! LIke a trained rat, I sometimes forgot, so just have some tissues handy! Other random pointers: taxis are cheap (certainly by London and most UK standards) but you'll pay, as ever, more from airport: 50 to 60,000 pesos into city (which includes the road toll) - journey takes about 45 minutes. Have some coins handy for the tubs of fantastic fresh fruit you can get off the street (500 to 1,000 pesos per tub). As mentioned, we stayed for our last night at the Kolor House - and bid a fond farewell to the a lovely little hotel in a stunning and wonderful country.

Room Tip: Esmeralda is extremely comfortable. Just note the shower and jacuzzi are screened off in the main ro...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VandALondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to have the Ward family In Kolor Hotel Boutique. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We really appreciate customer´s feedback.
It is a pleasure for us to know that liked the service of our staff and that you enjoyed your at Kolor Hotel Boutique.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in a next trip to Medellin-

Best Regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Large clean room with great bed. Just having picked it last minute due to missed connections and change in plans it was a very pleasant surprise. Arrived at midnight after a long packed day the well stocked mini bar came in handy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan3048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Camilo E, Propietario at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for this great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!
We look forward to welcoming you back in Kolor Hotel Boutique on a next trip to Medellín.

Best regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Service was very good.

Breakfast was excellent and there was a surprising number of birds and wildlife in the back garden which was an asset.

Great location.

Room wise - not sure we would call this boutique in London. A good effort by Colombian standards.

Room Tip: Might want to avoid the Ocre Room if you don't want the bath and shower in your bedroom - there...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerMcElroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Camilo E, Propietario at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We really appreciate customer´s feedback in order to improve our service.

Best regards,


Juan Camilo Echeverri G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Only 2 minor negatives, but made up for in many other areas:
- Design of the rooms is hit or miss (I walked through Torquoise, which was beautiful all around (but was a double bed vs. two singles we were looking for), so we stayed in Sienna - functional, but not great as toilet was on one side, had to walk past both beds to reach the sink from there; the shower was dark and the changing colored lights inside did not make it any less dark in there). Very clean - so in the end, no real complaints.
- Location: it's up a hill, which is a bit tiring at the end of each day. However, this place is in the middle of so many great restaurants and bars. So many types of cuisines and the bar scene is nearby, but not so nearby that's it's noisy at the hotel. 15 to 20-min walk to the Metro station (downhill), and we generally took an inexpensive cab on the way back from the Metro since that was entirely uphill.
- Breakfast: My favorite in all the hotels we stayed in Colombia. Plate of fresh, local fruits. Eggs to order. Arepa or pancake or toast. Freshly squeezed juice and excellent coffee. Delicious.
- Service: Loved the staff. They called restaurants and tourist places for us of all kinds, and also made the bookings. They lent us their umbrella everyday. I can't even remember all the kind and helpful things they did in our 3 days there, but there were many! We left a couple days after Christmas, and they put little toy Santas filled with chocolates and individual hand-written notes for each of us on our last night. So sweet!

Room Tip: See 1st point on Design above.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Camilo E, Propietario at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your review about your stay in Kolor Hotel Boutique.

We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us; particularly appreciating the service delivered to you by our staff.
Thank you for your recommendations about the lights in the shower, we would work on this issue.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in Kolor Hotel Boutique in the future, it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us once again.

Best regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for four nights - location fantastic. The staff were absolutely brilliant. Recommend this for anyone staying in Medellin. Really surprised how cheap it was given the lovely rooms, service and great breakfasts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjcassidy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Camilo E, Owner at Kolor Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Marie

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest in Kolor Hotel Boutique. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Your satisfaction is our reward, all members of our staff in Kolor Hotel Boutique works every day to make guests feel comfortable during their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Kolor Hotel Boutique on a next trip to Medellin
Best regards,

Juan Camilo Echeverri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.5 mi away
La Campana Hotel Boutique
La Campana Hotel Boutique
#36 of 110 in Medellin
118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Las Rosas Hotel Boutique
Las Rosas Hotel Boutique
#82 of 110 in Medellin
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
In House
In House
#20 of 110 in Medellin
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Art Hotel Boutique
Art Hotel Boutique
#48 of 110 in Medellin
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Torre Poblado Hotel and Apart hotel
0.4 mi away
Premium Real Hotel
Premium Real Hotel
#41 of 110 in Medellin
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolor Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolor Hotel Boutique

Address: Carrera 33 No. 5G 23, Medellin 050021, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 110 Hotels in Medellin
Price Range: $47 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kolor Hotel Boutique 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KOLOR HOTEL BOUTIQUE offers to its customers a vintage atmosphere with colorful thematic rooms. Each room has its own identity offering a memorable experience. The quality of personalized service, tranquility and privacy are the reasons that motivate our guests to choose us and want to come back again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kolor Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing