We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Business... urges a remodelation!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Medellin
Ranked #13 of 105 Hotels in Medellin
Certificate of Excellence
Barranquilla
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for Business... urges a remodelation!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is the most traditional hotel Medellin has, where most of the businessmen stay. The place has a good restaurant, and decent room service. You will always count on a cab outside the Hotel, and its on a good spot to run to the airport.

Except for less than ten rooms that have been refurnished, all the hotel has a creepy 80´s look: its long hallways will surely remind you of The Shining (movie).

Room Tip: Try to get a refurnished room in the 6th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Training Coordinator at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Fabian G

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.


Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Training Coordinator
InterContinental Medellin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    217
    117
    41
    32
See reviews for
61
88
38
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

A little bit more on the outdated side, it's a classic hotel but it desperately needs a facelift, specially with those rates.

So if you are looking for modern, contemporary, this is not the place.
If you like a 5 star hotel from the early nineties, this is a good choice!

Also if you travel w kids, there is not a bigger pool than this one. It has that charm from old hotels.

Service is impeccable.



  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGVIANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Training Coordinator at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear JGVIANA

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Training Coordinator
InterContinental Medellin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

It was definitely not the type of InterContinental I stayed at in Asia, but the service made up for the other issues. The hotel looks pretty sad from the outside and it is on the way into/out of the city on a hill. That gives some nice views of the city, but also means it is remote from all the nice places in the city. The rooms are dated, but comfortable. I enjoyed the free fruit most. The first night I stayed the room was close to the road and I heard traffic all night. The second night was better as I was in a different wing. The breakfast was not my favorite (no salmon?:), but free and decent. But I'd say the front desk service was the best...and I'd give the whole place 4 stars. (The restaurant across from the hotel - Hatoviejo - is a highlight!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Training Coordinator at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Ruchei

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Lucas Munoz
Training Coordinator
InterContinental Medellin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Thank you to all the staff because every time I stay in Medellin I get the royal treatment from everyone. Special thanks to Mr Diego Gomez who makes sure that I am not another guest but a part of the family here at the intercontinental. The room service is delicious and very courteous, and even though I've stayed at 5 other 5 star hotels in Medellin I would never change my intercontinental experience here in Medellin.
Eduardo from Tampa

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Case Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Eaduardo P

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,
LucasMunoz
Case Manager
InterContinental Medellin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I've always recommended this hotel but my current visit is very worrying. One, it's empty, two the la cava restuarant is closed, three the tumble weeds blow through the bar in the evening. And then there's the Club.
The Club used to be one of the hidden secrets of this city. Somewhere to go for a pleasant breakfast and a drink in the evening. With a lovely deck and views across the city it was worth the extra for a Club floor room or as a ICH club perk.
It was changed a while back and some of the charm removed. Now it is closed for any excuse and the drinks left in the evening a sad apology. The open bottle of white wine would have been better for making a salad dressing. Very poor. Laid out food was replaced with a small menu of items to order but it looks like cost cutting and a lack of frequent guests. The latter is very worrying.
The Club floor is the only floor not requiring key card access in the elevator and that was because the Club attendant would sit in the floor lobby welcoming and monitoring access. Now they've been relegated to an office down a corridor. No welcome and the least secure floor in the hotel.
The staff continue to be excellent and many familiar faces remain. However after dining in the Fogon restuarant one evening we got a call asking how much cash tip had been left. It appears a member of staff had not placed my tip in the jar. So not a happy place and perhaps a call or inquiry that could have awaited the morning.
I have a booking here over Christmas but I think I will need to move it. Something is amiss here and the recent ratings suggest common experiences.
I am truly sad about this stay. Some of the staff here I'd consider friends who have welcomed me many times. Parts of the hotel are tired - the recent room upgrades only papering over the wider issues. With the distant location increasingly an issue with medellins ever growing traffic jams hotel management (or the owners) need to move with some rapidity.

Room Tip: Long walks down the fingers of the building get you suites with a corner view but the worst wifi. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileasFoggontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Case Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Hanna D

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you InterContinental Medellin is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in the (Fill in the blank) Hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details.

I would very much appreciate you send us your email address with the details of your concerns so we can plan to avoid future dissatisfaction in the future and to meet your expectations next time you visit us. Again, I would like to apologize and thank you for taking the time to write to us as we believe we can only improve and improve our services through our guest feedback.

We are looking forward to receiving further details in regards to your recent and stay as well as welcoming you back at the InterContinental Medellin

Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Case Manager
InterContental Medellin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very high prices for small,dirty old fashioned bedrooms with old furniture!
The pink carpet is dirty, I change bedrooms and the second one was in very poor condition as the first one,the first on 4th floor the second on the 6th floor.
The telephones in the bedrooms doesn't work and cleaning staff will knick at your door early (7am) to ask if you are leaving soon.
The staff is very nice,the restaurant overpriced but clean and good food.
They said are in the process to renovate but I stayed for a week and didn't see any work.
The "business center" in the 7th floor is a whole mess, smells horrible.
I do not recommend it! Go to a different place.

Room Tip: There is no good room,this hotel is super old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Case Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.

I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay.

We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be thehotel in town. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Case Manger
InterContinental Medelin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is supposed to be a 5 star one, but to tell you the truth it is nothing even close, the rooms are old, service deserves 3 stars and you find nothing in the breakfast buffet, most of them are bread! Price is pretty expensive and the transportation is not convenient at all, don't recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas61416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas M, Case Manager at InterContinental Medellin, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear thomaswong416


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I want to assure you the Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product.

We’re sorry you received service or quality which was unacceptable. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,
Lucas Munoz
Case Manager
InterContinental Medellin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medellin hotels
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Royal Medellin
0.9 mi away
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
Dann Carlton Medellin Hotel
#12 of 105 in Medellin
357 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Poblado Plaza
Hotel Poblado Plaza
#2 of 105 in Medellin
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Fernando Plaza Medellin
0.6 mi away
Diez Hotel Categoria Colombia
1.4 mi away
Ibis Medellin
Ibis Medellin
#7 of 105 in Medellin
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Medellin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Medellin

Property: InterContinental Medellin
Address: Calle 16 No. 28 - 51 | Variante Las Palmas, Medellin C007-06, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Antioquia Department > Medellin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Medellin
#6 Spa Hotel in Medellin
#13 Family Hotel in Medellin
#18 Business Hotel in Medellin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Medellin 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Medellin is a resort-like setting just minutes from the bustle of downtown. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, you won t want to miss the Museum of Antioquia, The Medellin Interactive Museum and the Medellin Botanical Garden. El Parque de los Deseos and El Tesoro Shopping Mall both offer a range of entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Medellin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Medellin Hotel Medellin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing