We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but beautiful”
Review of Rio Claro Valley

Rio Claro Valley
Ranked #25 of 180 things to do in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic but beautiful”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Off the main roads you will find this beautiful piece of tranquility. The river flows fast, but is warm enough to swim in - with care; the birds and butterflies are beautiful, and we whiled away a very peaceful afternoon sitting on the rocks by the river. There are many adventurous activities available, but we chose to relax.

The accommodation was rather basic with no glass in the windows of the rooms and the beds a little hard, but with appropriate insect repellent we did not attract a single bite, and slept very well.

The food was very acceptable (contrary to what we had read!) and included in the very the reasonable price.

Overall to set the expectation this is not a luxurious venue, but one we were very glad we visited.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    64
    12
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really cool place”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We enjoyed the stay and had three nights here. We were situated a long way from the reception but so what as we were there to enjoy the river and open air. They should offer fresh fruit as an alternative but the service was mainly fine, the girl running the activities was a bit abrupt hence only four stars. however a very memorable place

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Worst experience in South America”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were travelling in Colombia on a birding trip with Ecoturs. Rio Clara was included in our trip, because there is a cave on the opposite bank with Oilbirds, which fly out at dusk. In fact, there is a site close by where you can see Oilbirds in a large cave during the day, so there is no need to stay at Rio Claro from a birding point of view. When you enter the lodge, you drive some way to the main building where the restaurant is situated. The lodge is situated right next to to a fast running river, which did all look very beautiful. We were allocated a room in one of the new buildings, which was a 15 minute walk from the main building along an uneven path. At no time did the lodge advertise this. We could have packed a light backpack if we had known, but had no idea until we got there. We were told that we would get help with bags, but this did not materialise. I think it completely unacceptable for rooms to be 15 minutes walk away, without there being any help with bags. When we reached the room, we found it to be basic. Our building was one of a few buildings and looked like it had not been finished. There was a large window across the whole of the wall overlooking the river, but with no glass in it. The bathroom also had a large window, again with no glass. The bedroom and bathroom did not have a ceiling across them, so were exposed to the elements around the top of the room. This meant that as soon as it was dark (it was dark when we got to our room) and you put the light on, the room and bathroom filled with large flying objects. We were there with our 11 year old daughter, who was crying during her shower because of the number of large insects flying and hitting her. Even with the light off, there were very large insects sitting directly above you in bed. This did not make comfortable sleeping and in the end my daughter and I slept half way down the bed with a blanket over our heads, to avoid falling insects. When we went to have our evening meal, we had a young waitress who was more interested in chatting to the other young travellers than serving us. Due to this terrible service, our meal took a very long time to come and for us to leave. The food itself was ok. On the day we were leaving, we waited 30 minutes for help with our bags and eventually a couple of boys carried them back for us, but under duress. I am giving this place a 1* and would give them a -5* if I could. I think that the night we spent there was one of the most uncomfortable in my life. The rooms need to be completed with windows and ceilings with proper staff available to carry bags. They also need to sack their your transient staff and get in people who are actually interested in serving people.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Helena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Un must del ecoturismo colombiano”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

If you wanna explore Colombian ecotouristic places where rivers are amazing you must come to Rio Claro. You'll find yourself in the middle of tropical forest, calm and the relaxing sound of the river. You can find different activities to enjoy from the most calmed (hiking tours) up to spelunking, rafting and canopy. The cabanas have an spectacular view, and the service is gentle. Very good relation for price-quality.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a stunning natural reservation and a must see if you are in town and of course if you are looking to spend some time in the middle of nature and out of the city and its normal rhythm. The facilities are simple but very well kept, the river is absolutely beautiful but gotta be careful since its really strong. This is Colombia so everything is under your risk.. there are no life guards or anything, if you drown you drown..so don't be stupid! We went to the cave and it is absolutely amazing!! just make sure you are in shape to hike through the forest for 1 hr, cross the river fully dressed (shoes and pants strongly recommended) and then walk though the cave for 40 min.. the cave has a stream of water that goes back to the river.. you gotta swim and jump into wells.. slide through the rocks etc... they don't speak English and don't do a good job describing the adventure with all it takes.. so make sure you are in shape and are willing to go for it, once you cross the river there's no going back!
If you prefer to be with small groups definitely avoid weekends!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Maharani-ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Claro Valley also viewed

Medellin, Antioquia Department
Medellin, Antioquia Department
 

Been to Rio Claro Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing