We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, great value, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hotel Poblado Plaza is well located in El Poblado, and is a few minute stroll to three different shopping centres. The area is upmarket and this is reflected in the shops and restaurants.

Our room, 313, was a very spacious room with twin beds, night table, large chest of drawers,flat screen tv, writing table and desk, and then a sitting area with a sofa and armchairs. There is a window that opens and block out curtains. The closet also contains the safe.

The bathroom has a bath/shower and toilet. Just outside is long bench with the sink, full range of amenities, hairdryer and the minibar.

The complimentary wifi worked well and there was a computer for guest use on each floor.

The furnishings are slightly tired, but then the rate we paid was low, so this was not unexpected. Our room faced the McDonald's drive through and this was busy for much of the night, so a room facing another direction would probably be quieter.

We ate dinner on the terrace at the Cafe and enjoyed our meal which was reasonably priced. The included breakfast was also served in the Cafe and a wide selection is offered: juice, yoghurt, cereals, cut fruit, eggs and other hot dishes, a selection of breads, and tea/coffee. One morning it was served on the terrace and the second, a rainy day, it was in the restaurant. The terrace was particularly pleasant as there is a small garden and a surprising amount and variety of birds.

Recommend this hotel for location and value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 797 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

the Hotel is nicely located close to shopping centres and restaurants as well as Hard Rock Cafe in a rather safe and nice area of medellin.

breakfast is simply great. rooms are spacious. personnel is very friendly and helpful.

Although directly at a main street, it is relatively quiet. fitness room available, swimming pool is missing.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank torsteningo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I was here to present at a local university and wish that I had more time to explore Medellin. What a great city. On the up side for the city, there is always something to do. I took the metro to the cable car (still a part of the metro) and took the cable car up the mountain to the local nature park, but I digress. The hotel was clean comfortable and the staff was great. (good job by the door men and the wait staff in the restaurant. Wine choices and recommendations were good and the prices reasonable. I hope that I get to stay here again.

Room Tip: I vote for higher as better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjnicols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night as the price was 50% off at booking.com. The hotel is fine, but feels a little dated. The wifi didn't work very well in the bedroom. There were lots of business conferences taking place during my stay, so it didn't feel much like a holiday hotel. Everything was ok, but nothing special

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomCHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Went there for business. The staff is incredibly friendly. They are so polite and educated. The breakfast is fine and it is included in the rate. Is is extremely well located, close to restaurants, malls, etc...The hotel is not modern, it does need remodeling, but for the price, it was just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andre r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel has a good location, small but enough to conduct bussiness. Good internet, good breakfast, both included. People are really nice, good service, acceptable price. No good bar, but you can get your drinks fine on the cafeteria.
But the Gym, really sad, a couople of bikes (old), and no towels, etc. Need to up date soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

for the price that we paid, it does not get better, check-in was smooth and easy, front desk staff spoke English, We rented 3 rooms and they were able to accommodate us on the same floor,
rooms are big enough (remember is a city hotel) it boasted a nice large size, hard wood floors, nice size bathroom, with a deep tub. TV a little old school but is alright your in Medellin lots to do and see other then watch TV, Bed was very comfortable, AC works well, no heather but no need for one anyway, the only thing that I did not like was the lack of a ironing board and Iron. but they do offer to Iron your clothes for a $2.50 avg, and is totally worth it.

Service- Top notch, as soon as we arrived bellman offered us a complementary drink we had 4 glasses of wine, which were pretty good. front desk people super helpful with all my questions they even helped me set up a cell phone while I was there.

Location- Doesn't get better then that! hard rock casino cafe, right across the street, casino next to the hotel, 24 grocery store one block away, very safe, secure and modern area you would think your in a plush are in a big city in the USA, TONS of bars, clubs, restaurants within walking distance.

My Only complain would be the noise but its in the middle of a city, so can't get away from that. after spending 4 nights there I moved into an vacation rental on the 25 floor of a building and i can still hear noise. So not their fault.

They have a great Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna rooms on the terrace, you have to let them you that you want to use it, it takes about 10 mins for them to set it up, but its totally worth it,

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luiscrestrepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
Hotel Poblado Alejandria
#1 of 111 in Medellin
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.7 mi away
Hotel Du Parc Royal
Hotel Du Parc Royal
#4 of 111 in Medellin
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sites 45 Hotel
Sites 45 Hotel
#10 of 111 in Medellin
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Medellin
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Medellin
InterContinental Medellin
#13 of 111 in Medellin
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poblado Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poblado Plaza

Address: Carrera 43A 4 Sur-75 Av. El Poblado, Medellin, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Medellin
#4 Family Hotel in Medellin
#4 Green Hotel in Medellin
#5 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range: $62 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poblado Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location in the most exclusive area of the city, the Milla de Oro District of El Poblado, close to everything you want. OUR ROOMS Standing out by its spaciousness, comfort and tranquility that guarantee a real retreat. According to your preferences and needs, we offer different types: Superior, Executive and Junior Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Poblado Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estelar Poblado Plaza Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing