We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Poblado Park
Ranked #28 of 265 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have had to extend my stay in Medellin 4 times and each time, despite the hostel being booked, Santiago the hostel owner has managed to accommodate me. The staff here have been very friendly and helpfully, there is a relaxed bar downstairs that has a very chilled out atmosphere. It is close to a major supermarket as well as the metro, making iteasy to get around the city. There are good restauranta and bars all within a block away. The rooms are very clean and modern, serviced every day. The bed are very comfortable and the rooms pretty quiet. All in all I've enjoyed my stay here, a big part of that, aside from the good rooms has been the very accommodating start and owner.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony_gto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 133 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Two friends and I stayed at this hostel in a 4 bed private room with our own bathroom. Very clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great. It has an excellent location, close to lots of restaurants and bars and a metro station. The only complaint I have is there were people talking late one evening in the kitchen near our room and this kept me awake but that's a common problem in hostels everywhere. Overall, I highly recommend this hostel if you are visiting Medellin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed four friends in the four bed dorm for two nights. The room is pretty big and has lockers in it. They also have a big well equipped kitchen and a nice common area. The hostel itself is located in a good area, close to many bars, clubs, restaurants and the metro station. The problem of the location is that you can hardly sleep! The streets are full with people till the middle of the night, and the fact that the hostel literally share a wall with a bar doesn't help too... The showers were rather dirty and it were hard to lock, and there is only one bathroom for the use of all the rooms upstairs. Out of several showers we had o.k water in two and less then that in the rest.
We thought we were suppose to get free breakfast, as it says on their trip advisor page, but it turned out that if you stay in the dorms you don't deserve it. They said it's written on their website, but it was hard to find..
In two days we met four different receptionists. It seems like they're not passing the information between themselves, and when we wanted to pay for our laundry for example the receptionist didn't know what to charge us..
The Wi-fi is o.k but dose not work in the rooms, and the computer is as slow as can be.
Bottom line there are fare better options around.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Noa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Only stayed for one night in one of the the garden view rooms (#6), but felt very comfortable. The room was large w TV and wifi and our private bathroom was ok. Very clean and friendly staff.
Best value for $40/night in Poblado neighborhood. Would rent again!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jurgs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I spent 5 nights here after booking 2 to start with.
The place is fine, staff is friendly.
Since I was travelling by myself it would be nice to meet other people. I had to ask if there were more solo travellers, they didn't pay very much attention to introduce me to someone.
If your travelling in a group of friends this is a nice place to stay.

+ close to metro and supermarket, to parque lleras and shoppingcenters
clean rooms and shower
breakfast available for a little extra (coffee, 2 rolls and 2 eggs)
quiet neighbourhood
bunkbeds with curtains for a little privacy
locker available

- not very attentive to needs of solo travellers, little tourist information
no book exchange
lacks social atmosphere

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantal043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had a really sweet stay here, the people are very friendly, its situated in the best zone of Medellin, its clean, pool table, great bar next door with live music every now and then, really friendly staff and overall a really good stay. There is a mix of mainly latin americans but also fellow travellers who stay in the hostal and somehow the mix just seems to work and it just adds to a really friendly tranquil environment,. Will definately stay again!

Room Tip: The two dorms are both good, i happened to stay in both, the 4 bed and the 10 bed and slept like a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JohnMG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had a great stay in Poblado - great area of the city. Lots of bars, restaurants etc.

We stayed in Room 9 the first night which had a problem - no direct access to a bathroom! Had to walk through a dorm room (anytime of the day/night) or go down the backstairs and into the reception area to get to a sink/toilet - the member of staff who showed us to our room didn't seem to think this was a problem. Also felt a bit vulnerable to intruders as accessed via open stairs from the back garden. Moved room the second night to an ensuite room which was more expensive but worth it.

Nice communal area and free internet on computer. One day we were cooked egg on toast by the friendly cleaner in the hostel. Another day, helpful staff recommended good breakfast spot at 'Bunuelo Supremo' round the corner.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lp1Lp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
Hostal Lleras Calle 8
#9 of 265 in Medellin
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saman Hostel Medellin
Saman Hostel Medellin
#1 of 265 in Medellin
422 reviews
1 mi away
Waypoint Hostel
Waypoint Hostel
#5 of 265 in Medellin
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ivy Hostel
Ivy Hostel
#14 of 265 in Medellin
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cocobamboo Hostel
Cocobamboo Hostel
#29 of 265 in Medellin
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hostel
Grand Hostel
#32 of 265 in Medellin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Poblado Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Poblado Park

Address: calle 8 No 43A - 89, Medellin 0034, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 265 Specialty Lodging in Medellin
Price Range: $11 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostal Poblado Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on street 8 No 43Aª89 in the heart of El Poblado in Medellin just one street from Parque de El Poblado. Here you are close to everything and at the same time you have the opportunity to relax in our lovely Hostal.Our Hostal is placed in a big house with a new interior design mixed with the original wooden floors and other saved details from the original design. On the first floor we have a 24-hour reception, living room with sofas, computer, books, free Wi-Fi Internet and table games. A TV room with cable and home theatre. In the backside of the hostal you will find a big garden with hammocks and an area for barbeque all in a beautiful and tropical environment.On the second floor we have seven big rooms, for share and private. The showers are outside of every room. We also have a fully equipped kitchen with the appliance you might need. Balconies in the front and the back of the house for enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Poblado Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing