We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Poblado Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Poblado Plaza is located in a "safe" area, with Hard Rock Cafe, Mc Donalds etc close bye. The hotel is clean, delicate, but not "stunning" in any way. Just a very decent, effective and comfortable hotel, and with great value. The outside bar and restaurant area is a small green haven, and it was absolutely WONDERFUL to wind down out there with a ice cold beer (yes, frosted glass) and some very nice food. Rooms were spaceous and comfortable, nice beds ensured a good nights sleep. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NilsFromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    202
    60
    6
    8
See reviews for
103
150
50
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Hotel Poblado Plaza is a mid size hotel in a very good location, right next to 2 malls, cinemas, restaurants etc. There is also a Mc. Donalds directly next door. I stayed at their other hotel (Poblado Alejandria) before but I found that one a bit too far away, reason why I decided to try the Poblado Plaza. Strong points: location, very friendly service, especially front desk, nice breakfast area, rooms are not small and they are kind of cozy with a seperate seating area etc. On the downside I would mention that the internet service was not consistently good. Also, although the breakfast buffet is extensive (and included in the price), there was not much variation. For the 4 days we stayed there it was okay, but I imagine if one stays longer it could get a bit stale. Other downsides I found the lack of ice machines (one has to ask for ice at the bar) and the lack of say a coffee maker or even water heater for a cup of tea at night. Although the room itself was quite clean, the bathroom could have been cleaner (there were some stray hairs here and there). I found they were like stingy with towels (just 2) and they did not put new soap everyday but seemed to assume you would use the old soap (this I do anyways as I hate to waste, but I found it a bit strange they just assumed and did not put new soap). But all in all it's a very decent hotel in a very good location and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonairetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is not the newest nor the fanciest of hotels, but extremely efficient for business needs.
I stayed here a few nights and I was very pleased with the service and what was at hand.

There is excellent internet service in rooms and lobby. Also a small "business center" on every floor.

Super location in the city.

If you are looking for clean and extremely adequate place to stay, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

This is where I will choose to stay in Medellin for business trips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
574 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hotel Poblado Plaza is well located in El Poblado, and is a few minute stroll to three different shopping centres. The area is upmarket and this is reflected in the shops and restaurants.

Our room, 313, was a very spacious room with twin beds, night table, large chest of drawers,flat screen tv, writing table and desk, and then a sitting area with a sofa and armchairs. There is a window that opens and block out curtains. The closet also contains the safe.

The bathroom has a bath/shower and toilet. Just outside is long bench with the sink, full range of amenities, hairdryer and the minibar.

The complimentary wifi worked well and there was a computer for guest use on each floor.

The furnishings are slightly tired, but then the rate we paid was low, so this was not unexpected. Our room faced the McDonald's drive through and this was busy for much of the night, so a room facing another direction would probably be quieter.

We ate dinner on the terrace at the Cafe and enjoyed our meal which was reasonably priced. The included breakfast was also served in the Cafe and a wide selection is offered: juice, yoghurt, cereals, cut fruit, eggs and other hot dishes, a selection of breads, and tea/coffee. One morning it was served on the terrace and the second, a rainy day, it was in the restaurant. The terrace was particularly pleasant as there is a small garden and a surprising amount and variety of birds.

Recommend this hotel for location and value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

the Hotel is nicely located close to shopping centres and restaurants as well as Hard Rock Cafe in a rather safe and nice area of medellin.

breakfast is simply great. rooms are spacious. personnel is very friendly and helpful.

Although directly at a main street, it is relatively quiet. fitness room available, swimming pool is missing.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank torsteningo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was here to present at a local university and wish that I had more time to explore Medellin. What a great city. On the up side for the city, there is always something to do. I took the metro to the cable car (still a part of the metro) and took the cable car up the mountain to the local nature park, but I digress. The hotel was clean comfortable and the staff was great. (good job by the door men and the wait staff in the restaurant. Wine choices and recommendations were good and the prices reasonable. I hope that I get to stay here again.

Room Tip: I vote for higher as better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjnicols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night as the price was 50% off at booking.com. The hotel is fine, but feels a little dated. The wifi didn't work very well in the bedroom. There were lots of business conferences taking place during my stay, so it didn't feel much like a holiday hotel. Everything was ok, but nothing special

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomCHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.0 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#2 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.2 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#14 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
1.7 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#5 of 103 in Medellin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
4.1 mi away
61Prado Guesthouse
61Prado Guesthouse
#4 of 103 in Medellin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poblado Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poblado Plaza

Property: Hotel Poblado Plaza
Address: Carrera 43A 4 Sur-75 Av. El Poblado, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
#3 Green Hotel in Medellin
#5 Business Hotel in Medellin
#6 Family Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poblado Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location in the most exclusive area of the city, the Milla de Oro District of El Poblado, close to everything you want. OUR ROOMS Standing out by its spaciousness, comfort and tranquility that guarantee a real retreat. According to your preferences and needs, we offer different types: Superior, Executive and Junior Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Poblado Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar Poblado Plaza Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing